We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch breakfasts & friendly hosts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Andrews Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Andrews Guest House
Ranked #33 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top notch breakfasts & friendly hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stayed here for two nights with my husband in September 2012. Got a little lost in the one way system but when we found the guest house it was just as pretty as the photos on the website. We were given a warm welcome and quick tour by our host Sheena and soon made ourselves at home. The B&B is less than 5 mins from the town centre and walking distance from the bus station and Morrisons supermarket. The rooms are in need of some updating and the TV reception was not good but the room was comfy and had an en-suite shower/toilet. The communal areas did have a doggy smell which I found a bit offputting but the bedrooms and breakfast room smelt fine. The breakfast choices were vast: cereals, fruit, yoghurt, full cooked breakfast (cooked to order). Sheena's husband Tom was on hand with fresh toast and coffee/tea. He was also a useful source of information on local attractions and made us feel very much at home. If I ever return to Scotland I will definitely stay here again and I would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house have a good view out to the Loch - the back rooms are overlooked by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    38
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
63
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Great location close to town centre. This made it an ideal place to start The Great Glen Way.
Beautiful old building with lovely interior (former school), run by really nice couple.
Great breakfast. Just the sort of start needed for the long journey ahead.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Although the hosts were welcoming, our room (specifically bathroom) was terrible. We traveled here with a group of friends so we were able to see several of the rooms. Our shower had so much black mold in it, I literally had to walk through the house to use our friends' bathroom (which was nice and appeared newly renovated). Perhaps they're renovating room by room, but the conditions in our bathroom were just unacceptable. We did let them know upon checkout that we were unhappy, but they really didn't seem to care.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Fantastic building full of character. Hosts are very welcoming and friendly. Bed was comfy, room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was perfect with a large variety on offer. location is excellent, and provides a nice view over the loch at breakfast. great value for money. Loses a star due to some mould in the bathroom, if this was sorted, and the big old roof beams were sanded down, this place would be perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jammiecowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Situated no more than 5 mins walk from the railway station and bus/coach stands,this delightful house offers excellent service in beautiful surroundings. The property is an old church rectory so is full of charm and character and has been restored/renovated to a very high standard whilst still retaining bags of its original features. The house overlooks the harbour at the entrance to the lock with mountains as a backdrop and is a wonderful view to be greeted by each morning.The proprieters are charming,friendly and welcoming and full of information about attractions both locally and throughout Scotland.The bedrooms are clean,well decorated and the breakfasts are excellent.There is a lovely guests lounge available and the house is surrounded by magnificent gardens.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAULNO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Phoned up and booked when we arrived in Fort William, Sheena was very friendly and welcoming. Showed us to a quiet room (no.1) at the back which was fine. Standard size double bed was cosy. Bathroom a bit on cold side as no heating but bedroom was warm enough. Very quiet location and lovely building. Breakfast was excellent.
If i had to fault anything then:
1. TV needs aerial sorting out as an indoor aerial dangling out of the window just doesn't work!
2. Shower head clamp needs replacing, not just bodging with a bit of string!

These are very minor faults which would not put me off staying again as we enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

It was getting late and we hadn't booked, so I prepared for rejection as I negotiated the steep driveway of St Andrew's Guest House; happily, our hosts had rooms available for the four of us (two adults and two kids) and we made the most of them, as well as the en-suite and the shared bathroom. The house itself is magnificent, and being set quite high on a hill behind the town (a very short walk from the Centre) has superb views across the loch. Our rooms were spacious, quiet, well-heated and very clean, with very comfortable beds; breakfast (haggis, black pudding, eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, beans, cereals, fruit juices, coffee, tea ...) was voluminous and extremely delicious. Our hosts were as friendly and helpful as you could wish for. At 100 pounds for two rooms and breakfast, this B&B was great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Campbell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.1 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#16 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#9 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
6 Caberfeidh
6 Caberfeidh
#53 of 120 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brevins Guest House
The Brevins Guest House
#19 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.4 mi away
MacLean Guest House
MacLean Guest House
#14 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Andrews Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Andrews Guest House

Property: St. Andrews Guest House
Address: Fassifern Road, Fort William PH33 6BD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
St. Andrews Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing