We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals i have ever had!!!”
Review of Boath House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boath House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best meals i have ever had!!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My wife and i had the pleasure of staying at Boath House on our way back to Aberdeen from Skye. From the second you drive in the grand entrance to this old mansion you are blown away. We drove straight to the door and were greeted by a member for the hotel staff who took our bags and took them straight our room whilst i parked the car. The room it's self was modern and well furnished. My only complaint was that the room could have been a bit bigger but apart from that it was beautiful. We went for the dinner, bed and breakfast rate as we had heard nothing but rave reviews about the food. We were blown away by the quality of the food as it was absolutely world class. Our waiter for the evening helped us choose a nice bottle of white wine to complement our food and not only did it do just that but it was possibly one of the nicest bottles of wine we have ever tasted. Out only complaint about the dining area was that there was a loud German family in the next room with young children who were running around and shouting whilst we were having a romantic meal. The next morning we ordered breakfast to be sent to our and we had this in the conservatory which was part of our room and again the food was of a very high standard and was very nice. If you are looking for a secluded luxury hotel then this is the one for you. It's not cheap but you pay for what you get and the food was worth every penny!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vass6283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at Boath House. High praise for ‘world class’ food and wine is always welcome. We were conscious of the noise the family made, which was our reason for sitting them in our private dining room. Unfortunately the only access to this room is via the main dining room. A firm word with the children did help the situation slightly. Parents who had no concern for their fellow diners did not. My sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

Best regards,


Jonny Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    44
    14
    12
    6
See reviews for
41
205
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

This is the place to stay if you are in this area of Scotland, near Inverness. We stayed in Room 3, likely their best room, with a large bedroom and sitting area, a bathroom the size of most Studio apartments in Manhattan, with two, yes two, large bath tubs, side by Side, looking out onto the beautiful landscaped grounds. The bathroom amenities were Molten Brown, with many choices. The restaurant, a Michelin star gem, served meals that were great. Don't miss this place.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MichaelReiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. You may not be aware that the conference you attended here at Boath House was the first of its kind. We were delighted with the feedback we have received from the delegates following their departure. Thanks for the business and for the opportunity to show a group of international executives some real Scottish hospitality. I do recall that you had certain dietary restrictions and eat around a few ingredients. It is worth noting that our Chef can offer alternative dishes or at least take those restrictions into consideration if he is given prior notice.

Best regards,


Jonny Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Proprietors Wendy and Don and their son could charm the toughest skeptics. One of the warmest welcomes you can receive comes from this lovingly and charmingly maintained country manor with beautiful grounds. It is grand enough to be lovely and small enough that the owners can pay attention to every detail - Don makes the jams himself and both he and Wendy spent time joking with our kids (who loved this place). The rooms are very clean and neat and the plumbing has been modernized but all of the old charm and decorative touches of what one would want in an old Scottish Manor have been retained brilliantly so that the sense of place rings true. This sharply contrasts, for instance, Culloden House, which was dilapidated and lacked any sense of attention to detail in decor or comfort despite being pricier than Boath House.

I suppose you could stay at Boath house without eating breakfast but that would be insane. It is so gratifying when Michelin starred hotels perform but especially when they perform at both dinner and breakfast. Contrast Prestonfield in Edinburgh which did a fine job at dinner (though it isn't nearly as good as Boath house) but fell somewhat short at breakfast. We had two breakfasts for four in each of these starred establishments. Boath house had fresh squeezed juices, a smoothie with a special vanilla infused foam on top (but it really wasn't fussy) and a lovely veggie juice (I loved the beet and cucumber, for instance). Breads are made on premise each morning with special flours and served warm so that the butter melts on contact. And the jam, oh the jam! Duck egg was perfectly poached and accompanied by chanterelles one day and other wild mushrooms another. The best porridge ever and a bowl of fresh berries which were served with a garnish of fresh herbs and a hint of elderflower cordial (do I sound like dr niles crane describing this? You might too...that's how great this place was).
Special dietary restrictions, not a problem. Can't finish your meal? They tactfully notice and express concern. In my case, I couldn't finish because, while the portion sizes were spot on, I was worried that they'd just keep feeding me!
The lovely dog in residence, pip, was a hit with our kids and doesn't seem to bark. Ditto, on both counts for the swans in their pond.
One other sure sign of how happy and comfortable they made the guest...pretty much the whole dining room began chatting with one another at the end of the meal. As a result, my kids got to see a demo of the vintage classic car being driven by some delightful guests from Switzerland. Wendy and don and their very professional staff really had created so warm an atmosphere of contentment for their guests.
Can't wait to go back and surely our favorite of the 4 hotels we've hit in Scotland. Thank you so much Wendy and Don, we feel as though we made new friends.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank EdGrapeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I had the good fortune to spend a night at Boath House with my other half. The hotel is set back from the main road, along a lovely long driveway which leads to the stunning house. Jonny and his team gave us a fantastic welcome, and offered to park the car for us which was a nice touch. Our room was huge, most of the furniture was antique and our four poster bed was amazingly comfortable and ornate. I particularly enjoyed the vast range of Molton Brown goodies in the bathroom!

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner, which was without a doubt one of the best meals we have ever had. Breakfast was equally gratefully received.

The only regret that I had about our stay was that it was too short. I suppose that means we will need to book another stay soon!

Thank you Boath House for a wonderful trip, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westhill1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review and compliments. High praise indeed next to the other properties you have reviewed! You might be interested to know that our winter offers, which include two and three night breaks, are available from October 8th. See you soon...

Best,


Jonny Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This was a perfect few days in the Highlands Arriving at Boath House is like being welcomed at a friend's country house. No officious paperwork just a warm greeting and everything is taken up to your room. Each room is different but most have vistas of the beautiful grounds. The service is first rate , the staff friendly and responsive, and the food sublime. The degustation menu is fantastic but we indulged only once. Breakfast was a delight - porridge as it should be.

Room Tip: Check out each room on the website, there are only eight of them and you can see the view and the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your kind review. We pride ourselves for our service, and the manner in which we offer it. Following the rapid change of season we have experienced, the menus here at Boath are also changing. Juniper smoked grouse with lentils and cashew nuts is a fine example of dishes which our diners are currently enjoying. Receiving this reply almost three months to the day after posting your review is a clear indication that we have had an amazing season here at Boath. Thanks for being part of it.

Best regards,


Jonny Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This is somewhere to indulge! The grounds are stunning as are the rooms and lounges. The staff are brilliant - service was friendly, down to earth with the perfect level of attentiveness.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review. Keep up the good work!

Best regards,


Jonny Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elburn, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We loved our stay here and wished it had been longer than two nights. Everything was top-notch, from the accommodations, to the beauty of the grounds, to the staff (Johnny is wonderful!), to the amazingly delicious food prepared by Michelin-starred Chef Charlie Lockley. The location was perfect for our exploration of the Culloden battle field exhibit, Cawdor Castle, and Fort George. After every trip, we sort out the "bests" and Boath House won the top honors for accommodations, staff, and best dinners during our three-week visit to Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GYac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your review. How much do I owe you?

Best regards,


Jonny Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
3.8 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
14.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boath House Hotel

Property: Boath House Hotel
Address: On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#4 Family Hotel in Nairn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boath House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run and famous for style, quality and fine cuisine. We are on situated on the north east coast of Scotland and the Grade A listed Georgian Mansion has been restored lovingly back to it's original splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Boath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boath Hotel Nairn
Boath House Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing