We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waited a while !!”
Review of The Classroom

The Classroom
Ranked #1 of 48 Restaurants in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Waited a while !!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Visited during the week between lunch and dinner times. Only 1 other table with a wedding party also in the rest. Overall it was fine, we were just disappointed at waiting over 30mins for dessert. We had to ask what was happening to the order. To be fair to the rest we did receive the puds on the house but with only 2 tables in, I wouldn't like to see them in a busy period.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluebells76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MemberWillielean, Manager at The Classroom, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Our young Commis was on the pastry section that day while the rest of us were dealing with the wedding party. he was about to send your puddings when the chef checked them and decided they weren't good enough. They were redone and sent out as quickly as possible, free of charge as you point out. We tried our best to resolve the situation to your satisfaction and you seemed fine about it when asked. Other than beat the young lad with the handle of a brush, there's not a lot else we could do to make it up to you.
Thanks for visiting the Classroom and taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    269
    60
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The food was excellent! Our group had a variety of entrees and all were wonderful. The service was a bit slow and the restaurant is wide open so it was a bit loud.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MeGolf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MemberWillielean, Manager at The Classroom, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for visiting the Classroom and taking the time to review us. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to sunny Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nairn
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Upmarket but Informal Cafe Bar- Restaurant”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Popular with locals from young trendies to Ladies who Lunch. Emphasis on locally sourced fresh food.

Bar drinkers equally welcome, no pressure to buy food.

Outside tables in summer, no dedicated parking but usually plenty of on-street parking.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank grahamnairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MemberWillielean, Manager at The Classroom, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for visiting the Classroom and taking the time to review us. It's always good to get feedback from local people like yourself. Your review pretty much says what we're about and goes someway towards helping to keep us popular in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
144 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I had a lunch and dinner here during my stay in Nairn.
Both times the food was good.
They offer healthier food than pub food, so
when you are tired of pub food, this is a good place to come.
I had a nice salad for lunch and duck with vegetables and potatoes that were not fried for dinner.
It is a relaxed casual atmosphere with a youngish but competent staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swelgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MemberWillielean, Manager at The Classroom, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for visiting the Classroom and taking the time to review us. We do try and lighten the menu and dishes in the summer and your review, along with other feedback, tells us this is what our customers want. So we're delighted we've got it right again. Come back in the winter to experience a different, but still exciting, style of cooking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loverlee food n drunk”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Dined here recently lovely restaurant and good food and atmosphere. Plenty of choice of drinks too.

About 10 minute walk from train and bus station and easy to find at the top of the main street.

Worth a try for lunch or dinner. 10/10!

Helpful?
1 Thank Buchally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MemberWillielean, Manager at The Classroom, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Loverlee food n drunk indeed! I trust you enjoyed our famous cocktail menu, as well as the food? What a great review, thanks very much for posting it and for taking the time to visit the Classroom. We look forward to your return in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Classroom also viewed

Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Classroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing