We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loch ness” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Ness

Loch Ness
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.29*
and up
Loch Ness Sightseeing Cruise and Visit to Urquhart Castle
Ranked #4 of 28 things to do in Loch Ness
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Many people believe that this brooding lake in Northern Scotland, 21 square miles in size at an average depth of 800 feet, could certainly hide a large dinosaur-like "monster," the lake's long-time and elusive resident.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Loch ness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Most beautiful place.Have to see.You can spent lot time for walk.Relaxing,it is nice places for run from morden would

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ronika123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    272
    132
    36
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I loved Loch Ness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have always wanted to make the trip to Loch Ness and I must say , it was worth every mile of the journey! Fort Augustus with it's pretty shops and great glass work shop where I had a nessie hand made, is a brilliant way to view the Loch. It is much wider and longer than I thought but just as impressive as Loch Lomond . The only fault I found was the awful road to get there from Fort William, but that aside, go to Loch ness you won't regret it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank muraod k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I have been to loch ness many times over the years and stayed in and around the loch as well. I have also had sailing trips on the loch three times which has given me the chance to visit and stay at fort Augustus, the clansman and other locations that are on the loch. The loch is a mile wide at one point and when your sailing in the middle if feels like your on the sea.....it gets choppy as well..to my surprise! If getting on the water is not for you if visit to the area is the way to go.

Helpful?
Thank lou4406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We Never say Nessie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We took a ride on one of the boat tours up the lock to Urquhart Castle and we were pleasantly surprised, it gives a person a much better idea how impressive the Loch is.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A beauty spot and the best piece of tourist marketing ever done”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Loch Ness is beautiful.
Black waters due to the peat , and surrounded by beautiful scenery . Fort Augustus as a town is pretty small with several places to eat , but if you think you will escape the hoards in summer think again . Out of seasons its just as pretty and you can move , in peak season forget it .
You have the option for a boat ride but to be honest for what it is id save your money and book another trip to other parts of the High Lands Glencoe comes to mind..But you came for legend of Nessie....Sadly there are not many loch side places to stop , and those there are will always have people so perhaps not the greatest trip ..but you never know what you may see ..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GaryCW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loch Ness also viewed

 
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
 

Been to Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing