We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Mr Mac'”
Review of Lochalsh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lochalsh Hotel
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Thank you Mr Mac'”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Having been on a motorcycle all day and no rooms available anywhere a friend and I were lucky to find rooms at this hotel. Price was very reasonable and excellent value for money. Had I reviewed some of the negative comments prior to traveling I would most likely have avoided it which would have been a huge mistake. If you want spectacular views and meet welcoming wonderful people then don't hesitate to stay at this hotel. Yes, the hotel has faults but look past these minor woes and you can't fail to enjoy your stay in an amazing location. The owner Mr Mac' shouldn't be missed, he is hilarious and a great host, the staff are pleasant and helpful. The food is very good quality. Sitting outside with a cold beer looking over the Loch more than makes up for 'outdated furniture' and without doubt I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank malN50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    48
    54
    48
    52
See reviews for
31
89
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Dog is not so young as she was and was very pleased with our ground floor room leading directly out on to the lawn. Humans loved the large room, twin beds and beautiful views of the loch. The hotel is excellently situated in the middle of the village near the road to the Skye Bridge. Very good breakfast too. We'll return next year.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twoanddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Oh my! While this hotel enjoys lovely views of the harbor and bridge, this is probably the best I can say about it. We were greeted by a lovely gentleman, who appears to be the "everything" for the hotel. He is quite friendly, but cannot make up for the appalling state of the hotel rooms. Mold was in many places, rooms had old wallpaper on not only the walls, but the doors. Our room was a family room which appeared to be from the late 19th century -- the children were in an adjoining room seemingly for a nanny and child. We did have views of the harbor which were nice, but some in our party were treated to views of the garbage bins which, of course, is not nice when you want to open your windows for air.

I understand that the tourist season may be short and therefore it is difficult to justify renovations, but some of these structural issues border on being reason to condemn the place.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rear facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kyle of Lochalsh hotels

Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel was so bad, it became a source of jokes for our tour group! I have to say that the locatin and views were spectacular! The dinner and breakfast were also excellent, but once you got upstairs to the rooms, it was like a different hotel... from pre-WWII.
The rooms were so outdated! The beds were clean and comfortable, but the decor was beyond outdated, and didn't look like any renovations had ever taken place! While I was sitting in the bedroom, ma small piece of shoe molding just fell off, plop, onto the floor.
The bathroom was functional, but the sink was in terrible shape! The little ceramic button on the "cold" side of the faucet popped out the first time I turned it. The sink & counter were of some artificial material, with the sink full of discolored cracks, like a tea-dyed pickled egg. Ugh!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel, preferably in Portree, up the coast of the Isle of Skye.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This summer I brought a group of people to stay at this hotel. A dreadful mistake on my part. It's supposed to be a 3 star hotel, but surely, even a 3 star hotel can be clean and well maintained. This place is filthy in parts, and very dilapidated throughout. Sadly, the view does not compensate for how run down this place is. Check out the photos. Despite paying for porterage, none was provided. Food was ok, but breakfast was a "take it or leave it" option - full Scottish fry. All in all, a hotel trading on its view, which in no way compensates for how dirty, disorganized and run down the place is.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercyful-Hour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a couple of hours to kill on a wet Saturday between the train from Inverness and the bus to Armadale. Despite the kitchen being closed the barman got us what we wanted from the menu and it was great. The crac was good and it was really friendly and nice. Just in for a few hours out of the rain, but I can at least recommend that.

Room Tip: Didn't stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iver1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Walked into this (Hotel) it certainly is`nt,politely greeted the receptionist/owner behind the counter and was immediately given a rude/sarcastic reply. Luckily for us and now i can say with great relief,the (Hotel) was fully booked.A couple of coaches were pulling up with OAP`s so i fully expect this is a half-way house to Gods waiting room.Fawlty Towers lives on in Kyle......

Room Tip: DON`T it`s horrendous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyle of Lochalsh
0.1 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
352 reviews
3.4 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
228 reviews
7.5 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
7.7 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
353 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochalsh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochalsh Hotel

Property: Lochalsh Hotel
Address: Ferry Road, Kyle of Lochalsh IV40 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Kyle of Lochalsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kyle of Lochalsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lochalsh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lochalsh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochalsh Hotel Kyle Of Lochalsh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing