We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accommodation bright and clean”
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #19 of 37 Nairn B&B and Inns
cupar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Accommodation bright and clean”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Rooms were a good size and beds comfy. Good value for money. I had expected worse having read the other reviews on trip advisor. The drawbacks were the cooked breakfasts which were more or less inedible - over cooked eggs, undercooked bacon and sausages which didn't taste anything like a sausage. Certainly would not recommend eating here.
Hosts friendly though could do without the smoking at the front door - unprofessional. So to sum up - if you want a good value room which is clean and comfortable this is the one for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodelmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    13
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
11
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Attracted by the smart exterior compared to the limited choice of restaurants in the area my partner and I entered the front door through a group of three smoking staff members (they did smile and move apart for us but there was clearly a back garden area where it would have been more appropriate for them to be if they were not on duty). The on-duty staff were friendly. The interior decor was dated but initially I felt very open minded towards this. However our fish main courses were both overcooked and considering a large part of the menu was devoted to fish I expected the chef to be able to cook it properly. The waitress forgot to bring a second glass of wine, despite there only being three tables in the restaurant the whole time we were there. This place has potential but the staff, service and quality of the cooking let it down. The pricing was ridiculous for the food quality - way overpriced!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wiiheeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

My wife and I did not stay at The Aurora, but as the Italian Restaurant is given equal billing on all of their advertising, I thought it important to enter a record of our disapointment following our visit. We were in Nairne on our wedding anniversary and wanted a nice meal to celebrate the occasion. On entering the hotel it was plain to see that the furnishings etc had seen better days and the restuarant in particular was very shabby. It felt a little like stepping back twenty five years; feeling very dated in its decor. We were greeted warmly enough and shown to our table and the service it has to be said was quite good, if a litttle slow at times ( there was a party in the adjoining room and most of the attention seemed to be centered on that) during the evening. The menu (the plastic covered type and a bit 'sticky') was also disapponting in its selection and lacked imagination. In particular it seemed to rely on the fact that if listed in Italian, then the dish was therefore Italian. There was lots of choice, but all the choices were quite similar in style. We however chose our meal and the results, when they arrived, were as unimaginitivley presented as they were described on the menu. For instance, the Saute potatoes were just round chips and the side salad was unsuited to the (adequately cooked) salmon dish I'd ordered, which would have been better accompanied by a green vegetable. My wife's risotto, whilst quite nice, was just presented in a bowl with no attempt at embellishment at all and looked quite unappetising. The meals wer not cheap and to cap it all the sweet menu was again a plastic covered effort with a small and not very varied choice. It was all lemon, or all chocolate and the one item that we did rather fancy was 'off'. All in all then a very lack lustre evening, spoiled by what I would call 'lazy' restauranting. They could do so much better and we will not be returning!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDI30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We had real trouble finding accommodation for our friends wedding but a friend managed to find this place. At first we were a bit dubious as no deposit was asked for and rooms were at a premium the weekend we went.

However, the place was super. We had asked for the triple room but the last guests didn't leave so we got a twin and a single which were spotless and very comfortable.

We also lucked out as the wedding we were going to was at the Newton which is easy walking distance as are all the restaurants, shops and bars.

We didn't eat in the italian restaurant but it was very busy whilst other places in town were empty.

The hotel owners/staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming.

But the best bit was the breakfast. Good selection of cereals and excellent coffee to start with then a full on cooked breakfast that was delicious.

Also it was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller200926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.3 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#8 of 9 in Nairn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wetherby House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Cawdor House
Cawdor House
#1 of 37 in Nairn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Property: Aurora Hotel
Address: 2 Academy Street, Nairn IV12 4RJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Aurora Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing