We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bunkhouse”
Review of Corran Bunkhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Corran Bunkhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2011

I've stayed in most of the bunkhouses either in the Fort William or Glencoe area (this is located half-way between the two,), and would definately stay here again. The facilities are good (drying room, kitchen), and all the rooms have en-suite bathrooms. The drying room was effective. Nice and quite, good nights sleep., nice touches like a towel in the bathroom which other bunkhouses don't have.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleenstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed in a twin ensuite room which was very clean and modern and had everything we needed. The room was a bit on the small side as we hardly had enough space to put our luggage somewhere but other than that it was very good. There is free parking space outside. The kitchen was very big and had all the necessary amenities to cook. It's ideally situated a few miles outside Fort William, in Onich, with easy access to Kinlochleven and Glencoe for walks.
This is highly recommended and I would stay here again! It was one of the best places in Scotland we stayed in if budget accommodation is what you're looking for !

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussiebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Not our first time there (one of us, indeed, has stayed several times before) but welcome this time was somewhat brusque, unfortunely. There are more pleasant ways of greeting guests than asking for immediate payment, especially if advance payment has previously been offered.
Our en-suite room was spacious, clean and had its own little fridge and tv. Kitchen and dining-toom are a bit small but well furbished. Pub and hotel next door in case it's too busy inside. Wonderful location by the loch side and ferry harbour over to Ardgour.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuna1yuna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Great place very convenient for Corran ferry. Next to an Inn so you don't have to cater for yourself. Fantastically well equipped. Could do with WiFi internet connection.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
Thank loslynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stayed at Corran bunkhouse for a couple of nights this July. The room was beyond our expectation. It was a nice spacious room with a bunk bed (double at the bottom and single bed on the top). The room had a mini fridge and a TV. Heating was run more than adequately. The en suite facilities included a nice shower and a clean toilet. Plenty of towels and bath mats were provided. Only a small number of rooms shared a nice self-katering kitchen. All these facilities came at a very economical price.

Even though the location is outside Fort William (only 8 miles south), the bunkhouse is just by the main road and almost on the bank of Loch Linhe. You can enjoy very pleasant views just outside.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacksmith1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Fantastic bunkhouse, a very good online find which I will return to without doubt next time I am in the area and require cheap accommodation.
We were planning to hike near Spean Bridge and were looking for something like a youth hostel only with a little more room privacy. This bunkhouse fits the description perfectly. There were 4 of us and we got 2 twin rooms, both on-suite. Although we didn't use the drying room and self catering facilities they looked great and would have served our needs adequately.
Only suggestion I can make is that on the Corran bunkhouse website it could do with one of those embedded google maps.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

My husband and I were looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful to stay for one night on our way to Mull, and we booked into this bunkhouse which we found on the internet.

What a find!! It was so clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. It is situated next to the Corran Ferry so it was really convenient to nip across for a couple of drinks at the Ardgour Inn that evening.

I highly recommend this place, although if you are a light sleeper maybe take some ear plugs as the couple upstairs from us were definitely enjoying their holiday!! Hee Hee, good for them! ;o)

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghPuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
8.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
616 reviews
8.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
176 reviews
4.9 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
8.2 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#17 of 21 in Fort William
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corran Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corran Bunkhouse

Address: Onich, Fort William PH33 6SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Fort William
Price Range: £54 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the shores of Loch Linnhe, beside the Corran ferry, the Corran Bunkhouse is perfectly placed between Glen Coe and Fort William for long walks, mountain climbs, cycling, kayaking, fishing and skiing. We are on the doorstep of Glen Coe, the Mamores, the Nevis Range and the vast wilderness of Ardnamurchan. We have twelve private, en-suite rooms, which are either twin, double, triple, quadruple or quintuple. We have two superior shared kitchen/ dining rooms, a steam room, secure bicycle storage and two drying rooms with laundry facilities. Please go to our web site for booking information and further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Corran Bunkhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corran Bunkhouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing