We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok if they listen”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hectors Bothy

Hectors Bothy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
peterhead
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ok if they listen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Nice wee place first time there ordered coffee and a coke don't understand how they thought coca cola was another word for black coffee may be its my accent they have a problem with but overall it's a nice wee placeie clean and tidy

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank oman987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    189
    77
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birnam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great stop off while travelling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have stopped several times on the way to the Outer Hebrides and am never disappointed.
The food is fresh and locally sourced.
The waiting staff are very pleasant and the restaurant is always busy.
We had really tasty food last visit, just a week ago, and they are licensed so my husband enjoyed a local bottle of ale.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anne120602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We visited Hector's Bothy the first night we were in Kyle. I thought £9.95 was extortionate for beefburger and chips, but maybe I'm behind the times. I didn't think much of the burger - it didn't taste like any burger I've ever had - so, although we were in Kyle for the week, we didn't go to the Bothy again.

Hector's also has a Fish & Chip shop in Kyle. We hoped for better luck there, but the service was poor and the batter soggy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in a town that doesn't have many.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We struggled to find a place for dinner but lucked into finding Hector's Bothy. Nothing fancy but the food was fresh and tastey, portions were generous and the service was good. The fish and chips were delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wer4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano TX
Level Contributor
117 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We popped in for lunch after taking the Skye Bridge over for some sightseeing. The food and service was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hectors Bothy also viewed

Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
 
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 

Been to Hectors Bothy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing