We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it..”
Review of Boath House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boath House
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed one night at this beautiful mansion (with 2 teenage boys). Had excellent sandwiches and drinks on arrival. Our room was large with a modern walk-in shower and freestanding tub - loved the MoltonBrown toiletries, plenty of fluffy towels&bathrobes. Aperitif in the lounge and then a truly wonderful dinner: light, fresh and full of flavour. My meatfree dinner was superb - dietary requests are checked before arrival. Digestiv in the small but cosy bar with a nice selection of single malts was a perfect finish. Service was very attentive, in a laid- back way. Lovely breakfast in the morning. We had a stroll in the grounds, there is a small lake, rowing boat, hammock and seating. Very quiet and relaxing. We definitely will be back ...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband and I loved our charming room, the gourmet cooking, the warm service and the overall experience. The property is family owned, and everything about it was charming. I highly recommend a stay here.

Also, it's dog friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThirtyByThirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The house is a classic Georgian mansion and has the wow factor on arrival - it is furnished to a very high standard and the rooms are pure luxury. The gardens are amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring the woodland and sitting by the lake chatting to the swans. The walled garden is an incredible experience and the kitchen obviously take advantage of the fresh herbs and vegies. But the real buzz is the restaurant - it is a set menu of 5 courses and was some of the best food we have had - the staff are friendly and professional and were expertly managed by the maître d George. We couldn't resist buying some an artwork - an otter - to always remember our visit to one of the finest establishments in Scotland.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage in the grounds and enjoyed being away from the main house - heaps of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 914Swanny914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Absolutely loved this dining experience. Thought it may be a little "posh" for our liking but posh it may be but you do not feel out of place. From the minute we arrived at the door we were welcomed by such a pleasant welcoming gentleman and that set the scene for the rest of the evening. The food was absolutely delicious. We were a wee bit surprised that it was a set menu but we were asked whether there was anything in particular we could not eat. I declined the sweet as it was a rice pudding which i cannot eat. I got an alternative and OMG what an alternative. If i had a choice of a starter than a pudding, it would be starter every time but this pudding, a pineapple dish, gave me such a wow factor that the only way i can think to describe it is the "harry and sally moment". The hotel itself is lovely and i wish we could have stayed the night. Could be very romantic.

Another huge bonus in this establishments favour is that "service charge" is optional and it would take a miserable person not to leave at least a fifteen percent tip.

Having tables for two off from the main dining room is nice and quite intimate for couples but it is a bit chilly. We were actually slightly disappointed not to be in the main dining area which looked so warm and "happy" whereas the area off the dining area needs "warmth" both in atmosphere and heating but i still would be happy to eat the fabulous food in either area. It is just a suggestion.

Lets hope charles lockley continues to enjoynthe highlands and does not get tempted away by the russians!

Room Tip: Did not stay in the hotel but would have loved to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cal26_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We ended our holiday in Scotland with two days of luxury at Boath House. The rooms, food and staff were all excellent. The house itself and the grounds are delightful. There's nothing quite like relaxing in the free standing bath tub with your novel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Thank goodness this was our longest stay at any one hotel during our visit to Scotland because it was by far the best! Close to everything you might want to visit in the area, but definitely it's own little special world. The hospitality is exceptional, from a late lunch offered upon our arrival to the tips from Don for special stops to make en route to our next destination in Scotland. Don is a perfect proprietor and makes all guests feel welcomed and comfortable. Each day's return from a day of touring felt like coming back to a very special home. Always a fire in the fireplace with tea, coffee or drinks at the ready in the super comfortable lounge area. All of this and what has to be the best food in Scotland. Each night included a 5 course menu and we did not stop saying 'wow'! I can't leave out the lovely walled in garden on the property and the beautiful little Cygnets in the small lake right outside the dining room. We would love to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynMacEachern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

A fabulous small hotel (only 8 rooms). Great place for special weekend away. The rooms were charming and well appointed. Highlight was the superb cuisine, 7 course dinner was out of this world, and the breakfast was excellent too. Staff were very friendly. The walled garden was lovely and the loch together with the resident swans was beautiful.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank ejwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
2.8 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
944 reviews
13.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
628 reviews
3 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
387 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
347 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boath House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boath House

Address: On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Price Range: £290 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boath House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run and famous for style, quality, gardens and fine cuisine. We are situated on the north east coast of Scotland on the Moray Firth Coast and the Grade A listed Georgian Mansion has been restored lovingly back to it's original splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Boath House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boath Hotel Nairn
Boath House Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing