We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of North End, Nairn

North End, Nairn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
North End, Nairn
Ranked #24 of 38 Nairn B&B and Inns
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Stayed in the self catering cottage which was extremely clean and well equipped. Yes the spiral staircase in the room is very different, but this is clearly shown on the website. To save possible 'head banging' we just tied something on the staircase, which did the trick for my 6ft 3in husband. Should imagine the cottage to be very cosy in the winter months, All in all very pleasant stay. Sorry about the toilet seat!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spoons1371591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northend18, Owner at North End, Nairn, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us.... and yes the new toilet seat fitted fine thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

Stayed in the self catering, self contained cottage for 5 nights. I am originally from the area and the purpose of the trip was to spend time with family.
The accommodation is of a very high standard, clean and well equipped. Couldn't fault anything, all mod cons and a very central location within a five minute walk of local shops and a ten minute walk of the beach.
All in all a very enjoyable break and we would definitely book again. Other comments about unusual layout and proximity to the road are true but in respect of the layout, we had no problems and found the cottage to be unique. Perhaps not as suitable for families with very young children but for a family with tween/teens it is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mojopep76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northend18, Owner at North End, Nairn, responded to this review, 12 August 2010
Thanks for taking time to write a review for us, we much appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

We stayed for one night in the B&B for a wedding in Nairn. We were met with a warm and friendly welcome,and shown our room which is one of three, ours having the en-suite.The room was of a good size which was freshly and tastefully decorated, the en-suite contained toilet ,basin and power shower (easy to use and very good with plenty of hot water). The bed i think was at least a King size (as my feet weren't hanging off the end for a change) and a great sleep was had in it. Breakfast was of a high standard and was ample. The standard of cleanliness throughout the B&B was excellent. Overall this is a B&B i would recommend to friends and would use again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank directroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northend18, Owner at North End, Nairn, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for North End We're glad you enjoyed your visit and perhaps we'll see you again next time you're in Nairn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

Stayed for three nights on the weekend commencing 25th Sep 2009 with two adults and 3 children (4,6,infant).
The property is furnished and kitted out to a high standard and owners were friendly and approachable.
The layout with the central spiral staircase is somewhat quirky but didn't create any issues. I did bang my head once on the roof walking to the upstairs ensuite, but could only see it being a major issue if you were over 6 foot and forgetful. I'd expect most families would use the top floor room for children so height wouldn't be an issue anyway.
Didn't have a problem with traffic noise or the upstairs rooms being too light.
It's about a five minute walk to the town centre, 15 minutes to the beaches and supermarket only a couple of minutes away.

Decided to use this property rather than the caravan park down beside the beach as it gave us more room and even worked out slightly cheaper.

Visited the Vue Cinema in Inverness, Brodie Castle in Forres, the new church in Smithston, Culloden Moor and Nairn's east beach. Couldn't use Inverness Leisure pool due to their child/adult ratio policy so instead stopped at Perth Leisure pool on way home.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smithstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northend18, Owner at North End, Nairn, responded to this review, 22 October 2009
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for the cottage. We're glad you enjoyed your weekend in Nairn and found plenty to keep the family occupied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

We stayed for 3 nights. We were visiting Nairn as I had a meeting with a wonderful holistiic doctor there, so on this occasion my husband came with me and we decided to stay in a cottage and see some of the beautiful highlands with a hire car.

The cottage was very clean and there are shops/supermarkets nearby and also a few really good restaurants in the town and by the sea. It is an excellent location for exploring.

Unfortuantely, the cottage itself is a converted out building and hasn't been planned overly well. The spiral straircase is right in the middle of the lounge/dining room and you need to walk past carefully to avoid banging your head! It would be better if the staircase were straight and to the side of the room. The upstairs space is very odd indeed. The room you enter at the top of the stairs, contains 2 single beds and have velux windows. The blinds on the windows are white and so do not block any light out at all - as I had restless nights after treatment, my husband had to sleep in the storage room behind the beds is an attempt to shut out the bright light! Not exactly what you expect to do when paying £60-£80 a night! There is a further small bathroom upstairs but it is at the opposite end of the room to the beds and you have to walk at an angle and duck down to avoid banging your head on the slanted low celing to get in there! The road to the back of the cottage is a main road which is very busy and so earplugs are essential.

It is comfortable if you are aware of the layout and can avoid the many opportunities of banging your head, but don't forget your earplugs! Aside from these points, it is ok but I would look to stay elsewhere if I have to visit Nairn again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexismSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northend18, Owner at North End, Nairn, responded to this review, 22 September 2009
Thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay. We are sorry that you did not like the cottage and wish that you had told us during your stay. If you had informed us, either on arriving or the following morning, then we could have helped find alternative accommodation more suited to your needs. However, the feedback we received from your husband on arriving and being shown round said that he found the property to be very nice.

We have reviewed your remarks on the layout of the cottage and have made some comments below:

The spiral straircase is right in the middle of the lounge/dining room and you need to walk past carefully to avoid banging your head! It would be better if the staircase were straight and to the side of the room.
This was an area we spent considerable time on with the architect. The staircase is in the position it is in because it was the only suitable place unless dormer windows were added to the first floor. If you actually think, for a moment, about your suggestion then you will realise that it’s not feasible because of the height of the first floor ceiling at the sides of the room; you would not have sufficient head clearance to enter the room at that point. There is ample room (about two doorway widths) to pass between the bottom of the staircase and the wall so there should not have been an issue. When you convert a building you are somewhat constrained by the restrictions the building imposes. Most guests mention that they like the oddities of the layout, we are sorry that you did not.

The upstairs space is very odd indeed. The room you enter at the top of the stairs, contains 2 single beds and have velux windows.
If a room is odd because it contains two single beds and velux windows then so be it! The pictures of the cottage on the web site clearly show this to be the case so we wonder why you booked if you found it to be so odd.

The blinds on the windows are white and so do not block any light out at all - as I had restless nights after treatment, my husband had to sleep in the storage room behind the beds is an attempt to shut out the bright light! Not exactly what you expect to do when paying £60-£80 a night!
We do prefer that guests sleep on the beds provided but if they prefer to sleep in a cupboard then that is there choice. Guests from further South are often surprised at the lightness of our evenings. However, at the time of your stay it would certainly have been dark from around 9:00pm until 6:00am so I am unsure where the bright light came from during those hours. If you have a requirement for bedrooms with total blackout then it may be better to enquire before making a booking.

There is a further small bathroom upstairs but it is at the opposite end of the room to the beds and you have to walk at an angle and duck down to avoid banging your head on the slanted low celing to get in there!
We were not aware of any criteria as to an en-suite bathroom having to be within a set distance or indeed at the same end as the beds. Many old properties have low ceilings, perhaps a modern property would be more suited to your needs.

The road to the back of the cottage is a main road which is very busy and so earplugs are essential.

It is comfortable if you are aware of the layout and can avoid the many opportunities of banging your head, but don't forget your earplugs! Aside from these points, it is ok but I would look to stay elsewhere if I have to visit Nairn again.

We indicate on the web site that the cottage is in the town and in a town there are roads. The cottage does back onto a road, however, there is no access to the road from the cottage as it has been blocked off and all access is via the garden. We would certainly dispute that there is a high level of noise inside the cottage.

We were surprised to read your review on Trip Advisor as you had not written anything in our Comments book left for the very purpose of guests being able to pass on their thoughts, both positive and negative, about the accommodation. If you had taken the time to read through the book then you would have found that nobody else had ever complained about excessive noise or bright lights. However, now you have brought these points to our attention, we will try to remember to ask future guests for their feedback on those issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port alberni, BC CANADA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

Rented the self-catering cottage - we found self-catering to be the best way to go in Europe, as eating out can be very pricey....groceries, however, are not! This cottage is close to all amenities (we walked everywhere) - bus station, train station, beach, parks, grocery stores and other shopping, and restaurants too, if we wanted to treat ourselves. Two bathrooms - great tub for a soak after long walks. The hosts were very helpful and accommodating - I so hope to return here again!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fpc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northend18, Owner at North End, Nairn, responded to this review, 22 September 2009
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. I'm sorry it has take so long to respond but we did not have the email alerts set up to notify us that a review had been posted so I found it by accident one day.

We are pleased that you had a good time, and hope to perhaps see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.4 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cawdor House
Cawdor House
#2 of 38 in Nairn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nairn Classics B & B
Nairn Classics B & B
#13 of 38 in Nairn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North End, Nairn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North End, Nairn

Property: North End, Nairn
Address: 18 Waverley Road, Nairn IV12 4RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North End, Nairn is a Victorian Villa dating from 1895. The four star b&b has been immaculately and sympathetically restored, with contemporary decoration and furnishings enhancing the many original features. The self catering holiday cottage "the cottage" is in a converted stone outbuilding behind the main house. Private parking for both properties is available in the grounds. North End B&B and holiday cottage are situated in the Victorian seaside town of Nairn that lies approximately eighteen miles east of the "capital of the highlands" Inverness. North End, Nairn is within easy walking distance of Nairn town centre and beach and is within 15 to 25 minutes driving distance of the City of Inverness and Inverness Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your North End, Nairn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North End, Nairn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing