We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house with stunning views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Moorings

lounge and dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lounge and dining area
Stunning views across the sea loch looking across living room towards kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
lounge and dining area
Stunning views across the sea loch
looking across living room towards kitchen
beautiful ever changing scenes on the Loch
View from upper Mezzanine bedroom
Kitchen and stairs to mezzanine floor
our development
actual holiday home
view or TV up to you to decide
Changable Mood lighting to all the home
view back to the single beds
large shower room
view from from window
view in winter from front living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous house with stunning views”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent three nights in The Moorings and from the really warm welcome we received to the stunning view outside the windows, it is not possible to overdo the five stars review. Chris was lovely and even offered the use of the property for an extra day as they would be away. It was a lovely gesture. The Moorings is a beautifully designed new property and everything has been very carefully thought out for maximum comfort. The shower was to die for... the mood lighting kept my husband playing for hours! Thank you, Chris. We would love to return one day.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
We are so happy when our guests enjoy their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chloedavi...
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just returned from home from 4 days at The Moorings.

We were incredibly lucky with the weather, blue sky’s and 20 degrees every day. The view from the property is beautiful over the loch and Chris the owner is very helpful and friendly. The property is located perfectly to go out exploring and also near all the amenities you would need.

The only negative comments we would have is the property is not ideal for a toddler. We read the reviews and saw that it mentions ‘Great for children of all ages’ but in our opinion feel this is not the case. Ok for a young baby or older child, not a toddler who is into everything!

This is an open plan property with no doors on any of the bedrooms. This obviously means it makes the best of the views but not ideal for children going to sleep when it is light until 9.30pm and there isn’t a blind covering the huge glass window. There isn’t a stair gate on the spiral staircase and this is no bath.

Having said this it did not ruin our trip but just wanted to make other people aware who might be in the same position as us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
Thanks Penny for the review and really happy you enjoyed your stay.
We do mention the safety for children in our discription of the property.
When receiving a request from applicants stating children as well we always enquirer to the child's age and notify them about the spiral stair case.
Thanks again for the comments and will work on the window for next season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rudedog20...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house by the water”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was very clean and Chris and Da were both very welcoming, ensuring we had everything that we needed. There were beautiful views over the Loch. It is by a main road but well designed so that this cannot be seen and rarely heard. We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your kind comments, look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my Fiancee stayed here in October last year, from walking through the door you knew this place was very clean, classy and comfortable, with a lovely open plan modern feel. Perfect for visiting places such as the Highland wildlife park, Fort William itself, Neptune's staircase etc, with a handy super market just a 5 minutes drive away.

The chalet itself is simply stunning, a very clean modern feel, while still being very cosy. It was just the 2 of us staying so we only used the double bed, but the view from the indoor balcony (second floor) looking out over that massive window was simply breathtaking. By far the best view we've had while staying at Fort william. Another thing to mention is the shower, filled with all the lighting and music gadgets, but the real highlight is the multiple jets.. heaven after a cold day out exploring!

Overall a really nice modern, cosy and welcoming chalet, with simply unbeatable views from that front window and brilliant touches such as the floor heating and sauna shower. The view from the indoor balcony bit is so breathtaking we actually got engaged at that very spot during our stay, so a very special place for us!

Thank you again to Chris and Da for an amazing stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Wow Douglas congratulation's and thank you for such a wonderful review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice B
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation with superb views. ”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed here for a long weekend. Had a lovely time and could not fault the accommodation. Very clean and comfortable with marvellous views. Would be happy to return and would recommend to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2017
Thanks Janis it was great seeing you and that you enjoyed the wonderful highlands we live in.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeviSewel...
Hebburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best accommodation in Fort William”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and partner have just returned from a week in Fort William in November. This is our 3rd stay in The Moorings and once again we had a wonderful time. This is a beautiful lodge in a perfect location and in our opinion, the best place to stay in Fort William.
The Moorings is very well equipped, extremely clean and offers stunning views from all areas of the lodge. The open plan layout, modern design and superb use of lighting make this lodge look and feel very luxurious and it stands out a mile from the other accommodation in the surrounding area.
The owners Chris and Da, who live next door, could not be any more friendly and accommodating and offer great advice on places to go and things to see.
I cannot recommend The Moorings enough and as we have found, once you have stayed here, it is hard to find any other place that can compare.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2016
Thanks lev for your wonderful comments, its a pleasure seeing you enjoy our beautiful Highlands and all it has to offer come rain, snow or sun
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crofter29
1 review
“Beautiful house fantastic views”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just back from a lovely relaxing week at the Moorings , the weather was fantastic for this time of year. Chris and Da could'nt have been more welcoming ,they can give you loads of information on the area if you need it. The house is spotless with very comfy beds a brilliant shower/ sauna and everything else you would need for the perfect self catering holiday. The shops and town is a 20 minute walk away , a taxi from Tesco in the main street cost £ 6.00. I would definetly recommend the mooring and will be going back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2016
Thanks for the lovely review and look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing