We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb, beautiful, amazing place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Moorings

lounge and dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lounge and dining area
Stunning views across the sea loch looking across living room towards kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
lounge and dining area
Stunning views across the sea loch
looking across living room towards kitchen
beautiful ever changing scenes on the Loch
View from upper Mezzanine bedroom
Kitchen and stairs to mezzanine floor
our development
actual holiday home
view or TV up to you to decide
Changable Mood lighting to all the home
view back to the single beds
large shower room
view from from window
view in winter from front living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Quest7309...
1 review
“Superb, beautiful, amazing place to stay!”
Reviewed 5 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed here for a week on October half term. When we arrived and looked out at the view we couldn't believe how beautiful the scenery was. It was like a painting. The house was gorgeous and finished to an outstanding level. Everything we needed was there so we didn't have to bring anything accept our luggage. It was only a short 20 minute walk into the town of Fort William which is a lovely little town with everything you would need. It has lots of nice shops and amazing places to eat. We would recommend going to The Tavern as we ate there 3 times because it was just awesome food and the staff are all so friendly, you have to try it for yourself. Fort William is such a great location as it's centred to all the great sights you can visit. We covered loads in just 1 week including, Skye, Fort Augustus, Loch Ness, Inverness, Culloden Moor, Glenfinnan viaduct and monument, Mallaig, Sands of Morrar, Ben Nevis, Glen Nevis and the Ardamurchan Peninsula. It was so nice to come back to The Moorings at the end of a long day and relax, have a nice shower and just chill. Waking up to the view out of the large window was just the best thing. We saw loads of wildlife around the West Highlands, there's even otters in Loch Linhe right opposite The Moorings on the other side of the road. Lots of little fishing boats going past to. The owner Chris, is very nice and friendly to and we had a nice chat with him when we arrived and when we left and he was extremely helpful when booking. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be back soon. It's that good that we are even thinking about moving to Scotland now! I would highly recommend The Moorings!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2017
Wow what a review, its was great to see you enjoying our beautiful Highlands which even so late in the year has so much to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue100xx
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful accommodation with stunning views”
Reviewed 2 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The Moorings is extremely comfortable and looks as good as it does in the photos, with stunning views of Loch Linnhe and the mountains. Chris and Da were really friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our weeks stay. Lots to do and see in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2017
Thanks Sue, we look forward to greeting you next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darren m
1 review
“first class”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

the place is as nice in pic as it is in person chris is first class and handy for town small beach at the front was also nice for the kids

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith H
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely View of Loch Linnhe”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Fort William is an interesting Town in a beautiful part of Scotland. The self catering accommodation is well presented and well equipped. Chris ( the owner) was very hospitable and offered good advice on tourist drives and activities.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2017
Thanks Judith hope all is well back in Aussie .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizcakes
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This was a '10' out of '10'!!!!”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

My husband and I arrived at The Moorings on the last day of our West Highland Way hike and it was a sight for sore eyes after 11 solid days of rain. The detached house has everything you could need except perhaps for a washing machine but we were fine in that department and had no need as a wonderful B&B owner had done all of our laundry just a few days before. The bed was MOST comfortable and a King by American standards. The shower was large and had all sorts of gadgets which we didn't use but were available! The lighting was glorious and it had a wonderful view of Loch Linnhe - right across the road. Chris, the owner, picked us up at the old WHW end and we were thankful for that as it would have been another two miles added on to an already very long day from Kinlochleven - in the rain of course. See my pics! This was a truly perfect rental and our eternal thanks to Chris' hospitality!! We only saw his wife, Da, as she was outside of their house (next door) but Chris took care of everything.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2017
Thank you for such a good review, there is a common laundry room for the holiday Home use should anyone need.
With free powder and tumble dryer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Oct 2017
Always glad to help and the Ben is a serious mountain, well done on getting to the top.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tenpin218
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We would have given it a ten but the ratings only go to five”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Wonderful immaculate modern holiday condo. Tastefully decorated and furnished with a super comfy bed and wonderful views over loch Linnie. Owner Chris on hand very friendly and helpful didn't want to leave and can't wait to return in the new year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2017
Wow thanks and look forward to greeting you soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing