We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal at basil”
Review of Basil Harbour Cafe

Basil Harbour Cafe
Ranked #5 of 49 Restaurants in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meal at basil”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Had a lovely lunch today on a trip from Inverness . The food was excellent and the customer service 1st class would highly recommend it. If I'm back in Nairn I will b going again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    74
    12
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Went to Basil's last night (Saturday) as it had been recommended to us. The food was great. As we were there on a Saturday night, we had food from the tapas menu. Couldn't fault any of it. We ordered 9 of the tapas dishes, all of which were fantastic. Would definately go again. Was a nice place to just sit and chat and as it was a nice night, people were sitting outside having food. Couldn't believe how cheap our bill was which is always a winner!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice wee cafe”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We visit once a month. Always goid food and cakes.

Would recommend the black pudding on bread. Very tasty.

Missus says coffee is also excellent

Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The Pilgrimage”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our regular annual outing to Basils took place over the last couple of weekends. We lunched this Saturday where I enjoyed their mackerel fish cakes and my wife had the omelette. We returned with grandkids in tow on Sunday morning for breakfast and I enjoyed a lorne and bacon roll. Everyone had the breakfast. Nice staff, great coffee and wonderful food. I regularly check out this little jewel.....still not disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a great wee place”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Basil do tapas on friday and saturday nights......its a great night and food is fabulous!!!

I visit regularly for lunch, coffee and the odd ice cream too and am never disapointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RMR1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basil Harbour Cafe also viewed

Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Basil Harbour Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing