We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Andrews Guest House
Ranked #36 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great location with a view of the water, a stone's throw from the High Street, yet plenty of parking. The hosts are very welcoming and helpful. Generous breakfast with excellent black pudding. Bedrooms are very spacious with comfortable, new beds. Delightful environment and garden.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatPandBobY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

An incredible house. Once a choir school, it is very visually appealing. Our room was a bit spartan, but perfectly adequate. Any shortcoming in the room was more than compensated for by our hosts, Tom and Sheena. Friendly, helpful, wonderful folk. Gave us a great feeling about the Scottish people.
Very conveniently located. Parked our car in their off-street lot and never looked at it again for the duration of our stay. Walked to good food and drink, and to the train station for the gorgeous trip to Mallaig.
I'd recommend this place to anyone, and know that they will love it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandisleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed one night before starting our walk on The Great Glen Way. Great looking building from the outside and lots of character inside. We were met and shown to our room by the friendly and welcoming lady host. Our room was at the rear of the building with no view.(when booking ask for a room at the front great views). The room was quite basic but comfortable the shower however needed a complete refurb. My wife refused to use it !! Our friends said the shower head in their room was tied up with cord/string !! We had a good nights sleep and had an excellent breakfast, plenty of it and nicely cooked. A good location near the town centre and railway station. The rooms/showers just need a bit of updating.

Room Tip: As for a room at the front of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shearsjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

St. Andrews House is a beautiful old church school house, we were greeted by Sheena, who was lovely and welcoming, the house was cosy. However, our twin bedded room was very basic, and what I thought was going ro be an en-suite bathroom was in fact separate to the bedroom, accessd by going out into the hallway. Sheena told us this was for our use only, and there was a washbasin in the bedroom, but we found this to be uncomfortable to use in the middle of the night, or when going for a shower, as we felt we had to put our heads out of the door, dressing gown on, make sure no-one was around, and dash to the bathroom. Also, the bathroom was very cold in the morning.
The room was very clean, towels and linen spotless.
The breakfast was excellent, and the Dining Room and Lounge were lovely.
Very good position, a short walk into the town for restaurants, pubs and shops.
I am aware we booked the last available room only 4 days before our stay, but if I had been aware the bathroom was not ensuite, I would not have booked here.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a douvle room, not a twin, to get ensuite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Have just had our second stay here and everything was just as perfect as last year.Were given a different room this time but clean,spacious and well maintained as always.Breakfast was a treat with plenty of options and beautifully cooked and presented.We had to leave a little earlier than normal on two mornings to catch trains/ferries etc but our hosts were more than happy to give us an earlier breakfast than normal and nothing was too much trouble for them.All in all a lovely place to stay,the building has loads of history and character and couldn't be better located for the town centre,the train station or bus stances.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAULNO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

6 bedrooms, a lovely old building, excellent hosting by Sheena and her husband, faultless great breakfast, best nights sleep for ages, 5 mins from the station, 2 mins from the main street pubs and restaurants, and all at a reasonabIe price, I could not have wished for more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maetloafkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

St. Andrew's Guest House was a blessing after a long road trip up from the very south of Scotland. Sheena was waiting to greet us and showed us our very comfortable room and adjoining bathroom. Sheets and towels were all crisp and clean, as were all the facilities. We had great TV reception and the room and bathroom were both wonderfully heated.

The breakfast was wonderful - generous, to say the least. Tom was a great host and gave us pointers about the area. We were two minutes from Fort William's main street and parking was provided on site.

I absolutely recommend a stay at St. Andrew's.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.8 mi away
Mansefield Guest House
Mansefield Guest House
#29 of 111 in Fort William
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
MacLean Guest House
MacLean Guest House
#14 of 111 in Fort William
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
6 Caberfeidh
6 Caberfeidh
#48 of 111 in Fort William
108 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travee B&B
Travee B&B
#1 of 2 in Corpach
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Andrews Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Andrews Guest House

Address: Fassifern Road, Fort William PH33 6BD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
St. Andrews Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing