We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of Sandown House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandown House B&B
Ranked #6 of 37 Nairn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Sandown is located about 1.5 miles from the centre of Nairn. You can walk directly to the beach from the property and then into town if you please. The rooms are located in the original house and in a new build. My stay was in the lower room in the new build. The room is very spacious and contains plenty of storage and seating within a comfortable and well designed environment. Colours are subtle and the furnishings are top quality. The room has its own concealed fridge which is stocked with fresh milk and water. Tea coffee and home bakes are supplied also. This ground floor room has both blinds and curtains which makes the room more private if you so wish. Sometimes blinds are reqd if other guests are outside etc. The bathroom is large and has a great bath and walk in shower. Again fittings are of a high spec. Quality scottish toiletries are supplied. Small niggle for me the xpelair comes on with the
light. Liz is a excellent host who wants to ensure you have the best but does not become intrusive. Breakfast is great and all freshly cooked to your choice. The homemade jam is wonderful and Liz even gave me a pot as a leaving gift !!! There is a guest lounge if you want one but the rooms are large so you dont really need it. Would I improve anything - for me the mattress on one of the twins beds was a little too soft. This is a great place to stay and I will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizB73, Owner at Sandown House B&B, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Hi Ruth

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experiences of Sandown House.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us and I know you enjoyed our wonderful countryside. I hope your visit to Callander was successful and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sandown House sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
69
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Sandown House is Liz's House: she's the sun of the place caring so much for guests coming and going. I started realising it when i booked and had to exchange a few emails to arrange an extra bed for my little daughter. She's been very helpful and we quickly found a solution. She is dealing with everything else, from welcome to farewell, always with a nice smile.

We - a family of three - stayed here for two nights and we regret we didn't book a third one: the place is very peaceful, not far from the sea in a residential area close to the village.

We had to change room (booked last minute, moved to a larger one) so we experienced two different spaces of this B&B. The room upstairs in the main house, which is nice, has a confortable bed and a large bathroom then one of the rooms in the courtyard, all brand new, rather stylish with a huge confortable bed.

Breakfast is delicious and Liz is cooking it: i recommend to try here the scottish pudding, unmissable!

The surroundings are full of atmosphere and charme. Nairn is a place to remember, to visit and to enjoy. To stay there Sandown House is quite perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaRome_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizB73, Owner at Sandown House B&B, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Hello Francesca

Apologies for the delay in responding!

Thank you for taking the time to review Sandown House. I am so pleased you had such a positive experinece here and I too wish you could have spent longer, as your little daughter was adorable! I enjoyed meeting you all and hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Scotland and certainly hope you will return to Sandown House in the future.

Regards
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtonhill, Scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed for two nights in a Courtyard room at Sandown House and having booked rooms for ourselves and friends we were hoping Sandown House would live up to our expectations after reading the previous reviews as it's a bit of a responsibility when booking for other people as well.

We could not have asked for a warmer welcome from Liz. Nothing was too much bother with a comprehensive explanation of the service offered and recommendations for places to eat in the evening as well as phoning to book on our behalf. Liz then took us to our rooms to show us the facilities. The personal touch was very much appreciated.

Our room was absolutely fantastic with a kingsize bed that took up a fraction of the floor space. There was plenty of storage for clothes and the furnishings were of the highest standard. The fridge in the cupboard was a real bonus. The ensuite was outstanding with a huge walkin shower and top of the range sanitaryware and shampoo/shower gel. The deep bath with no taps at either end was fantastic. The layout was just beautiful and has given us plenty of ideas for when we come to replacing our bathroom.

We've stayed at Gleneagles Hotel on a few occasions but the room and attention to detail in our Courtyard room was of a higher standard than that offered at Gleneagles.

Breakfast was of an exceptionally high standard, served with quality ingredients. I had porridge followed by full Scottish breakfast both mornings. My wife and one of our friends had the fruit platter with yogurt and both were gushing in their endorsements. The home made soda bread along with toast was a real bonus and absolutely delicious.

We'd have no hesitation in recommending Sandown House to our friends and family it is as good as all of the previous reviews have reported. If there was an option to rate higher than 5 Sandown House would get the highest rating possible..... absolutely fantastic stay, thank you again Liz.

Room Tip: Whatever room you book you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rush2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandownhouse, Owner at Sandown House B&B, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Hi Stuart
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent visit.
It was great to meet you all and we enjoyed hearing all about your dancing!
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here and hope you will return in the future.
Kind regards
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The room was outstanding, and it was the first B&B we stayed at in this trip where the room could get (reasonably) dark, even during the July nights (two very good shades on each window). The bed was great, the room was huge, and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandownhouse, Owner at Sandown House B&B, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Hi Chris

Thank you for your positive review and I am delighted you and Ann enjoyed your stay here at Sandown. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Balmoral Castle and the rest of your time in Scotland with Ann's relatives in Coatbridge.
Regards
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We enjoyed every aspect of our two night stay. Liz and her team are fantastic hosts and nothing is too difficult for them. The room was spacious with the best of appointments and breakfast is delectable. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIzG09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandownhouse, Owner at Sandown House B&B, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Hello Liz

Thankyou for taking the time to review Sandown House and your kind comments.
It was lovely to have you both stay and I just loved your positive outlook regarding our lovely summer weather!!!!
I just wish I'd have taken your advice on Black Caviar,and put a bet on!
Hope you enjoyed yoyur visit to the islands.

Regards
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sandown House for a week during the Curtis Cup competition. We were in the #4 Guest House room with the balcony and lovely view. After traveling around Scotland in different B & B's, we were in heaven when we saw our spacious room, beautiful bathroom and all the little touches that Liz and Andy added. Liz had amenities like our own coffee press and home baked goodies every morning. We slept very soundly in our king bed and loved the "magic mirror" that did not fog up :) Breakfast was scrumptious, we walked to view the competition every day, and Liz and Andy made us feel right at home. You can also walk right along the beach to several restaurants along the water or take a 10-15 minute walk into town. We had opportunity to see many of the different places to stay in town and although many were nice, we would highly recommend the Sandown House.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandownhouse, Owner at Sandown House B&B, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Hi Kurt and Cathi
Thank you for taking the time to review Sandown House.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here and it was lovely to meet you both.
We too, all enjoyed the fantastic atmosphere that surrounded the Curtis Cup
and our convenient location, which allowed us to pop down to the course regularly.
The boys were delighted with their gear you left them - thank you.
Hope to see you back here again!
Kind regards
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
almere
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Liz and her husband make you feel at home! Everythings already said but everything is true. Perfect location, fabulous food made fresh by Liz (my son loved the black pudding!). Clean neat tidy and comfortable rooms. Location is perfect, just a stone thrown away from the beach. Me, my husband and our 10 year old son had the time of our life. Nice to indulge in such service orientated environment. Away from our busy lifes, we came at rest at Sandown. If we come back to beautiful Scotland, we certainly come back to you! Thank you for all your attention!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandownhouse, Owner at Sandown House B&B, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Hi Folks
Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to have you stay here with us and for the lovely weather you brought with you! I only wish you'd have left some for us!
The tirimisu recipe was delicious!
Hope to see you return sometime.
Kind regards
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
856 reviews
0.9 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
545 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
325 reviews
1.3 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandown House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandown House B&B

Property: Sandown House B&B
Address: Sandown House Sandown Farm Lane, Nairn IV12 5NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandown House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star gold guesthouse on the outskirts of Nairn. Close to Inverness Airport, sandy beaches, championship golf courses, whisky distleries. Beautiful walks and wildlife. Dolphins on Moray Firth can be spotted nearby. Close to Clava Cairns, Culloden Battlefield,Cawdor Castle, Brodie Castle, Urqhart Castle and Loch Ness within easy reach. Freshly cooked breakfast using local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sandown House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandown House B&B Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing