We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Brighton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brighton House
Ranked #3 of 37 Nairn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

It is highly recommended to use Visit Scotland's system in order to book your b&b around Scotland. Thus, when we made another query for a b&b (four star levels) near Inverness, this time we were send to Nairn. Since we had a rented car and a GPS, as well as a good road map, we did not have any difficulties to find the house.
Upon our arrival, we were welcomed with warm hospitality by the owners, who helped us with our bags and also assisted me finding a place to park nearby. We got two rooms with separated bathrooms. The sleep quality was just great and we saw the wonderful view of the North Sea when we woke up in the morning. The breakfast was just great also.
So, if you have a flexible path when you drive around Scotland, It is highly recommended to use Visit Scotland’s agents (the Edinburgh agents are just Gem). Whenever you arrive Nairn, I suggest you to use this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hezkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

We really felt at home here. The room was quiet and spotless with lovely decor and the home made shortbread was far better than any you can buy. The vegetarian breakfast creation was brilliant. Jock's breakfast meals were the best food we had during our trip away and much better than the local restaurant we went to in Nairn.

We walked out along the beach for both nights of our stay as it's just a stones throw away with lovely clean sand and amazing views out to sea. We also went out to the southside of Loch Ness following Jock's advice on good routes to take and sites to see and then up to Findhorn beach and dolphin spotting at Kessock and Spey Bay.

Room Tip: We were in a garden view room which was really quiet and had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights, everything was perfect: the room was great, clean and warm, the breakfasts were amazing, Jock's special vegetarian breakfast was delightful.
The owners are welcoming and friendly, we've felt home since the very first moment.

Everyone should stay here if in Nairn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank p_howl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Brighton House is an absolutely superb B&B which has now ruined us from ever being happy at another B&B!! Jock & Joyce are remarkable hosts and made us feel incredibly welcome and at home. The location cannot be beat, with lovely views across the Moray Firth. The family room was large and comfortable and even came with games that our boys had a great time playing with. There was nothing that we could have asked for that was not readily given - even a trip to the laundromat & delivered back to our room the same day! Thank you Jock & Joyce for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momxtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here for one night recently and were very impressed. I had been visiting various locations on business the week prior to this weekend break and this was by far the best breakfast (Jock's veggie breakfast) I had. Gorgeous sea view and a short walk down to the harbour where we were lucky enough to watch a couple of dolphins just offshore. Bed was really comfy, room was nice and clean and proprietors couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. We would definitely go back again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeeG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This B&B will surprise you! We stayed in the family room, with my in-laws in the main bedroom and my partner and I in the twin bed adjoining room. Both the rooms and the large shared bathroom were tastefully decorated and spotless. No Ikea here. Normal tea/coffee making facilities, ironing board & hair drier were available. The hair dryer even had an electrical tested certificate on it. The breakfast was a choice of excellent locally sourced produce, with the owner took great pride in preparing. The smoked haddock poached in milk and butter with a poached egg was fantastic. Also available were an excellent full Scottish breakfast (which wasn't fried and swimming in fat) with local black pudding, porridge and cereals, etc. The location is fantastic, being 2 mins from the sandy beaches of the Moray Firth, with amazing sunsets over the Black Isle. Outside gazebos were available in the garden, which are useful if you're a smoker. A well presented living room for the guests is available with leather chairs, etc. With all this said, my opinion of a great B&B is the atmosphere in which it makes you feel. Well Brighton house makes you feel like a second home, and if you feel like an early smoke in your pyjamas or a late night chill out in the garden then that's just fine. Jock and Joyce are always there for their guests, without being intrusive, giving advise on places to see, info on Scotland and any thing else you wish help with. Jock even sourced a black pudding from the local butcher for us to take home and has sent a parcel of clothes we left in a bedside drawer. One night in the garden we spotted Jock in the dinning room rearranging the cereal boxes and glasses until they were just right. That about sums up the attention to detail the owners go to. We plan to return, not because Brighton House is in the location we wish to travel, but because the atmosphere and location were so lovely we can chill out there. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are lovely when you open your curtains in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scareybailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This B&B is better than most hotels in Nairn! The location is excellent with amazing views of the firth. The owners are very attentive but not intrusive and the refurbishment of this character building has been to a very high standard.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisleeding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.5 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
921 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cawdor House
Cawdor House
#1 of 37 in Nairn
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hay Lodge
Hay Lodge
#6 of 37 in Nairn
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wetherby House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#15 of 37 in Nairn
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brighton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brighton House

Address: 7 Grant Street, Nairn, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range: £65 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Brighton House Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing