We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven”
other travellers have booked this property
Rowan Cottage
Your Highland Hideaway!
Charming timber cottage for 4 near Loch Ness.  Dogs welcome.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rowan Cottage
Your Highland Hideaway!
Charming timber cottage for 4 near Loch Ness.  Dogs welcome.
Rowan Cottage Rowan Cottage in the 1930's. Great Uncle, Father and other relatives enjoy the sunshine!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Rowan Cottage
Your Highland Hideaway!
Charming timber cottage for 4 near Loch Ness.  Dogs welcome.
Rowan Cottage
Rowan Cottage in the 1930's. Great Uncle, Father and other relatives enjoy the sunshine!
Part of the garden at Rowan Cottage
Sitting room
Sittling room
Sunroom
Dogs welcome!
Double bedroom
Relax....
Winter wonderland
Rowan Cottage in Spring
Fun in Loch Ness!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vicki B
1 review
“Heaven”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We came back to Scotland for the first time is many many years with our 3 dogs and we were made so welcome. The cottage was so welcoming and cosy. It appeared nothing was too much for our hosts. It was perfect for the dogs who all loved their time here and their special treat when they arrived. I could not have wished for a better base to explore this part of Scotland. Coming back after a long days travels was lovely. I will be coming back next year. Finally I am so glad to find such a dog friendly place to stay, its fabulous to find such a place and I have recommended to all my doggy friends x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How much it felt like home
Liked least: I cannot think of anything
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidcurrie...
Liskeard, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect idyllic getaway.”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We booked this trip only a week before and we're certainly not disappointed. Rowan Cottage was absolutely perfect, tucked away all on it's own, 3 miles from the shores of Loch Ness, it is the ideal base to explore the area of Inverfarigaig. The cottage has everything you need and we would certainly not hesitate to recommend to potential visitors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jul 2013
Dear Mike
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. Can't take any credit for the weather unfortunately! (I wish we could guarantee good weather for everyone, but then variety in weather is part of Scotland's charm .) Haste ye back!
Janet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mairim501
Stornoway, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable, peaceful, charming and a great getaway location!”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Second visit for us at Rowan Cottage and it won't be the last! Wonderful owners who go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Even letting us camp in their own field the night before our stay started, as we had brought our horses to stay down the road at Dores and needed to give them an extra day to settle before their big day on the Sunday.
The cottage has everything you need and is very comfortable with some very welcome touches.
The location is amazing, peaceful and very beautiful. What more can I say......
Easy to get to places but remote enough to feel 'away from it all'
We have been holidaying in this area for over 20 years and Rowan Cottage ticks all the boxes for us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself and the location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2013
Dear Mairi
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back!
Best wishes
Janet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh
Reviewed 16 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Apr 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay - and we'll get some more board games!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sue N
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get away from the rat race with this home away from home”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

A lovely, comfortable "log cabin" set in a glorious setting surrounded by trees, yet there's a great view from the front of the property enabling you to see for miles. The verandah is a super place to sit and drink your morning cuppa. You get a great welcome from Janet & Alex - a "wee dram", flowers and shortbread, tourist information and much much more. Certainly over and above the call of duty! (Tap Alex up for a tale or two about the area and Nessie)

The beds are comfortable and every conceivable kitchen implement is to hand as are games, books, cd's, films, magazines and even a telescope! You won't get bored even if you don't go out to see the stunning scenery around the area. From dolphin watching in the moray Firth, to watching the salmon leaping at the Falls of Shin, this part of Scotland has it all.

Locally there are a few shops and cafes near the Falls of Foyers, but it's not far to Inverness which has plenty of supermarkets and also things to do for young and old alike.

We enjoyed touring and the steam train from Fort William to Mallaig (pre-booking essential) Skye is beautiful too. Dislikes - none whatsoever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort coupled with peace & quiet
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Hapg...
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A real break from a mad world”
Reviewed 7 April 2012 for a stay in August 2011

We had a wonderful time at Rowan Cottage. It was a comfy base both to rest and to explore South Loch Ness side - with much to see and some great places to eat. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. The views from the cottage were superb - see panorama uploaded with this review. Our stay set us up for a much too busy autumn and winter. All in all, a great place to stay if you want to get away from it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly welcome from the owners
Liked least: Cloudy every night, so we could not see the stars at this wonderfully dark site
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing