We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Castle and Grounds”
Review of Cawdor Castle

Cawdor Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$64.65*
and up
Royal Dee-side and Malt Whisky Day Tour from Inverness
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A romantic fairy-tale castle that has been the home of the Thanes of Cawdor since 1370, Cawdor has evolved into a charming family mansion and the most outstanding of stately homes. The dramatic medieval tower, dungeon, turrets, battlements and drawbridge, belie an enchanting interior of fine art, tapestries and furniture which create the warm and welcoming feel of a home rather than a museum. The castle, set in stunning grounds with three beautiful and varied gardens, is surrounded by the magnificent Cawdor Big Wood, one of the finest woodland areas in Europe, threaded with colour coded nature trails to explore.Visitors are invited to enjoy a delicious lunch or tea with home-baking from our mouth-watering menu in the courtyard café, then browse the exciting range of gifts and goodies in our three shops and, time permitting, have fun on the putting green and short 9-hole golf course which provides enjoyment for all standards.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking
Sharm, Egypt
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful Castle and Grounds”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Very interesting, lived in castle. Very informative staff. Beautiful gardens. Looked an interesting small golf course which we would have tried if we had time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flashpacker60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    271
    76
    34
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingfield, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful castle with unusual homey touches. Gorgeous gardens.”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Unusual in that it is inhabited & has modern homey touches throughout mixed in with the historical artifacts. Surprising humorous notes mixed in with the info display descriptions. Read them all - they are worth it. Beautifully restored rooms. Extensive grounds & gardens are exquisite! My favorite castle of the many we saw during our trip through Scotland & Ireland.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pipersbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
264 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“It is good to be rich....”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

When we stayed at a b&b at Nairm we decided that before having the whisky trails and distillery tours, to visit nearby our village. The Cawdor castle was on the road so we went inside. The first impression of the castle was the vast green surface, which was taken care by many gardens. After parking our rented car, we went to buy tickets and had to put our bags in special lockers. The tour inside the castle was very nice, although i must admit, i had a song inside my mind ("If i were a Rothshield...") their good life and very old furniture had a wonderful visualization of their way of life..
When we went outside the castle we went to visit their gardens. The view was wonderful, although my daughter had some allergy from one of the plants.
It was definitely worth the time and money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hezkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
356 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Nostalgic Cawdor Castle and Gardens”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

There are many castles in the Scottish Highlands. But most of them are castle ruins. Cawdor castle is different in the sense that it is a working castle where the Dowager Angelika of Cawder still resides part of the year. The castle does not show much of the fortifications that normally surround castles, but the entrance to the castle brings images of hot oils being pored from the top of the castle onto the invading forces. There are three distinct gardens among the castle grounds, all of which have beautiful floras that needs to be seen and admired. The castle has been fictionalized in Shakespear's Thane of Cawdor in Macbeth. A great romantic castle indeed!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“If you only do one thing while visiting Scotland, do this.”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The castle and surrounding gardens are absolutely wonderful The best thing we've done since we arrived in the UK two weeks ago.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank raymagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cawdor Castle also viewed

Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Ardersier, Inverness
 
Culloden Moor, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Cawdor Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing