We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS!”
Review of Boath House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boath House
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Just returned from an amazing two nights at this hotel. The surrounding are truly luxurious - we were in room 3 and the two baths are the ultimate in self-indulgence! Although the weather was extremely inhospitable this was more than compensated for by the whole experience. From the moment we arrived we felt looked after and special and sitting in the lounge in front of a roaring fire was made even better by the wind whistling outside. We both had massages which we thoroughly recommend. The food - wow! I am quite a fussy eater but loved everything - definitely worth all the commendations the chef has received.
We desperately needed a stress busting, pampering experience and that is exactly what we got. The staff were all superb: professional but friendly; always there when you needed them but not intrusive. If I had to make any negative comment - and it is a very minor one - we had been given a bottle of cava to have whilst luxuriating in our baths & were going to ask to get it chilled until we read that it would cost us £10 corkage - much more than it cost and a bit steep when you consider how much the room costs! Still would not hesitate for a second to recommend this hotel and hope that we will be back.

Room Tip: Room 3 for the ultimate romantic night away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L711XXanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    46
    15
    12
    7
See reviews for
42
211
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

My wife and I were looking for somewhere different to go for a wedding anniversary and chanced upon Boath House by accident. We were attracted by the Michelin star and the rooms looked good on the website.
It far exceeded our expectations and was really rather special. We have stayed in lots of excellent country house hotels and eaten in lots of Michelin starred restaurants, but Boath House is different. It is an elegant establishment, with very good quality furnishings and fitments,plus an excellent art collection, but it manages to still feel very homely and comfortable. Our room was very spacious, comfortable and quite funkily fitted, particularly the bathroom.
The dining room is elegant and the food is top quality - the most delicate scallop I have ever eaten, and certainly the best rabbit course I have ever eaten. A very, very good wine list at fantastically reasonable prices.
The service throughout is absolutely charming. We were greeted by the manager, who took our bags down to our room, whilst the owner parked our car. When I asked for a half bottle of Veuve Clicquot to be sent to our room, they had run out but the manager offered me a considerably more expensive bottle for the same price. A very nice touch!
Breakfast was divine - all locally sourced produce and perfectly cooked.
Boath House was impossible to fault and we shall be returning on a regular basis.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

After celebrating our Civil Partnership at Boath House last year, we could think of nowehere better to celebrate our first anniversary.
Jonny, was marvellous as ever and made us feel truly at home.
Charlie provided us with a spectacular menu which we thoroughly enjoyed and made our anniversary truly wonderful.
The breakfast was great - the scrambled eggs are a thing of beauty.
Our only regret was that we couldnt stay any longer.
We're already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: For us Meickle cottage will always be our room of choice, but the rooms in the house are all like so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Boath House Hotel for the last 2 nights of our honeymoon, and we had mixed feelings about or stay here. On arrival, we were greeted by the very polite and friendly Sam, who parked our car and took our bags for us, and offered us tea or coffee, which we appreciated after a long drive. However, we waited for about 20 minutes for someone to come and show us to our room, and eventually had to flag down someone passing in the hall to ask them where it was (who looked more surprised to see us than you'd think they would be, considering we were in a hotel).

We stayed in Lake Room 4, which was beautiful; a very comfortable four poster bed, lovely furnishings and a large free-standing claw-footed bath in a bathroom full of Molton Brown products. When we had phoned to book, the very helpful Nicky had asked if we required feather-free bedding due to allergies without me having to ask (this is very rare), and this had been adhered to. The information book in the room felt a bit more like a list of what the hotel didn't do than what it did (e.g. no turndown service except on request, a high corkage charge if you wanted to drink your own wine anywhere in the hotel but in your room or have it chilled, what you can't wear to dinner etc). After reading it, we felt (for a time) a bit like we were intruders rather than paying guests.

We had dinner and breakfast included as part of our two night stay, and the dining is an experience; make sure you don't have any other plans for the evening, as it takes two to three hours. My husband does not eat meat and he was catered for without demur, although he found a couple of the dishes from the six courses not to his taste. The staff are happy to change and make substitutions to the dinner menu at any time. When my husband had a sore throat, Sam brought him a Beecham's Powder on a silver tray, which was very accommodating and much appreciated. The choices for breakfast are varied and extremely filling. I would echo some other reviewers here and say that I also found the dining room a bit quiet at times; it felt a bit like the quiet in a doctor's waiting room once or twice.

The hotel itself is a lovely building, the rooms are nice and the staff are (mostly) lovely, particularly Sam and Nicky; it was just the small touches that we felt were not quite of the standard we were expecting. The Boath House was the last stop in our honeymoon tour of the Highlands, and the only place out of four in which we did not have a wee note in our room to say congratulations; we were briefly congratulated by Sam when we were having our coffee on arrival, and then it wasn't alluded to again (not that we were expecting fanfares and red carpets, but it would have been nice to have more of an acknowledgement than that). When we left, we noticed on our bill that we had been charged for the coffee we had while fruitlessly waiting for someone to show us to our room; I have never encountered this in an establishment with such high rates as these. Water was not provided on the table with dinner; we would have appreciated that instead of having to order bottles of it. We left feeling somewhat like our stay had been in parts more a money-making exercise for the hotel than a welcome for us.

The Boath House is a wonderful place, but in a hotel with this kind of reputation (and that charges this kind of money), you expect a certain level of service, and it wasn't there at times. Compared to other hotels on the Luxury Scotland website such as Stobo Castle, Turnberry or Cameron House, the small touches that really make a luxurious, restful experience were missing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joyful_traveller1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Front Office Manager at Boath House, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your experience here at Boath House. We are glad that you enjoyed your room and hope that you had a pleasurable honeymoon. I'm sorry to hear that you had to wait a while in the lounge before being shown to your room - when we serve guests tea or coffee on arrival, we usually give them time to settle down after a long journey and dont like them to feel rushed. However, the last thing we would want is for our guests to feel neglected and I'm sorry that you felt this way.

In regards to the noise level in the dining room, we prefer not to play music as it is very subjective and we cant predict everybodys musical taste without displeasing someone.

I hope that overall you had a great honeymoon and it would be our pleasure to welcome you here for your anniversary in a year's time.

Sincerely,

Sam Matheson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We celebrated my dad's 70th birthday at Boath House, 17 friends and family travelled from around the country to have a wonderful experience at Boath House. The cuisine was beyond belief and the service discrete and comfortable without being too formal. Jonny made sure that everybody was well attended to, making for a great day. Thank you Boath house

Room Tip: We have stayed here a few times. All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tajvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

All the previous reviewers of this hotel have said it before me, and they're 100% correct.
Approaching the front door of the hotel on arrival, it was obvious we were in for something very special. Our arrival had been spotted and we were welcomed by a most charming young lady who opened the door for us, relieved us of our luggage and invited us to take a refreshment in the lounge whilst we signed in and perused the menu for dinner that night. Due to a shellfish allergy, we had to request a change and this was effortlessly and speedily arranged.
Dinner was a relaxing, wonderful experience - every course on the extensive set menu revealed evidence of very skilled cooking, amply justifying the Michelin star.
After coffee in the log-fired, comfortable lounge, we retired to our splendid room for a very luxurious night's sleep.
Breakfast was a new, imaginative take on the somewhat tired 'Traditional Scottish' fare - excellent!
Throughout our regrettably short stay, the quality of the service shone out as a beacon. This is the yardstick by which all others should be judged. The young lady with whom we had most dealings was friendly to exactly the correct degree and could not do enough for us. She attended to our every wish from arrival to departure. I understand she's leaving soon to take up a non-hotel post. While wishing her well, I can't help feeling this will be Boath's considerable loss.
There is simply nothing else in this class within a considerable radius. Not cheap, but worth every penny. Go there!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyrshireHolidayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Service, food (too much, particularly the sweet!) and Hotel excellent! If i had to find a fault it was how quiet our dining experience was! You could hear a pin drop! Felt we were in the Library and had to whisper. Maybe some soft background music?

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mowgli60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for posting your review and for your kind words about Charlie's great cooking. We do not play music in our dining room as it is impossible to predict the musical tastes of our diners and we would rather play nothing than something that was deemed unsuitable. Sadly we do get the odd night when each our diners choose to whisper which can result in a very quite dining room indeed. This is something that we try to avoid through light conversation about the food and wine on offer. I could suggest exclusive use of the hotel and an iPod dock. However, this may result in us scoring less than 4/5 for value!

Best regards,


Jonny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
2.8 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
863 reviews
2.8 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
317 reviews
3.0 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
554 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
328 reviews
6.6 mi away
Knockomie Hotel
Knockomie Hotel
#3 of 3 in Forres
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boath House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boath House

Property: Boath House
Address: On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#4 Family Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boath House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run and famous for style, quality, gardens and fine cuisine. We are situated on the north east coast of Scotland on the Moray Firth Coast and the Grade A listed Georgian Mansion has been restored lovingly back to it's original splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Boath House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boath Hotel Nairn
Boath House Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing