We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value”
Review of Corran Bunkhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Corran Bunkhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a wet windy evening and were amazed at the superb value and the warmth and cleanliness of the room (especially the bathroom!) for such a cheap price. Kitchen and lounge facilities were fantastic and the large heated drying room was spot on!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mikeub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

The first time I stayed here was back in 2012 as a one night stop over prior to starting the 3 Peaks Challenge at Ben Nevis.

Location wise it's great and only 15mins from the start of Ben Nevis.

Accommodation is cheap and cheerful @ £18 pppn. All bed linen was included, just needed to bring a towel and food. Both rooms I've stayed in have been clean and comfortable.

It's a shared kitchen but very well supplied with a huge oven & 5 hob burners, 2 fridges and a large urn for hot drinks night or day. No dish washer but for the price you can't really complain much about getting your hands wet, if you don't like wet minds bring marigolds! There is also at least 1 BBQ outside with picnic benches for the summer months.

The beds may be a little on the short side for really tall people but perfect size for me at 5.3. Bathroom facilities are better than some 4* hotels I've stayed in, good size and good showers.

Would and have recommend and definitely use again.

It's also dog friendly which in good walking country means you can bring mans best friend on holiday.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank HockingC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A group of 12 of us booked out the smaller bunkhouse over a long weekend. Having five bedrooms which are all ensuite was particularly good for a large group. There's also an additional shower room on the ground floor so not much need for queuing in the morning! The kitchen itself was a bit small for multiple people trying to cook, wash, make a cup of tea etc, but there's two large tables in the dining area, one of which sits 12 people. The kitchen has two cookers (including ovens) and 2 fridges. There's outdoor picnic benches if the weather if kind enough for eating alfresco. The views from the bunkhouse are fabulous and its fun travelling across the corran ferry (free to pedestrians), if only to go to the Ardgour Inn for a quick drink. I really enjoyed staying here and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We were told about this bunkhouse by a guide and I am so greatful he did. The rates are £18/person/night for a shared room, with clean bedding, towels, its own bathroom and a TV. There are two seperate bunkhouses on the site which sleep 12 people and 20 people maximum. The bunkhouse has shared kitchen facilities with a spacious dining area and a drying room for kit. The kitchen has all the modern appliances so you don't have to take plates, pans etc. The bunkhouse was quiet on the week we arrived but, soon filled up. It was clean and the owner was welcoming and so quick to help when our shower broke. There is a steam room to soothe those aches and pains for 1 pound/half an hour, a great bonus. The bunkhouse is situated right on the lock with a 15-30 minute wait for the free ferry (passengers only) to take you over to the other side, definitely worth a look at the pub/restaurant over the lock. The bunkhouse is about a 10 minute drive from Fort William and Glen Coe so accessible to other places to eat. I will definitely by staying here again when we comeback to Scotland.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Disappointment

I booked in advance. At arrival the host was nice, a little bully but fine. Fantastic sleep in a very good and clean bed. The morning breakfast was large and here is coming the surprise. I booked as a B&B however the breakfast wasn’t included into the price. In the men time when I expressed my concern I have got three contradictory answers and the owner mentioned that I need to read the website and only after that to book. Looks like I`m stupid and I felt frustrated. If you want to enjoy your journey do not go there. The food is not ideal so do not have expectations. Do not book

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Csilla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halina H, Owner at Corran Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2016

This review is for the CORRAN INN and not the Corran Bunkhouse and has been mis-posted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Best hostel I have every stayed in without a doubt. I was part of a team doing John O'Groats to Lands End in July and we couldn't fault anything about this place. Room's very clean and tidy and well equipped, Wifi available. An excellent location with magnificent views.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Taunt0n1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

This was the best hostel we stayed in over 3 nights in the highlands, and the best value! The room was private with an ensuite and everything was very clean. Great to have a fridge in the room too! Towels were also provided (as well as bedding). The kitchen was well appointed and clean. Had a very nice stay here. Breakfast nor wifi not available, but certainly didn't detract compared to the quality of hostels with these features. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwigirl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
8.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
610 reviews
8.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
8.3 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
170 reviews
10.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
623 reviews
8.2 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#15 of 21 in Fort William
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corran Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corran Bunkhouse

Address: Onich, Fort William PH33 6SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Fort William
Price Range: £55 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the shores of Loch Linnhe, beside the Corran ferry, the Corran Bunkhouse is perfectly placed between Glen Coe and Fort William for long walks, mountain climbs, cycling, kayaking, fishing and skiing. We are on the doorstep of Glen Coe, the Mamores, the Nevis Range and the vast wilderness of Ardnamurchan. We have twelve private, en-suite rooms, which are either twin, double, triple, quadruple or quintuple. We have two superior shared kitchen/ dining rooms, a steam room, secure bicycle storage and two drying rooms with laundry facilities. Please go to our web site for booking information and further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Corran Bunkhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corran Bunkhouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing