We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Boath House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boath House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Nairn
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We were given a Christmas present of afternoon tea at Boath House and I can think of no better gift to give someone. We went on my husband's birthday at the end of January. We were greeted at the door and escorted into the lounge where a with a lovely open fire. The menu was brought and we chose our sanwich. We were then taken to the dining room. The sandwich was substantial and delicious. Good choice of fillings. This was followed by a warm scone with cream and jam and a delectable pear gateau. The service was excellent. I would have liked a second cup of coffee but this was not offered, but perhaps that was just a bit greedy! Most enjoyable afternoon.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeeNairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Owner at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for your review of afternoon tea at Boath - so pleased you enjoyed the experience and that the Christmas present was put to good use!
We would of course have been delighted to offer you more coffee if you had wanted it - will remember to aks next time!
As you are local, keep an eye out for our afternoon teas served in the garden on several dates during the summer.
We look forward to seeing back at Boath soon.
Kind Regards
Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    44
    14
    11
    6
See reviews for
41
205
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Do you want to stay somewhere that feels like you've moved into Downton Abbey? If so the Boath House Hotel will give you a small glimpse of what it could feel like to live like Lord Grantham.

We stayed between Xmas and New Year for a quick break from the family whilst they looked after our 2 year old boy.

On arrival we drove up the long drive to the front door to be greeted by one of the team. Whilst tea was served to us in front of a roaring fire our bags were take to the room and our car driven to the hotel car park. Only after we'd finished our tea were we asked to sign the visitor book (no silly formal hotel forms & credit card swipes here) and take to our room.

Glorious in size and decor with views over the lake the 4 poster bed was a welcome sight.

Dressed for dinner we arrived for drinks before each group of guests were taken through to the restaurant. The food and wine was superb and served in a relaxed yet formal atmosphere - we loved it!

After a great night's sleep, newspapers & tea in bed we returned to the dining room for breakfast where I opted for the smoked haddock which was a lovely light start to the day and accompanied by unusual twists on normal breakfast fare.

A great stay enhanced by personal attention from the owners and one I would wholeheartedly recommend to the discerning traveller.

If this review was helpful please click the 'helpful' button - thank you.

Room Tip: We loved the lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhilTwyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Owner at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are truly in esteemed company being compared to Downton Abbey, especially as we had a themed exclusive use Downton party this winter.
It just goes to show that you can enjoy all the luxuries of a hotel with a two year old!
Look forward to your return.
Kind Regards
Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Just back from a lovely weekend at the Boath House, truly amazing! Having visited last year for one of their six course tasting menu dinners, we decided to treat ourselves and stay in the house. It can only be described as amazing. We were lucky enough to stay in room 3, the Lake room. This really was luxury of the highest standard, four poster bed, two, free standing roll top baths, beautiful view of the lake, a real great! To then top if off with an incredible Michelin star meal, great! It really does have everything, from lovely main rooms hosting warm log fires, to beautiful art available to buy. What tops it off are the variety of Molton Brown toiletries and the opportunity to have some Aveda spa treatments. You can sit and have lovely warm scones, by the fire as you decide what treat to have. A real treat and well worth the visit!

Room Tip: Pick the lake room! Number 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. One of the main advantages of having two baths in your room is that you can use as much Molton Brown as you like! We hope to welcome you back to Boath soon...

Best,


Jonny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bodø
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Compact mansion of highest standard for all facilities. Very nice atmosphere, attentive service and finest quality food worthy of a Michelin star. Pleasent room with nice, delicate bathroom and quality toiletries (malton brown). In January we experienced the bathroom somewhat on the cold side. Rather consistent and somewhat disturbing noise from the near by main road although you will adjust. Otherwise, nice location in pleasent grounds.

Room Tip: You cant go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, General Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are very fortunate to have Charlie prepare a daily changing menu for our guests. The trees in our grounds are starting to bud, which means that there will soon be a leafy blanket blocking out any noise from the road; a benefit which the month of January does not offer. The recent purchase of the field between our grounds and the road will also see the development of noise reduction through landscaping.

Best,

Jonny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Boath House during mid-January and can only echo compliments from previous reviewers about the surroundings and the food. From the moment we walked in, we felt relaxed and at home. The hotel feels more like a lovely country manor house with its eclectic mix of beautifully put together styles of furniture and ornaments, the roaring open fires in each of the lounges and the elegant dining room with lovely views across the grounds. Jonny and the team were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble, and every request was dealt with efficiently. We stayed in rooms 7 and 8 which were both very comfortable.

Dinner was a wonderful treat, we were shown the dinner menu for that evening when we checked in and asked if it was to our liking. One of our party has a food intolerance and a special menu had been provided for her. The locally sourced ingredients are proudly talked about by the staff and although we did not meet the chef or his assistants, their attention to detail was exemplary.

Breakfast was a lovely start to the day, with again, locally sourced ingredients beautifully prepared and served, and really set us up for a day exploring the area. It started to snow very lightly whilst we were having our breakfast, transforming the grounds into a winter wonderland (we joked that Jonny had arranged that especially for us!)

We will certainly return to Boath House, and if you are considering it for a special time away with impeccable service, comfort and food, just go ahead and book, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soozeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Boath recently and enjoyed our stay. The highlight for us was the tranquility of our stay, the superb service from Sam and Johnny (They sign you in, act as porters and in the evening were knowledgeable about the food they served) and without doubt the food. Room Number 8, the old kitchen was lovely but the wet room was in need of some attention, broken grout between the floor tiles proved to be quite painful!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnstone R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

My wife and I have been going to Boath House for short breaks for several years now and we have never been disappointed. The owners are friendly and informal and make visitors feel like house guests, friends even. The atmosphere is one of relaxed luxury. The rooms are all beautiful and comfortable. The house manager is friendly and professional. His staff are efficient and unpretentious. The food is wonderful, well worthy of the Michelin star, maybe of two? We have stayed in top-rated hotels throughout UK and Europe and, for relaxation and cuisine, this is our favourite. We will return!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spiderman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
3.0 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
13.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boath House Hotel

Property: Boath House Hotel
Address: On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#4 Family Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boath House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run and famous for style, quality and fine cuisine. We are on situated on the north east coast of Scotland and the Grade A listed Georgian Mansion has been restored lovingly back to it's original splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Boath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boath Hotel Nairn
Boath House Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing