We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honest food ..stop here”
Review of Hectors Bothy

Hectors Bothy
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast
2 reviews
“Good honest food ..stop here”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Up on business and stopped here for lunch.Food great and service no issues.Loved the soup and burger will be my regular stop from now on.

Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    203
    87
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York Mills, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Went to Hectors Bothy today and it was an altogether exceptional experience. The food was really good quality and the portions were very filling. The waitresses were exceedingly helpful and attentive and they both had a very friendly and positive attitude to us. The prices as well were very reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank AnniieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Another stop off at hectors on our way back from Skye. Cannot fault. Love the new decor- looking nice and fresh with a much improved menu which was all delicious. Best red velvet I have ever tasted!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Annual visit to Bothy”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Read previous reports and disappointed with what some people had 'experienced' as I have to say we once again had a first class meal with extremely generous portions and everything cooked to our satisfaction.Our waitress was chatty and helpful and took time to chat with my children about their holiday which cannot be said for all other establishments in Skye.My only negative comments was that it was initially busy and we had to wait 10 minutes for a free table but in the height of the season that can only be expected and worth waiting for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Has potential”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Cakes, very poor and just lacking something but very clean and the waitresses were very pleasant. Has the potential to be great. We didn't eat a meal hence not commenting on that but I did see what others were eating and it looked very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brennan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorsbothy, Owner at Hectors Bothy, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on the bothy. I am extremely sorry our cake display was not up to our usual standards . Our cake display normally gets restocked with fresh cakes regularly throughout the day. Unfortunately on this occasion due to their popularity restocking was not done as quickly as required. Please accept out apologies on this occasion and we hope to see you soon for some fresh homebaked goodies.

Best wishes
mhairi macinnes
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hectors Bothy also viewed

Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 

Been to Hectors Bothy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing