We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and delicious”

Bandstand Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$40
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Bandstand Restaurant is a charming restaurant overlooking Nairn beach. The glass fronted restaurant has stunning sea views. Dishes are freshly prepared from locally sourced produce. Lunch and dinner are served daily. Sunday Carvery lunch is very popular and booking is advised. Voted CAMRA Highland Pub of the Year 2014 and Highland Food & Drink Awards finalist 2014. The imaginative menu includes a wide choice of vegetarian and gluten free dishes. The Bandstand is famed for its excellent range of real ales (9 hand pumps) and for its whisky list which includes over 140 single malt whiskies.
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Lemon crusted salmon and sea bass was my choice and my partner ate the battered haddock - both were reasonably priced and delicious. The service was also excellent. We would have returned the second night but were seduced by the bar behind the restaurant with its own eating options, real ales and similarly welcoming and helpful service. Will opt to stay at the hotel on a return visit.

1  Thank keanclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Bandstand Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you so much for visiting the Bandstand Restaurant and for your kind comments. We'd be delighted to welcome you to stay at the hotel - but I'd advise you to book early as we are often fully booked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 358 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a drink in the bar before dinner,bar staff were very informative on selection of ales and spirits available. Staff in the restaurant were informative on the choices available. Dinner was well presented and delicious. All in all a very pleasant experiance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lesley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Bandstand Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Bandstand. Thank you for your lovely remarks. I hope you can return again when you're next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We actually ate in the bar, but we visited the pub several times as the selection of real ales is excellent, if that's your tipple. There is also an excellent whisky 'menu' with a superb description of flavours for each particular brand.
The food was good pub fare & reasonably priced. The venison I had was cooked perfectly & very enjoyable. The proprietors are also on hand keeping a close eye on proceedings. It's a popular venue with good reason & the staff are friendly & helpful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonny-Bramhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Bandstand Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for visiting the Bandstand and for taking the time to let others know about us. I'm glad you enjoyed your time here and hope you can return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel as one of the best places to go for dinner in Nairn. The welcome was very warm, the staff were friendly and helpful and there was a very nice atmosphere in what was a full restaurant. However, the food was distinctly average. The starters of haggis and scallops were fine but the main courses were very poor. The seafood tagliatelle appeared to have been made with a corn flour and water base and was quite tasteless while the £25 steak was dry and poorly accompanied by fried mushrooms and tomatoes. We didn't go for another meal in Nairn so maybe this is the best place to have dinner. However, I would recommend that the chefs take more care in the preparation and presentation of food as this restaurant is not living up to its potential which is a shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OrganisedMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Bandstand Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

I'm so sorry you were disappointed with the dishes you chose. Feedback is always helpful and discussed with our chefs. If a negative trend appears, we remove dishes or modify recipes to improve them. So, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The staff was very kind and attentive, the view- amazing. The food- a seafood celebration, perfect!!! Highly recommended, but better make a reservation- as walk-ins we got one of the last 2 free tables.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Bandstand Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Sea food is a speciality at the Bandstand so I'm glad you enjoyed the wide choice of fish on the menu. We regularly have extra fish dishes - fresh lobster, crab, langoustines, etc. So well worth a visit for fish lovers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bandstand Restaurant also viewed

Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Bandstand Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing