We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liamphil”
Review of The Havelock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Havelock
Ranked #15 of 38 Nairn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Liamphil”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Spent two nights here in a large double room with large en site. Very comfortable and clean, although the noisy fan was a little off putting. Had great food both for breakfast and dinner. Excellent steak and exceptional value. The hotel is just a few minutes from a lovely beach and park area which are both very well kept.Definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    19
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
17
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Spent one night in a twin room at Havelock. Huge room with 2 double beds, large flat screen tv and very clean bathroom with a bath. Great value, very friendly owner and fantastic fully cooked breakfast. Easy 2 minute walk to the beach. Lots of friendly locals in the bar.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JojoP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We spent one night here in order to meet friends visiting the area. Although we had booked a specific room, when we arrived we were given a choice of two rooms and opted for the bigger one, without the sea view. Food was very good - both the evening meal in the bar, and breakfast. Although it was a Saturday night and later on the bar was busy and the music quite loud, our room was very quiet and we got an excellent night's sleep. The accommodation was fairly basic but it was clean, warm and comfortable, which was all we required. We would definitely consider staying here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisAberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

stayed for two nights,friendly staff ,clean rooms and nothing too much trouble.i am a foodie and ex hotel manager. The fillet steak was possibly the finest i have ever had,accompanied by all the usual trimmings and worth every penny of what appeared at outset to be a pricey pub meal.

The owner was always there and you were never left wanting for anything.

The rooms (we had two) were clean well presented and way above the standard usually expected at this tarriff.could do with net curtains.

Ignore the acidic comments you read about this place,there is a hidden agenda somewhere,this will be proven during your very pleasant stay.

Cant wait to go back ,you will feel the same.Enjoy

Room Tip: rm 1 and 3 .rm 1 for the warmth and view,rm 3 is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

Rooms are great, comfy beds, very clean, good prices too,.and with the family bar downstairs that serves great food its ideal for a weekends stay, close to the beach aswell as the main street in nairn, good atmosphere in the bar in the evenings aswell, the staff are very quick with helping whenever they can with whatever they can, see also my seperate review for the restaurant and bar, where i spent most of my weekend, id stay again and you should too!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinWivDaAbarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Fantastic stay here clean tidy rooms great value for money quiz night on a Tuesday very well organised and good prizes. Would highly recommend. Good location very close to the beach and local amenities.We are looking forward to our next trip to Nairn and seeing all the friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blair7695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

When we arrived at the Havelock we were welcomed by the bar staff and told to help ourselves to a table wherever we wished. After ordering our drinks we noticed the days specials and decided on the 18oz T-bone steaks. I have to admit the Steaks were cooked to perfection. Great value for money and the service was fantastic. Will definitely be back again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltyadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.0 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
399 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#8 of 9 in Nairn
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Havelock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havelock

Property: The Havelock
Address: Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Havelock is a small pub hotel located close to the beach in the popular seaside town of Nairn. Owned by Nairn locals, Gordon and Morag Holding, it has a welcoming, informal atmosphere. The Havelock serves good quality traditional pub bistro style food. It has 5 en suite bedrooms, most with baths and some with sea views. Under new ownership since August 2015, the hotel has been entirely refurbished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Havelock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havelock Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing