We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great boat for our large dog”
Eriskay is a sleek, stylish cruiser.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eriskay is a sleek, stylish cruiser.
Stunning scenery in the Great Glen and the Eriskay is the perfect vantage point to view it from. Double cabin forward
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Eriskay is a sleek, stylish cruiser.
Stunning scenery in the Great Glen and the Eriskay is the perfect vantage point to view it from.
Double cabin forward
Fully equipped galley with full size cooker and fridge
Full size fridge on board
Spacious open plan seating area, with TV/DVD player
Twin bunks, ideal for the kids!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kiwiBirmi...
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great boat for our large dog”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I can't really add to what has been said by others previously except to say that every single word they've said about the Caley Cruisers staff, the lock keepers, the scenery, the boat, and the whole experience is true. So my review is different in that the following information may be of use to those who have a large dog and especially if it isn't very agile.

We chose the Eriskay Class mainly because it looked the best one for our elderly dog to get on and off it, and having now actually seen the other classes of boat rather than just the photos I think we chose well. Our dog weighs 30kg so we wanted to minimise the times we had to lift her. The Eriskay Class has it's rear outside area at the same level as the inside of the cabin so no difficult slippery steps, and then there is a neat little gate leading from this area for stepping on and off the boat onto a mooring pontoon/landing stage, all of which you can see in the brochure photos.

This does though mean that it's best (but not essential) to reverse onto the moorings rather than sideways on which most boats do, but with the help of the bow thrusters it's a fairly easy manoeuvre even for a novice. Mooring this way does mean the boat sticks out a bit but the canal is plenty wide enough and it's just as easy to tie up the mooring ropes. Having said that, the one occasion we did have to moor sideways it wasn't too difficult lifting the dog because using the seat as a step, it then wasn't that high to lift her over.

It's a lovely boat and a joy to live on and drive. My only slight criticism is that the gap between the driver's seat and the steering wheel is too small and therefore I found it was more comfortable to drive 'side saddle'. This wasn't really much of a problem but more of a niggle. Oh and one final thing is that although this boat doesn't have an additional steering wheel outside like some do, the all round vision from inside is massive anyway, and with the back doors open and the large sliding window by the steering wheel, there is plenty of ventilation on a warm day.

I thoroughly recommend this holiday, and in particular Caley Cruisers who have been absolutely excellent throughout the whole process. If you've never boated before don't be put off because it really is easy, and it's such a great way of seeing and experiencing the magnificent scenery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: The heavy rain and winds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2015
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are really delighted you had a great time and were happy with our Eriskay for your trip through the canal. The feedback regarding your dog is much appreciated, it's very helpful for anyone considering a trip with us. All the best from the Caley crew!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Misstoria
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the most memorable holidays anyone could ever have 10/10”
Reviewed 16 January 2015 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 4 have hired Eriskay for a week at a time,during the summer and the autumn months.
It's a fantastic cruiser.
The scenery is beautiful no matter what time of year you go.
Cruising the lochs is a great experience for children and adults alike.
You can move on to the next wee village and Moore up, go ashore and find some nice little eateries. The people of Caley Cruisers have always been a pleasure to deal with.
This is a holiday that's never the same next time around.
We shall return again, and again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your trip through the canal on Eriskay. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future. All the best from the Caley crew!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john c
stocksfield
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“eriskay 2”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just returned from a weeks boating holiday on the Caledonian Canal on Eriskay 2. The boat was extremely clean (obviously cared for), well lain out and comfortable. Unlike some canal boats the engine was quiet and we always had loads of hot water. Highlight was seeing the SL Vic32 passing by and also waking up moored at the pontoon at the Glengarry Castle Hotel on Loch Lochy on a clear September morning. Walking to the sea locks at both ends of the canal was also special - Thomas Telford was a pretty good engineer ! The boatyard staff were very professional and the whole operation efficient and well organised (unlike some boatyards).
We will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and for your kind words. Any comments we receive are very much appreciated. We are glad you have enjoyed your boat and your holiday with our company. I agree, the Caledonian Canal system is a great piece of engineering and the Great Glen is truly a stunning part of the Scottish Highlands. Hopefully, we will see you again sometime in the future. Thank you again for your comments.
Kindest regards – The team @ Caley Cruisers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamSteven...
Steenbergen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We rented Eriskay 6 for a week and had one of our best holidays ever! The helpful staff and materials provided during the investigation phase was a key reason for choosing Caley Cruisers in the first place. They helped us pick the correct boat for our family’s needs. On arrival, we loaded the boat with our luggage and weeks provisions and were impressed at the cleanliness and high standard of the boat. It is a modern motor cruiser with everything you could need onboard (even TV/DVD for the kids!) After a safety brief and practical demonstration, we set off down the Caledonian Canal to find our boat was extremely easy to maneuver. We had fantastic weather during the majority of our trip, and never tried of the scenery. I am struggling to find the correct words to describe it - Absolutely breathtaking! The navigation charts were easy to understand and simple to follow. We met allot of friendly people along the way, especially the lock / bridge keepers who were on hand to help where needed. We made friends with other Caley Cruiser boats which lead to some great evenings when moored up together for the night. If you are thinking of such a holiday, I have no hesitation to highly recommend the Eriskay class, Caley Cruisers and the Caledonian Canal. The highlands of Scotland are stunning and the people are the friendliest on the planet, so don’t forget to save some time to take in other activities en-route. We will certainly be back. Our thanks to Audrey and the rest of the team at CC.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to write this great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and that your experience cruising the Great Glen was a very positive one. We appreciate and welcome any comments we receive, which will hopefully enable us to improve our service. Perhaps we will have the pleasure of you cruising with us some other time in the future. Many thanks again. All the best. - From all @ Caley Cruisers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavyPandh...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We rented the Eriskay 5 boat from Caley Cruisers and this was the first time we had ever participated in this type of holiday. What a fantastic week we had, the scenery was nothing short of spectacular and we had such a relaxing week. Cruising along the lochs and canals, tying up at a pontoon and having dinner in the local hostelries - absolute bliss.

The boat was well laid out and had internal facilities along the lines of a caravan with a double bedroom, separate room with a bunk beds, toilet with shower and galley kitchen with full size cooker.

Having never tried this type of holiday before, we were a bit apprehensive about how we would manage to operate a boat but Caley cruisers gave an expert instruction and took us out for an hour on the canal before cutting us loose.

A special word for all the lock keepers and swing bridge operators, they were all very helpful and friendly, especially when you get it wrong, they were not demeaning in any way and went out of their way to assist you at every turn. What did come across loud and clear was that the Caley Cruisers holidaymakers were better instructed than occupants of other operators boats and had a better grasp of the etiquette than the others.

Absolutely brilliant holiday and can't wait to return for another blissful week.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2014
Thank you ever so much for your lovely review and your kind comments. We are of course delighted that you enjoyed your boating holiday with us on the Caledonian Canal and that you were pleased with the Eriskay class accommodation. We welcome and appreciate all comments as they are very important to us and help us to improve our product and service. It is also good to know that you were pleased with the service you received from the Scottish Canals staff along the way. We do hope to see you all again sometime. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us. All the best from all at Caley Cruisers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandhop...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best holiday experience with our young family ever what an adventure”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The man was so friendly and helpful when he showed us the ropes ! Really felt we knew everything when he left us , the boat was spotless , so clean and immaculate , beds very comfy
We just loved everything about this holiday , the photos of the Eriskay don't actually do it justice , it was bigger and better than it looks .

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review. We're delighted you all enjoyed your holiday with us and were happy with our Eriskay. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future. Best regards Audrey & team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth L
Syresham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The perfect way to see Scotland”
Reviewed 18 February 2013 for a stay in October 2012
7
people found this review helpful

Last October we booked a holiday with Caley Cruisers aboard the Eriskay for a weeks cruising through the Lochs and down the Caledonian Canal. Right from the beginning Audrey and her team made the holiday a great experience. Booking was fast and efficient and we were provided with everything we needed to know about the holiday. Upon arrival the team made us feel very welcome, we received our tuition from Bob who soon had us feeling confident and maneuvering the boat in every direction possible before we left the boat yard.

The facilities aboard Eriskay provided us with all that we needed and as we had decided to spend the week mooring away from the villages the kitchen and onboard facilities were certainly put to the test and there was always a lovely hot shower at the end of the day. We were provided with our own boating guide and map, which were very clear and easy to use, the Loch Keeper’s were all very friendly as we passed through. The British Waterways facilities along the route were very clean and warm which was welcoming in October.

We spent our week mooring at pontoons, jumping of the boat and scrambling high up the banks of the glens to get a better view of the fantastic scenery that we were cruising though. We also visited Foyers and Urquhart Castle, which were beautiful.

We travel to Scotland twice a year for our main holidays for a few years now, so have stayed in various places and in various types of accommodation. This has been by far the best holiday we have had in Scotland. Normally when in the Highlands you look at the scenery and admire at its beauty, but aboard the Eriskay cruising down the lochs you become surrounded by it and you get to spend a week living within the majestic scenery and almost become apart of it. We are booked for another week aboard Eriskay in April and are already counting down the days until we are back cruising down Loch Ness once again.

We made a video of our holiday with Caley Cruisers, which can be seen on YouTube: http://youtu.be/UjTDZ3uSSqg

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in the middle of a Loch with nobody in sight
Liked least: Giving the boat back
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review and kind comments about our team. We are all delighted you enjoyed your holiday onboard Eriskay and look forward to seeing you both again later this year. Best regards Audrey & team :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing