We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable apartment - we would return”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tulips

A walk down to the Lochside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A walk down to the Lochside
Tulips from outside bedroom 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
A walk down to the Lochside
Tulips from outside
bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew40
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Comfortable apartment - we would return”
Reviewed 12 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Very good communication with Julia ahead of our booking. She also arranged for a visit when we had problems getting the key out of the lock on the inside of the front door.

Excellent standard of cleanliness and comfort - the beds and bedding were particularly good.

Some minor annoyances:
1) much too detailed property manual - people staying for a few nights don't have time to read through what is a torrent of information - most of it unnecessary
2) the outside light was broken - this should have been checked and repaired before our arrival
3) the property was cold on arrival - the setting of the heaters was much too low for the prevailing outside temperature. We were able to adjust heating and got ourselves warm
4) there were too many unfinished bits and pieces of food in the cupboards - things that had been left behind by other people. I would suggest cutting this back to absolute essentials e.g. tea, coffee, sugar, salt and pepper

Having said above, I would still want to be clear - this is a very good place and we would be pleased to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolanew...
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious comfort apartment in a picturesque location”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The apartment is in a good location with Loch Linnhe on the opposite side of the road which can be viewed from most of the windows. There is an allocated parking space and the centre of Fort William is about two miles away. Although traffic on the road is busy it cannot be heard inside the apartment.

Inside the furnishings and decor are tasteful and modern. The open plan living area is comfortably furnished, the kitchen is well equipped with high quality equipment,utensils and china. Bathroom and bedrooms are warm and bright.

The owner's handbook gives clear concise instruct ions for the operation of the heating, hot water etc

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil g
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Tulops”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Tulips apartment is very well situated on lock linnhe and is beauyfully equipped with everything you could need ,it's very clean and reasonably priced
I will be booking again defiantly

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faircriti...
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment with a great view, brilliantly equipped and so comfortable.”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week several years in a row during the summer when the apartment had just been built. We found it a delightful place offering more modern, stylish accommodation than was the norm in the area at the time. We hadn't stayed in the area for several years since but always wanted to return. The apartment has worn very well. It continues to offer a stylish and very comfortable place to stay with a fabulous, always changing view across the loch. The equipment provided is second to none in my experience. Quality appliances, crockery and cutlery as well as some interesting books on Scotland. Everything is high quality throughout, the new seating for the dining table, the goose down quilts and pillows, the Denby crockery and the lovely glasses. Last time we were there was followed by visits to the shops by my wife to acquire the same mugs and the brilliant Jamie Oliver frying pan set, so impressed was she with these. She still covets the ratchet operated kitchen roll dispenser! Staying here always costs me more as something in the kitchen always takes my wife's fancy but it's well worth it.
The general provision is generous with lots of cleaning products, kitchen rolls and toilet rolls. Last but not least the apartment's "instruction manual" is truly comprehensive in its attention to detail and a credit to the owner and her organisational skills. We hope to be back again before too long as a move to Scotland is currently underway.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal”
Reviewed 3 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Tulips was a beautiful,clean and v well equipped appartment. It was warm & welcoming after a very long journey -the comfy beds were most appreciated. Excellent position for getting into F William & super views from the front. Ideal for us to relax & prepare 2 of our party to begin the 3 Peaks Challenge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voyager66...
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This truly was home from home but with excellent views and well located. There was every amenity you could wish for in this beautifully maintained property. We had a relaxing weeks stay with plenty to do in and around fort William. We would definitely book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharanjit...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at the Tulips during the first week of the school summer holidays and I have to say it was an absolute pleasure.

After an epic 7 hour drive to Fort William we were greeted by a beautiful, modern, clean and well equipped flat. It was so easy to find and well situated just south of Fort William. The location was absolutely stunning too with views of Loch Linnhe from the flat. There is a residents only patch on the loch where you can go sit to further enjoy the loch if you want.

We did have an issue with the shower and the hot water on the first evening. But this was quickly rectified by Julia who responded to our messages quite promptly. The problem was more user related rather than the actual boiler!

Inside the flat we found quite a comprehensive information folder which explains literally everything you need to know about staying there.

The flat itself is ideally situated if you looking to trek up Ben Nevis. The Glen Nevis visitor centre; which is the starting point for the Mountain Track, is only 11 minutes drive away. Fort William is about 5 minutes drive and has pretty much all amenities you would probably need.

I thoroughly recommend this flat to anyone looking to holiday in the Fort William area and we certainly will be visiting again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing