We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience, a home away from home”
Review of A'Chomraich

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyle of Lochalsh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A'Chomraich
Reviewed 28 October 2013

That sounds like a cliché, but it truly was a home away from home. Mrs. Murchison was warm and welcoming. This was actually my second trip there, though the first for my husband and parents. On my first trip three years ago, I'd been with sister, who reminded me to book the same place so my parents could enjoy A'Chomraich too! Mrs. Murchison made sure we were not cold by having a fire in the living room all three evenings we were there and provides a number of heating options in the rooms that one can control and adjust to one's liking. She lent us maps, gave us directions, provided very clear instructions on how the shower works. She even catered breakfast to our very different expectations: Asian vegetarian, British egg-eating vegetarian, etc. What was especially thoughtful was that she packed us a picnic breakfast on the day we left as we had an early train and she was careful enough to pack the meat and vegetarian sandwiches separately. The decor is also delightful and charming, and the rooms are super comfortable. The tea things she places freshly every day provide a pretty varied selection of biscuits and hot drinks. I cannot recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: I've never stayed in the back rooms, so I cannot vouch for them but both rooms overlooking the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely stay, wish we had found it earlier, will stay again on our next visit and recommend to our friends. Elspeth was the perfect host, plenty of tea and coffee in our room. Comfy bed and lovely full scottish breakfast. Following a nice meal in Kyle we enjoyed a very pleasant evening with another couple and Elspeth talking in the front room with a glowing fire. Perfect end to our day.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank GarGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at this lovely B&B for 2 nights. Elspeth is a gracious hostess and very accommodating. The B&B is very cozy, clean and charming. We had such a lovely time with Elspeth and the other couple that stayed on our 2nd night. There is a lovely sitting area and our bedroom was very comfy, bright and roomy. The dining room is bright and sunny with a lovely view of the front yard. We chose not to have have the hearty breakfast that comes with the stay (we are not big breakfast eaters) and chose instead to have cereal, toast and coffee. Elspeth recommended some sights to see and an absolutely delicious restaurant in Plockton (The Plockton Inn). Isle of Skye, Plockton and Eilean Donan are very close which makes this B&B conveniently located to some wonderful attractions. Definitely returning to this B&B whenever we return to Scotland.

Room Tip: You will pay 3 times as much to stay on Skye!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kdeanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

So many goods b&b in Scotland, luckly different from this, good position outside Kyle center but accomodation not so clean and mediocre. Hair and dust in the room, full on clothes and personal stuff of the old owner lady. Feel a little uncomfortable at the end.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank here_is_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Honesty I would like to use better rating because of owner of the property and a athmosphere of the place and rooms. But unfortunatly I cant because of some objective reasons as for example one share bathroom (combined with toilet) for 3 rooms (7 or 8 persons totally). Anyway if you are tired from sterile Ikea-like furnished B&B and you want to feel for a while as in your grandmother house - this is the place to stay. Convenient location and pricing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Elspeth was extremely welcoming and kind, and most flexible about us turning up early. She showed us where we could hang our wet things as we were cycling, and they were nicely dried by morning. We got a mighty breakfast and our room was spacious bright and sunny. The shower was the first one of the trip that was both warm and strong, and the beds were very comfortable. All in all a great stay and Elspeth recommended a great restaurant for dinner too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d_h_will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Fantastic time great place to stay really friendly lady wish all people were like her can't help you enough only two minutes from the centre this guesthouse is ideally located in kyle with the leisure centre just down the hill if you get a chance drop in by she'll make you feel like family def can't wait too come back next year

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oman987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyle of Lochalsh hotels
0.4 mi away
Fasgath Bed and Breakfast
Fasgath Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 13 in Kyle of Lochalsh
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardenlea
Ardenlea
#3 of 13 in Kyle of Lochalsh
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Toads Croak
Toads Croak
#12 of 13 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Bank House
The Old Bank House
#5 of 13 in Kyle of Lochalsh
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A'Chomraich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'Chomraich

Address: Achomraich Main Street | Ross-Shire, Kyle of Lochalsh IV40 8DA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Kyle of Lochalsh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kyle of Lochalsh
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
A'Chomraich Kyle Of Lochalsh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing