We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of West Lodge

West Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
West Lodge
Patio and Loch View Lounge and wood fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
West Lodge
Patio and Loch View
Lounge and wood fire
Lounge and wood fire.
Upstairs Bedroom
Upstairs bath
Patio
Kitchen
Dining area and sliding doors to patio
Downstairs bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carol B
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at West Lodge for 5 days in July. The cottage far exceed all expectations, it is an extremely high standard of accommodation and has been fitted and decorated to fit its surroundings. The bathrooms are stunning with stand alone baths in each, which after climbing Ben Nevis was just what we needed. There was everything you could need in the kitchen, all utensils and cutlery/crockery pans etc. The open fire made every evening a cosy event. I would definitely return to West Lodge, glorious locations and great accommodation. Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bathrooms
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnnyblu...
Co Meath
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Modern comforts with old world charm.”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently spent a week in the beautiful West Lodge and it was just perfect.
The cottage is about a mile outside of Fort William but easily walkable along the footpath that runs all the way.
I was there with my husband, but there are actually 2 bedrooms, so the house is a nice size for either a party of 2 or 4.
All the rooms inside have been very tastefully decorated. The living room has wood panelled walls and an open fire (there is an ample supply of fire wood available if you would like to light it).
The kitchen has all mod cons,. We brought our own cafetière but we needn't have bothered because even that was supplied.
The bedrooms and bathrooms (one ensuite) are stunning and very comfortable. Shutters on the bedroom window too, ensured a lovely dark room for sleeping in.
We were very comfortable here and Joan and John (although we did not actually meet them) made us feel very welcome and were only a phone call away should we need anything. Upon arrival, they had left us a lovely welcome pack of local produce (chocolate cake, smoked venison, crowdie cheese, oatcakes and a lovely bottle of red to wash it down!) which was just lovely.
I would love to return some day. It is a beautiful cottage. Warm and cozy, modern yet with old world charm.
Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The mod cons with the old world charm.
Liked least: I genuinely have nothing to say here. N/A
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
341mandyg...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage in stunning location”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This really is a premium property. The facilities in the house could not have been better. From the lovely toiletries to the dressing gowns and well equipped kitchen. Everything was great.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonah1965
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 6 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here in January,it's in a perfect location on Loch Linhe just outside Fort William.The cottage is immaculate ,large bathroom with under floor heating and large modern kitchen with everything you need even a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival ,which was a nice touch and much appreciated after a 6 hour drive.The log fire in the lounge is great with loads of logs in stock,we had a roaring fire every night .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kellie50
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The standard by which others should be measured”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This 2 bedroom 2 bath cottage set the bar for our trip. Joan and John have great attention to detail. And the cottage has everything you need from fire starter to candles and even welcome local treats and a card. The living room warm and cozy and they bathrooms luxurious with a lovely modern soaker tub complete w bubble bath. Heated floors in the kitchen and bathroom a great treat. Olive oil balsamic vinegar salt and pepper and ice were appreciated as well. A visit to her b&b on grange and the new cottage and I don't know which one I liked best.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annieh444
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Cottage EVER”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had our first visit to Scotland in July/August. This cottage was beyond our expectations. The quality of furnishing was superb, right down to the crockery etc and attention to detail was amazing . We visited when the weather was not good but we wrapped up and it was a delight to return to underfloor heating and all the other comforts. The views from the property are fantastic and it is a lovely walk from the cottage to Fort William along the shore of the Loch (about a mile or so).
We visited Neptune's staircase, Ben Nevis range including gondola ride, Steall Falls, all of which I would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q5451UCan...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury and comfort in stunning setting”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

West Lodge is a traditional cottage which has been restored & refurbished to a very high standard. It is beautifully decorated and presented with a designer's eye for detail. Everything, from soft furnishings to toiletries, is of the best quality. Returning after a day out was delightful, knowing the comforts of the cottage were awaiting us.
We found the owners to be extremely helpful and attentive as well as being genuinely concerned to provide the very best service possible. Even the welcome pack provided for guests is impressive.
This is a superb cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Combination of luxury and comfort
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing