We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A superb midweek stay for rock climbing.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Moorings

lounge and dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lounge and dining area
Stunning views across the sea loch looking across living room towards kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
lounge and dining area
Stunning views across the sea loch
looking across living room towards kitchen
beautiful ever changing scenes on the Loch
View from upper Mezzanine bedroom
Kitchen and stairs to mezzanine floor
our development
actual holiday home
view or TV up to you to decide
Changable Mood lighting to all the home
view back to the single beds
large shower room
view from from window
view in winter from front living room
Harry Potter landscape
Glenfinnan
where we are, Fort William to the left. Ben Nevis in the back ground with cloud over it.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Passenger...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A superb midweek stay for rock climbing. ”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great 3 day midweek stay in June for some rock climbing with a work colleague. Extremely well furnished, modern and comfortable, great views over the lake and Chris is an excellent host and v handy as he lives next door.
The wifi signal is strong enough to allow streaming on Apple TV or similar.
His local knowledge of rock climbing areas as a (retired) climber and member of the Mountain Rescue is surely unparalleled!
The bedrooms are surprisingly private in a completely open plan design with an excellent mezzanine floor giving elevated lake views.
Will definitely return sometime in the near future!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thanks So much, l loss your message and wondered if you knew you did not take my old climbing gear.
I'm retired now and had hoped would take away my gear to stop me getting tempted to return to the rock face.
Look forward to seeing you both again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steph S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing 3 night stay ”
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

visited at the start of June after a weekend of camping in Fort William which made it feel even more luxurious!
Couldn't fault this rental at all - looks exactly as pictured, very clean and modern. The views from the first floor really are incredible.
Within walking distance of fort William town where there is several restaurants to choose from. There is also a supermarket within a 5 minute drive.
We only had one day of our stay where it rained the entire day however we were more than happy to stay indoors as the tv's were equipped with Netflix (such an added bonus!!)
I've already had friends comment on how amazing it looked and wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay here!
Hopefully we will be returning in the near future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
We are really happy to hear you liked our holiday home, we look forward to greeting you again some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopoli...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous house with stunning views”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent three nights in The Moorings and from the really warm welcome we received to the stunning view outside the windows, it is not possible to overdo the five stars review. Chris was lovely and even offered the use of the property for an extra day as they would be away. It was a lovely gesture. The Moorings is a beautifully designed new property and everything has been very carefully thought out for maximum comfort. The shower was to die for... the mood lighting kept my husband playing for hours! Thank you, Chris. We would love to return one day.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
We are so happy when our guests enjoy their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chloedavi...
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just returned from home from 4 days at The Moorings.

We were incredibly lucky with the weather, blue sky’s and 20 degrees every day. The view from the property is beautiful over the loch and Chris the owner is very helpful and friendly. The property is located perfectly to go out exploring and also near all the amenities you would need.

The only negative comments we would have is the property is not ideal for a toddler. We read the reviews and saw that it mentions ‘Great for children of all ages’ but in our opinion feel this is not the case. Ok for a young baby or older child, not a toddler who is into everything!

This is an open plan property with no doors on any of the bedrooms. This obviously means it makes the best of the views but not ideal for children going to sleep when it is light until 9.30pm and there isn’t a blind covering the huge glass window. There isn’t a stair gate on the spiral staircase and this is no bath.

Having said this it did not ruin our trip but just wanted to make other people aware who might be in the same position as us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
Thanks Penny for the review and really happy you enjoyed your stay.
We do mention the safety for children in our discription of the property.
When receiving a request from applicants stating children as well we always enquirer to the child's age and notify them about the spiral stair case.
Thanks again for the comments and will work on the window for next season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rudedog20...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house by the water”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was very clean and Chris and Da were both very welcoming, ensuring we had everything that we needed. There were beautiful views over the Loch. It is by a main road but well designed so that this cannot be seen and rarely heard. We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your kind comments, look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my Fiancee stayed here in October last year, from walking through the door you knew this place was very clean, classy and comfortable, with a lovely open plan modern feel. Perfect for visiting places such as the Highland wildlife park, Fort William itself, Neptune's staircase etc, with a handy super market just a 5 minutes drive away.

The chalet itself is simply stunning, a very clean modern feel, while still being very cosy. It was just the 2 of us staying so we only used the double bed, but the view from the indoor balcony (second floor) looking out over that massive window was simply breathtaking. By far the best view we've had while staying at Fort william. Another thing to mention is the shower, filled with all the lighting and music gadgets, but the real highlight is the multiple jets.. heaven after a cold day out exploring!

Overall a really nice modern, cosy and welcoming chalet, with simply unbeatable views from that front window and brilliant touches such as the floor heating and sauna shower. The view from the indoor balcony bit is so breathtaking we actually got engaged at that very spot during our stay, so a very special place for us!

Thank you again to Chris and Da for an amazing stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Wow Douglas congratulation's and thank you for such a wonderful review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice B
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation with superb views. ”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed here for a long weekend. Had a lovely time and could not fault the accommodation. Very clean and comfortable with marvellous views. Would be happy to return and would recommend to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2017
Thanks Janis it was great seeing you and that you enjoyed the wonderful highlands we live in.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing