We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tali Ayer(Nairn)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hay Lodge(Nairn)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
258
50
19
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
50
19
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelin starwalled gardenroeduck eggcourse menufoie grasafternoon teacountry househalibutmolton brown toiletriespre dinner drinksset menuwine liston arrivalroll top bathdining roomdining experience
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

There are alot of things that this hotel does right, but given how expensive the hotel is, one would expect everything to be done right. First, the good - - the hotel is gorgeous, the drawing room is very comfortable, and the staff is outstanding. We loved the "check in" process. You sit in the drawing room and are given a cold drink - - no paperwork. Just like arriving at someone's country home as a guest. And, I have reviewed the restaurant separately. It is a truly excellent restaurant in every regard.

Now for the bad. We booked our room based on the photos on the hotel's website. We selected the Orangerie, which looked lovely. What the website does not indicate is that the room is in the basement. It has a door to an enclosed greenhouse type area, but there is no way to get any fresh air in the room. There is one small high window that did not appear to open. We had expected a room on the first floor, with windows that we could open. We felt that the description on the website was misleading.

Also, there is virtually no intenet service in the hotel, except intermittently in the drawing room. Thus, when we wanted to check our e mails or the opening time at Cawdor Castle, we could not do it in our room. Moreover, because we were in the basement, we did not have cell service in our room. In order to check messages on our cells, we had to walk outside. This may sound like a minor complaint, but it does take away from what should be a very relaxing sojourn at a beautiful hotel.

Next time in Nairn, we will be staying elsewhere although we will try to get dinner reservations at the Boath House.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jscottjoplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The House is lovingly cared for by a dedicated staff. We were warmly welcomed and ushered into the drawing room for checkin. At 7 PM each night cocktails and hors d'oeuvres are served here before being seated in the dining room at 7:30 PM. This one star Michelin - rated restaurant is intimate and outstanding. A 6-course prix fixe dinner is an adventure in tasting. A few examples: Jerusalem artichoke soup with caviar, foie gras with balsamic meringue and cherries, roe deer with salsify and hazelnut puree, Ticklemore goat cheese, plum puree and oat crackers. The service is excellent. You can view the menu ahead and if there is anything you prefer not to eat, they will accommodate your wishes. We usually prefer to eat at 8 or 8:30 but can understand why this 8-table restaurant needs to contain the hours of service. We never had afternoon tea, and the house is quiet at that time of day. Breakfasts are filling and delicious and they will accommodate your wishes if you'd like something that's not on the menu. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful. Some of the many mature trees are 400 years old. A pond is home to a swan family, ducks and other wildlife. A walled garden is a pleasure to wander through. From here one can visit castles - we loved Cawdor. We also took a short drive to Findhorn and its spectacular beach which was almost empty in September. Coastal walks go on for miles. We were sad to leave. Expensive but worth it. Forgot to mention that the rooms are beautiful. We had one of the smaller ones and it was still grand.

Room Tip: All the rooms we were able to glimpse were just beautiful - our smaller one was #2. No air conditioning but I suspect it's rarely necessary.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Booked not that far in advance and there was only 1 room available which we took. It was one of the smaller rooms but none the less was spacious and very well furnished.
On arrival we were promptly greeted and escorted to the superb lounge area while we completed check-in and our bags taken to our room. The room, as you would expect, had top end furnishings, toiletries, superb bed, etc. After we unpacked we went back to the lounge where we were provided with tea and coffee together with some homemade shortbread type biscuits. All very nice.
Grounds are also superb with a walled garden and a very large pond/small lake. Lovely to explore and walk around.
Staff were very attentive and looked after our every need.
Expensive but recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in August in room 3 which is very spacious & comfortable. The bathroom is enormous with 2 basins & 2 freestanding baths that overlook the beautiful garden. Our meals were delicious & we found the staff to be extremely courteous, welcoming & friendly. The only problem was that our visit was too short as it would have been wonderful to spend a day relaxing in the garden. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We visited Boath House as guests of friends in July. Our room was fantastic, with a large bed, and an enormous bathroom with a huge copper bath. The welcome was exceptional and the food in the restaurant, my first experience of slow cooking, well worth all the accolades. My wife and I stayed and ate at both Kinloch Lodge and The Three Chimneys in the next few days and the Boath House more than held its own; well worth its Michelin star. The duck and rabbit were the standout courses. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews