We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, charming, lots of personality and a talented chef!”
Review of Boath House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boath House
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Proprietors Wendy and Don and their son could charm the toughest skeptics. One of the warmest welcomes you can receive comes from this lovingly and charmingly maintained country manor with beautiful grounds. It is grand enough to be lovely and small enough that the owners can pay attention to every detail - Don makes the jams himself and both he and Wendy spent time joking with our kids (who loved this place). The rooms are very clean and neat and the plumbing has been modernized but all of the old charm and decorative touches of what one would want in an old Scottish Manor have been retained brilliantly so that the sense of place rings true. This sharply contrasts, for instance, Culloden House, which was dilapidated and lacked any sense of attention to detail in decor or comfort despite being pricier than Boath House.

I suppose you could stay at Boath house without eating breakfast but that would be insane. It is so gratifying when Michelin starred hotels perform but especially when they perform at both dinner and breakfast. Contrast Prestonfield in Edinburgh which did a fine job at dinner (though it isn't nearly as good as Boath house) but fell somewhat short at breakfast. We had two breakfasts for four in each of these starred establishments. Boath house had fresh squeezed juices, a smoothie with a special vanilla infused foam on top (but it really wasn't fussy) and a lovely veggie juice (I loved the beet and cucumber, for instance). Breads are made on premise each morning with special flours and served warm so that the butter melts on contact. And the jam, oh the jam! Duck egg was perfectly poached and accompanied by chanterelles one day and other wild mushrooms another. The best porridge ever and a bowl of fresh berries which were served with a garnish of fresh herbs and a hint of elderflower cordial (do I sound like dr niles crane describing this? You might too...that's how great this place was).
Special dietary restrictions, not a problem. Can't finish your meal? They tactfully notice and express concern. In my case, I couldn't finish because, while the portion sizes were spot on, I was worried that they'd just keep feeding me!
The lovely dog in residence, pip, was a hit with our kids and doesn't seem to bark. Ditto, on both counts for the swans in their pond.
One other sure sign of how happy and comfortable they made the guest...pretty much the whole dining room began chatting with one another at the end of the meal. As a result, my kids got to see a demo of the vintage classic car being driven by some delightful guests from Switzerland. Wendy and don and their very professional staff really had created so warm an atmosphere of contentment for their guests.
Can't wait to go back and surely our favorite of the 4 hotels we've hit in Scotland. Thank you so much Wendy and Don, we feel as though we made new friends.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank EdGrapeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for Boath House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

I had the good fortune to spend a night at Boath House with my other half. The hotel is set back from the main road, along a lovely long driveway which leads to the stunning house. Jonny and his team gave us a fantastic welcome, and offered to park the car for us which was a nice touch. Our room was huge, most of the furniture was antique and our four poster bed was amazingly comfortable and ornate. I particularly enjoyed the vast range of Molton Brown goodies in the bathroom!

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner, which was without a doubt one of the best meals we have ever had. Breakfast was equally gratefully received.

The only regret that I had about our stay was that it was too short. I suppose that means we will need to book another stay soon!

Thank you Boath House for a wonderful trip, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westhill1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review and compliments. High praise indeed next to the other properties you have reviewed! You might be interested to know that our winter offers, which include two and three night breaks, are available from October 8th. See you soon...

Best,


Jonny Ross.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This was a perfect few days in the Highlands Arriving at Boath House is like being welcomed at a friend's country house. No officious paperwork just a warm greeting and everything is taken up to your room. Each room is different but most have vistas of the beautiful grounds. The service is first rate , the staff friendly and responsive, and the food sublime. The degustation menu is fantastic but we indulged only once. Breakfast was a delight - porridge as it should be.

Room Tip: Check out each room on the website, there are only eight of them and you can see the view and the se...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your kind review. We pride ourselves for our service, and the manner in which we offer it. Following the rapid change of season we have experienced, the menus here at Boath are also changing. Juniper smoked grouse with lentils and cashew nuts is a fine example of dishes which our diners are currently enjoying. Receiving this reply almost three months to the day after posting your review is a clear indication that we have had an amazing season here at Boath. Thanks for being part of it.

Best regards,


Jonny Ross.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This is somewhere to indulge! The grounds are stunning as are the rooms and lounges. The staff are brilliant - service was friendly, down to earth with the perfect level of attentiveness.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mexsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review. Keep up the good work!

Best regards,


Jonny Ross.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We loved our stay here and wished it had been longer than two nights. Everything was top-notch, from the accommodations, to the beauty of the grounds, to the staff (Johnny is wonderful!), to the amazingly delicious food prepared by Michelin-starred Chef Charlie Lockley. The location was perfect for our exploration of the Culloden battle field exhibit, Cawdor Castle, and Fort George. After every trip, we sort out the "bests" and Boath House won the top honors for accommodations, staff, and best dinners during our three-week visit to Scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GYac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your review. How much do I owe you?

Best regards,


Jonny Ross.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the first day of our honeymoon and stayed in room 8. This very spacious room has a bathtub in the middle of the room, wetroom with rainwater shower and conservatory (orangerie). The service from start to finish was excellent. The seven course dinner was exceptional, as was the breakfast which was served in the private orangerie. It was pricey but a nice treat for a celebration.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 & 8 are of a newer style and I'd recommend one of those over the other old-fashioned...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear Guests,

Thanks for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the decor of the room and took full advantage of the availability of room service in your private glazed lounge area. We hope that you are enjoying married life. Please keep us in mind for future celebrations. We are developing some of the rooms on the upper floor of the hotel, which might tempt you upstairs should you choose to stay with us again.

Best regards,


Jonny Ross.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed in Meikle cottage for two nights 16 and 17 June - apart from the weather everything else was lovely. Staff really friendly and efficient, food amazing, particularly Sunday night dinner and the breakfasts. Gorgeous gardens complete with swans and cygnets. Sunshine was missing but that gave us an excuse to light the wood burner in the cottage! Perfect for a special treat weekend. Thanks
Fiona T, Edinburgh

Room Tip: Meikle Cottage perfect if you have dog(s) as we did, the dogs were made very welcome too!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Scallops with quinoa and asparagus was one of my favourite dishes back in June. Asparagus season is long gone and the chickweed, which grew on the banks of mickle burn, has recently come to an end too. I have a feeling that tonight's guests staying in the cottage will also have the woodburner on. What a summer!

Best regards,


Jonny Ross.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
2.8 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
897 reviews
3.0 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 35 in Inverness
597 reviews
19.5 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 35 in Inverness
641 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boath House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boath House

Address: On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#4 Family Hotel in Nairn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
Price Range: £280 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boath House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run and famous for style, quality, gardens and fine cuisine. We are situated on the north east coast of Scotland on the Moray Firth Coast and the Grade A listed Georgian Mansion has been restored lovingly back to it's original splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Boath House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boath Hotel Nairn
Boath House Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing