We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
34
91
116
85
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
91
116
85
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bad reviews warm room small hotel staff were lovely family room rear maggie highlands
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Thought we had booked into the smart hotel on the loch front so very disappointed to find this bog standard B&B. Staff rather indifferent, service indifferent and the breakfast mediocre. Still, we had a bed for the night, that's the best I can say!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

When looking at hotels in Skye, it quickly became apparent that most accommodations are B&Bs rather than luxury hotel chains. We chose this hotel for its proximity to the railway station (walking distance), nearby restaurants, as well as ease of getting to the Armadale ferry upon leaving (~35 minute drive).

Yes, this is not a modern luxury stay. The furnishings are outdated, and you may hear noise from the street outside. However, we had a big tub with jets in the room, nice breakfast was included, and there is a large free parking lot up the hill behind the hotel.

Although I wouldn't rate this hotel highly against a luxury chain, for the context and location it was very good.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EvasWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Very good value for money clean room and comfortable bed, the breakfast was good and served early enough to get before work. Evening meals were all good quality and helpings staff friendly and helpful.
Will stay here again if working in the area again.

Room Tip: Go for upstairs
Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Returning to the public bar in the Kyle Hotel, after an evening stroll, was not quite as expected. A young man was clearly at odds with the barmaid, who was trying to get him to moderate his colourful language. Having been in the bar briefly after checking in, I knew that he and his mates had been in the bar for over three hours, frequently cursing and swearing whilst playing pool and in general conversation, it clearly seemed unfair that he was now no longer able to converse in this way. Up until that point they seemed quite happy to accept his custom. Trying to seek my views on the appropriateness of his profanity I suggested if he wanted to continue being served toning it down might be helpful.

Fortunately I’m not unaccustomed to such colourful language, but I did feel sorry for other hotel guests who were faced with the choice of having a drink or not, since this was the only bar in the hotel open on a ‪Friday evening‬.

The Kyle Hotel is typical of many old-style hotels crying out for an upgrade. The misnomer of ‘Bespoke’ Hotel, it’s the name of the group which owns it and not reflective of the style of accommodation on offer. Down at the heel, understaffed and lacking in general management would be my assessment based on an overnight b&b stay.

Apart from the lack of choice for a quiet drink, the dining room was not well used, despite the recommendation by reception, that we should book, as it would be busy. Their prices were a bit steep, but £2 cheaper if you took your chances and ate in the bar! Too be fair, however, breakfast included in the £97 per night price was pretty good with a reasonable range of buffet or freshly cooked items available.

The room, like most of the hotel could do with a makeover, the broken floor tile in the bathroom was a bit of a worry and the small LED TV was curiously mounted, covering the lower part of a wall mirror. Bed was soft but comfortable and good selection of tea & coffee with biscuits.

So not much going for it, not even a decent view, but a short walk from the harbour and the train station are in its favour. But I won’t be hurrying back anytime soon, sorry.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank HowieFyffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

A slightly worn out feel to the place but good value for money.

Got rather fed up with the portable radio used as background music in the restaurant and asked for it to be turned off (which it was). At least get some CDs rather than using a radio station with DJs.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris-Stanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews