We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY STAY”
Review of Hay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hay Lodge
Ranked #7 of 37 Nairn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
“LOVELY STAY”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had a lovely stay at Hay Lodge and Marion and Terry were very friendly and helpful. Had a couple of meals across the road at the Havelock Pub and even managed to come last in the pub quiz!
The double room was nicely decorated, as was the whole house, and we enjoyed our couple of days exploring Nairn. The breakfast choice was good and set us up for the day. We would recommend anyone who wants a central location near the beach to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theona2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    16
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
58
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My Partner and two young children stayed for 3 nights. We were in a beautiful room and Marion was very accomodating and made us feel very very welcome. The Breakfast was lovely. The bathroom was large and we didn't have any problems sharing. It was really clean and tidy. Marion and Terry were really friendly and always asked about our day. Thank you, would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 1st wedding anniversary on the 1st July 2013. We stayed in the double room which is huge, lovely fireplace and is beautifully decorated, as is the whole house. It was not a problem having to share such a wonderful bathroom which was also huge and had a large shower and a lovely fireplace, yes in the bathroom! The breakfast was amazing, lots of choice and as much tea, coffee and toast that you wanted. The hostess Marion was lovely, nothing ever seemed too much trouble. Thank you for sharing your beautiful house with us, we hope to visit again. Gary and Marieann McNamee

Room Tip: The web says it is a standard double room, it is anything but! It is a huge room with a king size be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMcN1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We were so glad that you decided to stay with us on your 1st wedding anniversary and that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope that you will spend many more anniversaries with us. Best wishes to you both Marion & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed at Hay Lodge in Nairn for four nights. What an excellent find! We had the large double room with king sized bed and our daughters shared the twin. Our room was light, bright and even had a sofa.

One of the best parts of the stay were the fantastic breakfasts that set you up for the day. You had a very comprehensive choice of either continental (including croissants!) or a full English with cereal and fresh fruit to start! The table was positively heaving with all the lovely selection to chose from. Maureen and her husband were excellent hosts, not hovering over us too much but at the same time ensuring we had sufficient of everything as and when we needed topping up with tea or toast.

There was plenty of hot water too for scorching showers in the large shower and they also kindly lent us umbrellas to cope with the rain. Hair dryer and iron were also on hand when asked.

Location was good for both the High Street, beach or bus station. Would definitely stay here again if we return.

All in all a great stay and made to feel very welcome - which sadly was not the case for some of our other family members who stayed elsewhere in Nairn so choose carefully as not all B&B's are so good but can definitely recommend this one!

Room Tip: The double room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyKiwi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hay Lodge and also what Nairn can offer, i.e. beach, restaurants, shops, sports club, museum. We hope that you will return to Nairn again and we look forward to seeing you all.

Best wishes
Marion & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Marion and Terry made us feel so welcome, we stayed in the self catering and couldn't fault it, it was spotless clean everything you needed,and more.
We arranged for breakfast with marion in the b and b next door, and it was perfect.
Thankyou for having us really enjoyed our stay.will be back and will recommend x

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am missing our chats in the morning at breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes Marion & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Marion and Terry gave us a great welcome. Lovely bedroom with adjoining bathroom. All spotlessly clean. They told us where we would get a great meal right across the road from Hay Lodge in the local pub Havelock House. Next morning Marion served us a delicious breakfast which set us up for the day. We'd love to return next time we visit Nairn! I would highly recommend Hay Lodge

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay at Hay Lodge and welcome you back the next time you visit Nairn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Excellent place to stay. We had a twin room which was very comfortable. Very nice people, excellent breakfast. Exactly what you expect from a good B&B. We chose this place as it is close to the Nairn golf course we played that day. Perfect location, easy to find.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamber40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you had a comfortable stay. If you decide to come and play golf again in Nairn we hope that you will come and stay with us at Hay Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.5 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cawdor House
Cawdor House
#1 of 37 in Nairn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hay Lodge

Property: Hay Lodge
Address: 8 Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hay Lodge Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing