We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst i have ever been - not a good ambasssador for scotland”
Review of Corran Bunkhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Corran Bunkhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worst i have ever been - not a good ambasssador for scotland”
Reviewed 23 May 2008

Travelling on the main road to Fort William our eye was caught by the sign "Good Food Pub" who am i to argue with such a bold statement. Pulling in, parking in the car park we made our way to the bar which is well hidden at the back of the building. My father went to the toilet and was discusted with the state of toilets - possibly not cleaned for 2 - 3 weeks - hygene apauling. We went in (but should have known better) and saw an empty bar with a cage wrapped round it. Seriously out dated and budget. Trying to remain positive whilst in the area i thought i would try the Haggis. But it was only given on the menu as a starter for £4.95. I asked would they be prepared to turn it to a main. No problem the incompentant barman said and said that he would charge twice the price of the starter! I thought that for £10 or £9.90 would get me the best, possibly the biggest portion of the local dish since the ingrediants arnt the most expensive. We waited for the best part of 30 minutes to recieve the biggest dissapointment of our scottish trip a pathetic haggis dish literally the size of a compact disk. Thinking that perhaps when he said he would charge for two starters we would recieve two. i ate the first and waited paitently for my other portion, the first barely touching the sides. But no - the plates were cleared and the bar man laughed at me. Extremely dissapointed i asked to speak with the chef who turned out to be the owner as well. "If you have got a problem i suggest you leave" I explained that all i wanted was a meal that reflected the price. He said it was cooked well and tastey! Not really! Its not the most complex of meals. We were then asked to leave, no discount or extra portion - the owner was prepared to shout at us in front of other visitors who also complained at the food.
If you a foolish enough to still visit this disgusting place - i would recommend not using the toilets, eating the food or drinking the beer. In fact just sit outside and enjoy the lovely scenery that this pub has disgracefully ruined.
If this is the public facing image that the pub are showing then imagine what the bunk houses and rooms are like - i dread to think.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Applewhite189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    44
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
27
55
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2008

i'd like to start this review by saying i can't really comment on the lodge as not stayed there but stopped for food on passing in the inn and have never been more discussed in my life it was a place where you had to wipe your feet on the way out! We ordered food because we thought it couldn't be that bad but in our dissapointment the size of portion were absolutly awfull. just before leaving i popped to the loo, it was filthy i wished i'd never entered the place! hope this helps you all p.s have a word with the chef we asked about size of portions, we may as well have banged our head on a brick wall he was that helpful

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — getting there
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bigflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halina H, Owner at Corran Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 13 November 2016
This review is for the CORRAN INN and not the Corran Bunkhouse and has been mis-posted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2008

Our overall experience of the place was one of the worst customer service focussed establishments I have ever been to. The chef in the Inn deserves an honourable mention for serving up portion sizes more akin to Scrooge McDuck. Toilet facilities were similar to Glastonbury and I swear I saw a rat as I was leaving the premises.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spideypowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halina H, Owner at Corran Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 13 November 2016
This review is for the CORRAN INN and not the Corran Bunkhouse and has been mis-posted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2007

My Husband Daughter and myself stayed here for one night only on our U.K trip on our way up to Edinburgh. We found this little gem by searching the internet. A small new hostel spotlessly clean, we stayed in a room with a private shower and toilet. The room had a double bunk bed a single bunk top and a single bed. Also a small fridge and T.V. Our bathroom was so big lovelly shower with lots of hot water plenty of clean towels, clean white duvets and radiators that were switched on at night so really warm big enough to dry out bits of washing. They also have a big kitchen for making your own meals and a big drying room. There was a upstairs in dormatory style also. We never used the kitchen there is a great Pub next door that serves breakfast from 7.00 onwards every day, and a good dinner at night. The bar was good, friendly people with a young Aussie in the bar that missed home. The only thing wrong, the beds were wire woven and a bit hard, but do not let that put you off this is a real Gem and the owners very friendly with a lovelly staffy dog that gave us a great welcome, it felt like home.

  • Liked — Great price only 14 pounds per person
  • Disliked — not really anything
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pekoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
3.0 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
133 reviews
1.5 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
632 reviews
8.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
559 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
866 reviews
5.6 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corran Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corran Bunkhouse

Property: Corran Bunkhouse
Address: Onich, Fort William PH33 6SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the shores of Loch Linnhe, beside the Corran ferry, the Corran Bunkhouse is perfectly placed between Glen Coe and Fort William for long walks, mountain climbs, cycling, kayaking, fishing and skiing. We are on the doorstep of Glen Coe, the Mamores, the Nevis Range and the vast wilderness of Ardnamurchan. We have twelve private, en-suite rooms, which are either twin, double, triple, quadruple or quintuple. We have two superior shared kitchen/ dining rooms, a steam room, secure bicycle storage and two drying rooms with laundry facilities. Please go to our web site for booking information and further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Corran Bunkhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corran Bunkhouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing