We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens”
Review of Cawdor Castle

Cawdor Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$64.82*
and up
Royal Dee-side and Malt Whisky Day Tour from Inverness
More Info
US$727.61*
and up
Private Shore Excursion: Invergordon to Culloden, Clava Cairns, Cawdor Castle...
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A romantic fairy-tale castle that has been the home of the Thanes of Cawdor since 1370, Cawdor has evolved into a charming family mansion and the most outstanding of stately homes. The dramatic medieval tower, dungeon, turrets, battlements and drawbridge, belie an enchanting interior of fine art, tapestries and furniture which create the warm and welcoming feel of a home rather than a museum. The castle, set in stunning grounds with three beautiful and varied gardens, is surrounded by the magnificent Cawdor Big Wood, one of the finest woodland areas in Europe, threaded with colour coded nature trails to explore.Visitors are invited to enjoy a delicious lunch or tea with home-baking from our mouth-watering menu in the courtyard café, then browse the exciting range of gifts and goodies in our three shops and, time permitting, have fun on the putting green and short 9-hole golf course which provides enjoyment for all standards.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities
Cincinnati
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I am a garden person, so that is what my 5 stars is based upon. Throughout our five day trip to different parts of Great Britain, these were the most beautiful gardens that we viewed. It was amazing to me that they were still in bloom, since we were there in very cool weather in September. We were on a day trip from a cruise and did not have near enough time to explore all the different areas. I was by myself walking around and saw a wooden door in a stone wall. Of course, I had to open it. It led to the wild garden, a woods with a walking path. It was so inviting but just not enough time. The castle itself is very interesting because it is still an actual home. One views articles of interest that were collected by the family over generations. It does make the experience different than going into a castle that is a museum. The dowager herself was there that day but we didn't get to see her. Cawdor castle is not covered by the Scotland Explorer pass.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank QueenMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    298
    82
    34
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Rose coloured stone of Cawdor”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Despite all expectations we loved Cawdor Castle. We're not really the sort of people who like roaming through ancient houses and after having felt manipulated into taking the tour at Glamis, this one was very special. Loved the rooms especially the cosy looking personal living rooms decorated in bright colours. The jokey and light-hearted comments from the Duke made the castle seem even more real and lived in. We had lunch in the cafe and although the soup was passable, the scone that my husband had was more like a WMD. When we complained, the person behind the counter protested that they were made fresh each morning. It was so dense that my husband had to cut it with a serrated knife. This is not the first or last time that we had dreadful scones in Scotland. I don't know what they do to them. But it does detract from everything else, which was beautifully presented especially the gift shop which was well worth a visit. There is also a wonderful picnic area shaded by large English trees next to a 9-hole golf course.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Viaggio46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Small castle, Very Cluttered, Wonderful Gardens”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This castle looked nice from the front but inside,passageways were tight and rooms very cluttered with items. People with some immobility would struggle with the tight curving stairwells.
The clutter really hampered the presentation and rooms were quite dim and really did not show splendour. The gift shop was quite expensive.
The gardens were very nice however the maze garden was being trimmed so no maze walk, however I discovered a wonderful garden in the next segment an djust had to tell others in the group to go and look at it. There are gardens on both sides of the front of the castle.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank greatscott24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Castle and grounds”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was one of the many castles visited during our trip. The gardens are fantastic and worth the price of admission. The interior of the castle was filled with so many pictures and bric a brac that it was a bit overwhelming. The staff in at the gate were welcoming and informative. They went out of their way to answer our questions. The staff inside were having a bit of a problem and seemed to be arguing. The drawbridge and moat are great and the exterior of the castle looks like a fairy tale. It is worth your time to vist.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EHFSheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Late duke left a legacy of wry and witty comments”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were impressed with the scope of the rooms you could visit in this castle. The Dowager Duchess of Cawdor still lives here and there are many paintings and photographs here that depict her beauty. What really made this visit special for us was reading the commentary in each room that had been written by the late duke. Whether it was telling us what furniture he disliked or poking fun at his ancestors, we looked forward to what the next note would reveal. For instance, one note said that the front door was designed to discourage tourists, since there was a trap door to the dungeon under the entryway. Another said to duck your head upon entering the room unless you were a Papuan pygmy. These were great fun. The garden was very impressive with manicured bushes and colorful flower displays.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darlene51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cawdor Castle also viewed

Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Ardersier, Inverness
 
Culloden Moor, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Cawdor Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing