We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very very special place.....”
Review of Boath House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boath House
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very very special place.....”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My husband and I recently married at Boath House. Our wedding was a small and intimate affair and was one of the best days of our lives. The staff at Boath (particularily Jonny, Charlie, Marian, Sam and Nicky) played a huge part in that, they could not do enough for us. The hotel is so beautifully and sympathetically decorated; great individual bedrooms with fabulous features, with great style and views of the stunning grounds at Boath, seriously gorgeous food - I will never forget that belly of pork! Charlie the chef is a genius - words can't do his talent enough justice.
Both Don and Wendy (the owners) were so wonderfully welcoming and genuinely wanted us to have a wonderful time. Wendy's walled garden is stunning to look at and super for photos.
Boath is a real gem, I don't think we could have had a better place for our wedding.
Thank you so so much to all at Boath.
Fiona & Simon

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizGriff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Front Office Manager at Boath House, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Fiona,

We are all so so thrilled you had such a special day. You, your family and guests were a pleasure to look after!! Its great to see that all the hard work payes off and its certainly worth it to witness such a happy occasion. We cant wait to see you all again!

Very Best Wishes,

Marion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    47
    15
    13
    8
See reviews for
43
214
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Boath House hosted our wedding last weekend and they got it 100% right, everything, every last detail. Nothing was too much bother for Jonny Ross and his excellent staff. Every member of the team seems to radiate a passion for what they do, from the invisbible crew of gardeners that maintain the incredible grownds to the ladies that ensure the rooms are immaculate & spotless, everybody at Boath House seems to know exactly what they have to do to make sure everything runs smoothly.

The "Boath House Effect" immediately settles you into a relaxed frame of mind, the pace lessens and an intoxicating stillness surrounds you. The House is just one large Georgian Beta Blocker that demands you discard the troubles & woes you bring over the threshold as it releases you into a world of beautiful decor and a stunning array of objets d'art that is truly captivating. However it is the kitchen that steals the show, it is incredible to think that this small room (some of the bathrooms in the hotel are bigger!!!) produces some of the finest food known to man, its no wonder they boast a Michelin Star and its easy to see why Charlie Lockley has gained the reputation as man at the top of his game.

Boath House Hotel is a very special place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Front Office Manager at Boath House, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Simon,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind-hearted review. Its great for us to see that the hard work payes off! Its certainly worth it when holding events such as yours; especially when you have been known so well by many of our team.
It was a very special day and we were all honoured for you to choose Boath as your venue for that. We all look foward to welcoming yourself and Fiona back to Boath house in the very near future! We wish you all the best for your future lives together!!

Best Wishes,

Marion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Every thing about this hotel is fabulous , the service , the food , the decor , and the most beautiful gardens .
We attended our friends wedding at the Boath House ( we knew the company would be good )but the attention and service received from the staff takes this wedding to the ranks of one of the best ever .
Thank you

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Front Office Manager at Boath House, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the wedding you were all a pleasure to look after.

We hope to see you all again soon!

Best Regards,

Marion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I have also posted on the restaurant review page but thought I wanted to further share info re the Hotel.
The rooms are very good and all different. We were with a large party with all of us desperate to show the others their rooms. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms spacious with all the amenities you need. The bathrooms are lovely with nice products. Everything is furnised with an eye for quality. The hotel is set in superb grounds with a stream fed lake at the back. The walled garden is a delight with eating apples and plums ripe in August. A walk round the lake and gardens is a pleasant experience with several photo opportunities.
Inside the owners love for art is brought to the fore with several artists work displayed. Each room is very interesting, comfortable with staff helping you settle in with a drink or two. This is a 5 star hotel without the vulgar trappings of a large chain. There are spa treatments available but I was unable to use on this visit. I heard that all was booked so it is advisable to ring and book in advance. You will not be disappointed with any aspect of this fine hotel. Great weekend - many thanks to you all. Jonny B

Room Tip: I liked the room with two free standing baths in it. We stayed at the back of the hotel with has a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Front Office Manager at Boath House, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Jonny,

Thank you for taking the time to post both on the hotel page and the restaurant page. Thank you for complimenting all aspects of the rooms its great to for guests to have seen all the rooms and review on everything! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we really hope you all return in the not so distant future for another visit!!

Very best regards,

Marion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the first two nights of our Scottish honeymoon. We had an absolutely amazing time and we're already trying to come up with an excuse to go back.

We stayed in one of the lake view rooms which had a beautiful four poster bed, lots of space and comfy chairs for sitting and reading and a lovely bathroom.

We were only at Boath House for a short time and as we mostly just wanted to relax and recuperate after the stresses of organising a wedding we mostly stayed in and around the hotel but we did particularly enjoy a trip to Cawdor Castle suggested by the manager Jonny on the first day. Boath House is a perfect place to relax and I had a soothing massage which added to the luxury experience.

Overall the service was absolutely flawless - attentive but also friendly and warm - particular thanks must go to Jonny and Nicky who looked after us very well when we arrived somewhat exhausted on the first day! Our breakfasts and dinners were all delicious and wonderful experiences in their own right. Unfortunately dinner on our second night at Boath House was slightly disturbed by a family with a crying baby but the situation was dealt with very well with the family being quickly moved to a separate dining room which allowed everyone involved to enjoy their dinner.

My husband and I both feel strongly that Boath House is the nicest hotel we've ever been to for all of the reasons described above and more; we will be recommending it to everyone we speak to!

Room Tip: Lake View Room 4 has a beautiful view, the most comfortable bed ever and a gorgeous bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LottieAron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Front Office Manager at Boath House, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about Boath House. Hopefully that excuse to come back comes up soon as you were a pleasure to look after.
We apologise for the disruption recieved on your second night of dining at Boath House however we are glad you felt the situation was dealt with very well; we pride ourselves on customer service and its great to see our guests think this too. We hope it was all enjoyed following the disruption!!
Thank you so much for the reccomendations; I hope you had a safe trip to Edinburgh and enjoyed the fringe!

Best Regards,

Marion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We have just come back from a long weekend here and I'm missing it! The staff were a great blend of friendly and helpful, yet professional and were accommodating with every request we made. Despite the beautiful house and style, it's not a formal hotel, instead a place you can feel at home (with a lot of extra comforts!).

The food is fantastic - the best breakfasts in living memory and the dinner menu was divine. Even our last minute request of a menu substitute of chocolate instead of rice pudding was one of the best we've had. The only thing I would say is that it would be great if there was the option to have a less expensive supper in your room, although it may well be that you could but you just had to ask - we just didn't see it spelled out that you could. I suppose we were in the less normal position of having a toddler with a bedtime and we couldn't just take her to a cheaper restaurant on an alternative night.

The rooms were great - there are the more traditional rooms upstairs but also more modern ones basement conversions that were really gorgeous. The grounds are amazing! They are set back off a main road but sheltered by trees so we didn't notice. If anything it was convenient to get to all the local attractions.

Overall we'd hugely recommend it!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcw05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Front Office Manager at Boath House, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Im glad you felt at home here; its certainly a place we all do too! We are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.
Thank you for reccomending Boath House your family were lovely guests and we hope you return in the very near future!!!

Best Wishes,

Marion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg KZN Natal South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Set in a beautiful garden but very close to a busy highway we were a little disappointed in the location. The room was nice but service wasn't quite up to scratch for this level of accommodation. It seems that the hotel is run by a very young group of inexperienced staff with no senior management.

Dinner was good but with the exception of oysters served with champagne sorbet which were superb it didn't compare with the standards at the Torridon Hotel. We ordered a bottle of wine and got a glass instead at almost half the price of the whole bottle which was annoying and then after settling the account we found that they had charged us an extra 20 pounds for the room despite having sent us written confirmation of the DBB rate for the room we had booked. All in all it left a very bad taste in the mouth! Not one of the places I will visit on our return trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobnob_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
2.8 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
874 reviews
2.8 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
326 reviews
3.0 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
571 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
332 reviews
6.6 mi away
Knockomie Hotel
Knockomie Hotel
#3 of 3 in Forres
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boath House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boath House

Property: Boath House
Address: On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#4 Family Hotel in Nairn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boath House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run and famous for style, quality, gardens and fine cuisine. We are situated on the north east coast of Scotland on the Moray Firth Coast and the Grade A listed Georgian Mansion has been restored lovingly back to it's original splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Boath House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boath Hotel Nairn
Boath House Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing