We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of West Lodge

West Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
West Lodge
Patio and Loch View Lounge and wood fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
West Lodge
Patio and Loch View
Lounge and wood fire
Lounge and wood fire.
Upstairs Bedroom
Upstairs bath
Patio
Kitchen
Dining area and sliding doors to patio
Downstairs bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rachelske...
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Visited West Lodge with my husband for his 50th birthday. I was so pleased with the cottage. Immaculate, warm, luxurious and homely.
Everything we needed was there. Lovely welcome package on our arrival.
Will definitely book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bc2609
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolute Luxury, Idyllic Surroundings, Heaven in Highlands!”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We booked West Lodge for a week away for some much-needed R&R and were blown away from the very moment we arrived.

The lodge is absolutely picture perfect from outside, set right on the Lochside set back from the main road in private grounds (the picture of the view on the website is exactly what you see from every front window in the lodge) and inside was no disappointment either.

The local produce gifts inside were also a nice considered touch.

The lodge is the perfect combination of modern luxury, with a perfect traditional feel.

The open fire was perfect for cosy nights in with a glass of wine set by the crackle of the roaring fire, yet the modern touches of underfloor heating and huge, ornate modern bathrooms provided the perfect balance between tradition and modern luxury.

Every detail in the lodge has had clear painstaking detail afforded to it.

The outside space is great also beyond the spectacular views. There is an outside seating area with a perfect view of the loch where we eat breakfast outside for the perfect start to our days exploring and the cobbled beach is accessible directly across the road. The centre of town is a comfortable 20 minute walk along the water's edge to the centre of town.

The lodge is also perfectly located for exploring the Highlands, Glenfinnan is 20 minutes away in the car, with Morar and its silver sand beaches and Mallaig no more than an hour away; a perfect trip by rail.

We loved the Lodge, couldn’t fault it anywhere, it’s a credit to its owners and we are already preparing to book to go back again later this year.

Highly Recommended, 10/10!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A stunning cottage, beautifully presented in a contemporary but extremely comfortable style. Amazing location overlooking the loch set back from the road. Two immaculate bedroom suites with fabulous bathrooms, a cozy lounge with log fire and a modern kitchen diner. The welcome pack of delicious local produce set the tone and the whole cottage and its immediate surroundings exuded charm. Perfect. Thank you, we loved our time at West Lodge and will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sue M
Ickenham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highland Luxury”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We visited with two friends who had never been to Scotland before; I booked West lodge and, having stayed at Joan's other property The Old Byre which was equally stunning, had no reservations about West Lodge. I was right to be so confident, we were all absolutely bowled over by the quality and attention to detail everywhere in the property; Joan has thought of everything, down to bathrobes and luxury toiletries. The cottage was warm and luxurious in the most beautiful and stunning setting; we had a fabulous week with loads to do in the area and were very unhappy to be going home - I could not rate this property highly enough - it could not have been better. Definitely two weeks next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at West Lodge for 5 days in July. The cottage far exceed all expectations, it is an extremely high standard of accommodation and has been fitted and decorated to fit its surroundings. The bathrooms are stunning with stand alone baths in each, which after climbing Ben Nevis was just what we needed. There was everything you could need in the kitchen, all utensils and cutlery/crockery pans etc. The open fire made every evening a cosy event. I would definitely return to West Lodge, glorious locations and great accommodation. Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bathrooms
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing