We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chef”
Review of Windsor Hotel Restaurant - CLOSED

Windsor Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Chef”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Bril!!!!!!......excellent value and staff amazing and can't do enough also 5 stars to the chef...Well done....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harroett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    1
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

It is good value for the price, the staff are friendly and very pleasant, lovely restraunt, and the grounds out side are beutiful

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Came here for my engagement party. What a dump.”
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

So, yet again we have travelled an hour from the house to be disappointed by an old run down, understaffed hotel with a posh name that has been let down by under trained staff and a bad atmosphere.

Peed me off list.

1. Reception - No one was on reception to Coordanate people coming in the door,

2. Food was warm, not hot. Yorkshire puddings were rock hard. Meat was dry.

3. Staff are local but what ever School they went to should be closed for poor quality of basic brain training.

4. Toilets - dated and need replaced. I think someone peed paint tripper into the urinal in the male toilets.

5. Bar- can I just mention at this point, I am Scottish and like the odd dram or two. The bar looks like something you find in a dive of a back street bar in the Bronx. Lack of drink and lack of experience for bar staff.

6. Restaurant - big and boring. Under staffed but clean and simple.

Good side,

1. Nice open fire in the reception.

2. Pre packed sticky toffee pudding was ok.

That's about it.

Hope this helps with your choice of places to go. :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Weepeeinloby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappionted”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We were so disappointed with the poor slow service and quality of the food, mainly fried and greasy.
Also most of the waitresses did not speak much english and did not understand requests for food, even porridge !

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank christine_b_12817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Sub standard food and service!no drinks at table no selection of wine available. The food was just edible except the beef which was like old leather and was no chewable and difficult to cut. On passing the a la cart menu we noted food covered with foil sitting on an off hot plate ,the general feel on the plastic table cloths and bar tables was sticky,ie poor hygeine throughout.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank samking75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Windsor Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing