We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hostess, good location”
Review of Greenlawns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenlawns
Ranked #8 of 38 Nairn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful hostess, good location”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Our two night stay in Greenlawns was delightful. Sheelagh was very helpful and entertaining with all guests regardless of the varied needs and requests. Our ground floor twin room accomodation had a large and well appointed ensuite bathroom and the breakfast was varied and delicious. Excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noelene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st59scs, Owner at Greenlawns, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Sharon, Many thanks for your very kind words about Greenlawns. We do try very hard to be everything to everyone( and not fail too badly!!)...and glad we got it right with you. Will look forward to seeing you both again here in Nairn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
61
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edwardsville, IL
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Once we were finally able to rouse the owner, our stay at Greenlawns was very good. We faced a great deal of confusion at the beginning when nobody answered the door despite us following the directions posted on the wall and ringing doorbells and getting no response. We called the emergency number posted outside the door, but it was smudged so we ended up getting a wrong number. Finally we went back to the car, dug through paperwork and called the number we had written down and instantly we were connected with Sheelagh who had been upstairs all the time. We were shown to our room which was very small, but the bath was huge, so that is where we set our suitcases. Everything was very clean and you can tell a lot of thought has been put into the rooms to make them welcoming and comfortable. Breakfast was in a beautiful, sunny dining area and Sheelagh's homemade marmalade is to die for. Sheelagh was always available during our stay and we enjoyed talking with her immensely. She has tons of tourist information, more than the tourist office itself and gave us a great map of the area with her suggestions of where to eat clearly marked. And, they were great suggestions!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinglefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st59scs, Owner at Greenlawns, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Greetings from Nairn...sorry that our first meeting didn't go too smoothly!! but have checked all bells and they seem to be functioning perfectly....I was so engrossed in my laundry perhaps!!
As for the size of room 8, I am sorry you found it small. In the UK 129 square feet or 11.9 square metres is not considered small in a house that is not purpose-built . As there is a super king size bed or this split into 2 single beds, it does make the actual room feel smaller, but most folks like a large bed or the choice of a twin. I did have another much larger room available, you should have asked and I would have moved you.
I am glad that you enjoyed your time here in Nairn despite the above and glad that I could be of help to you with eating out choices etc. If you are back in Nairn again, it would be great to have you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Spent two nights at this guest house in a quiet residential area of Nairn. The comfortable room had everything you could need, including a DVD player- it has been known to rain in these parts! An excellent breakfast was served in the spacious dining room, and the home made marmalade was a nice touch, There is a beautiful garden and lounge to relax in, but what made it most memorable was the friendliness and good humour of Sheelagh, the proprietor.

Room Tip: We had room 7 on the ground floor, lots of room and storage, and a good sized bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorMeldrew_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st59scs, Owner at Greenlawns, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Nice to hear from you and thanks for the lovely and very kind review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us..and hope to see you again soon. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Was glad to be back in Nairn and Sheelagh made it feel like home from home. Will definately be back at Greenlawns for future visits with my family. The location is great, just minutes from the stunning beach! Thanks so much Sheelagh for a lovely time

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st59scs, Owner at Greenlawns, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review and kind words.
The beach is a magical and special place isn't it.
Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We found Greenlawns from the Tourist Board in Nairn and from the very start, Sheelagh our host was extremely warm, welcoming, professional and informative. In fact, Sheelagh has more tourist guides and leaflets than the Tourist Board (and we're not joking!). We were shown to Room 3 which was opulently furnished, spotlessly clean and very generously sized. The ensuite had a large bath/shower with plenty of toiletries provided. The hospitality tray in our bedroom was overflowing with all manner of goodies. Breakfast next morning was excellent with a wide choice, including all manner of fresh fruit as well as dried fruit, cereals, yogurt, home made preserves and of course, the full Scottish breakfast which was extremely good. We were so impressed with Nairn and Greenlawns that we decided to stay on an extra night if Sheelagh could accommodate us. She could - so we did and ordered her family recipe kedgeree for the next morning's breakfast (yes, that much love and attention is paid to making it). It was absolutely gorgeous and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. Sheelagh is a wonderful host who always has time to provide guests with any amount of information they may need and is a very ebullient character who you feel you have known for a long time! We would definitely recommend this gem of a b&b to friends and family. Keep up the good work and many thanks from us both for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMold55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st59scs, Owner at Greenlawns, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you both for the lovely review you have given us, and I am glad we could accommodate your extra night. I am very glad you enjoyed the kedgeree, it's one of my favourite breakfast dishes to cook and eat!!. Hope we may see you here again in Nairn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Definitely the best B and B we stayed in on our week long tour of Scotland - spotless room with hair dryer, flat screen TV. A very welcoming and helpful owner and an unforgettable breakfast menu. The Kedgeree was the best I ever had.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nw1045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st59scs, Owner at Greenlawns, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
many thanks for the lovely review you have given us here at Greenlawns. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and my cooking and would love to welcome you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Sheelag is just amazing! great host, very friendly and charming. Always the perfect advice and a very good cook! Delicious breakfasts! (try the smoked haddock!!)
The B&B is very cozy and Nairn is just a wonderful spot to visit (and to stay!!)
We will be back! For sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaQuique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st59scs, Owner at Greenlawns, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Many thanks for your very kind and lovely words about Greenlawns and Nairn too. We love our little town and are glad you did too. Hope to see you both back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.1 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
862 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hay Lodge
Hay Lodge
#5 of 38 in Nairn
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cawdor House
Cawdor House
#1 of 38 in Nairn
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenlawns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenlawns

Property: Greenlawns
Address: 13 Seafield Street, Nairn IV12 4HG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian villa with its own gardens and car park, centrally situated in the seaside town of Nairn. Six en-suite rooms which include singles, doubles/twins and a lovely 2 bedroomed family suite. Good home cooked breakfasts made from local ingredients where possible. All diets catered for at breakfast. Nearby attractions include castles, golf courses, gardens, beaches, loch, river and sea fishing, whiskey distilleries and wonderful scenery. The proprietor is a genealogist and may be able to help with those searching their family roots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Greenlawns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenlawns Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing