We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boath House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boath House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Really great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I booked dinner bed and breakfast in the January offer for my boyfriend and I. We couldn't fault a thing. Hospitality excellent, dinner was beyond our expectations and even breakfast was a culinary triumph. I had the smoked haddock, poached egg and buttery. Delicious.
It is expensive but you 100% get what you pay for. Boath House have it spot on and we'll definitely return.

Room Tip: We had room 3, the bed is huge and the bathroom is enormous and has double baths which is a nice lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Katie,

Thank you for the lovely comments, the whole team are very appreciative for the feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Many Thanks,

George Murdoch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    44
    14
    11
    6
See reviews for
41
200
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grantown on Spey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed one night at the luxurious retreat that is Boath House. We were in room 8 which is in the basement and contrary to expectations of it being a dark room it was bright with beautiful furnishings a lovely 'outdoor' seating area and an amazing walk in shower area. The room has beautiful arched ceilings and the furniture and styling of the room compliments these original features perfectly.

Onto dinner - what a treat. We knew that dinner would be fabulous, we didnt anticipate the perfect flavour combinations, my favourite being the fresh mackerel on an almond paste with pickled vegetables. The pumpkin seed bread was also a highlight of my meal. Wines were chosen by the knowledgeable waiter and the service was efficient yet discreet.

Breakfast was another triumph - being used to pretty awful breakfast offerings in hotels these days, this was a delight. Freshly juiced vegetable juice, crisp toast, a lovely piece of local smoked haddock with perfectly poached egg. I could go on!

Thank you Boath House for a lovely stay. Yes we know you well, however, we've never stayed before and I hope this won't be the last time.

Room Tip: We loved our basement room - we nicknamed it the bat cave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie-Fenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Katie,

Thank you for the great feedback.

All the rooms at Boath House have their own individual charm and room 8 is one of my personal favourites. Cosy and warm in the winter but light, fresh and airy in the summer. I've heard the bat cave shares these unique qualities.

The food is always a highlight and consistency is very important. Great to hear that the kitchen team maintained their very high standards.

Many Thanks,

George Murdoch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Spent one night here as a treat and have no hesitatiionn in recommending it for a relaxing stay with great food.

We were in bedroom 1 which was huge with an equally large bathroom complete with roll-top bath.
Nice touch was the ground coffee and fresh milk- not those little long-life pots!!!

Dinner was a delight with the best of Scottish produce served by a very friendly and knowledgeable staff.

The public rooms were welcoming with open fires just what was needed on a cold February night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaGlasgowScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Bella,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Happy to hear that you enjoyed the room, food and service. The whole team are very appreciative.

The open fires are always a welcoming site this time of year.

We hope to see you again.

Many Thanks,

George Murdoch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were given a Christmas present from my son - afternoon tea for two. I'd been past the place a few times but never stopped in so made a day of it by going to Brodie then to Aldearn Antiques before popping in here. I have to say my first impressions were excellent. A very clean and tidy hotel, well done out and very warm despite it being an old building (not at all tired or shabby looking). After selecting our sandwiches, we went through to the dining room, which overlooks the large pond in the gardens. The sandwiches were very nice, and were followed by scones with cream and jam, and an excellent piece of (I apologise to the hotel for not remembering the name) gateaux - like a pear cheesecake with caramel on the top and a base soaked in calvados. An excellent afternoon tea, but at £17.50pp, very pricey- as it says on the website - indulgent. I should also say that the staff were extremely pleasant and communicative. Worth a visit, even if it's a one-off

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Real_Cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and review, we always appreciate feedback, especially when guests have enjoyed their experience.

Many people have passed Boath House with the intention of coming in so we are pleased that you had the opportunity to come and visit.

Afternoon Tea is a perfect way to come and have look round the hotel, gardens and sample a little bit of what we offer at Boath House.

A cup of coffee, sandwich and a slice of cake in your average high street coffee shop will normally cost you the best part of £10. When you consider that our Afternoon Tea is homemade by a Michelin starred kitchen, served on bone china, white linen and in an impeccable Georgian mansion, overlooking well kept gardens with well executed personable service, £17.50 per person is pretty good value.

Many Thanks,

George Murdoch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We booked for dinner, bed and breakfast. Very polite and obliging staff, luxurious room and very comfortable beds. We also had a huge bathroom with a stand alone bath and a separate shower cubicle.

Our main reason for booking was the restaurant, and the six course tasting menu was delicious.It turned out to be a very relaxing trip. We used the ipod docking station whilst having a bath in the candle-lit bathroom.

The breakfast was the best breakfast I have tasted in a long time. Amazing what can be achieved with good quality locally-sourced ingredients.

We only live 20 miles away, but we will definitely be back. Over and over again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AminaSor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Amina,

Thank you very much for your comments. After a good nights sleep there is nothing better than a hearty breakfast to set you up for the day. Very glad you enjoyed the food and your night at Boath House. The January and February offer is certainly worth taking advantage of, even if you do only live 20 minutes away.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Many Thanks,

George Murdoch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
215 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We went on the recommendation of a university friend and it was great; a small (8 rooms) hotel with a small dining room (curiously - about 8 tables) with 3 small sitting rooms for reading or just sitting - each with a fire. The bed-room was fantastic - massive with a huge comfortable bed with an equally massive bathroom with two slipper baths facing the window which made for a long soak combined with a rather nice bottle of house champagne before dinner. The menu was good and we opted for the "taster" which was an uplift of £45 per head but the food was really superb - 6 courses including the best rabbit I have had (ever), salmon (very close to being the best) and duck ......it was all very good. The wine was good (red better than the white which could get very expensive very quickly); but the food was superb. The hospitality was very well done - attentive without making you feel over attended or as if you were out of your depth as so many very nice hotels seem to manage these days.

It was not cheap but it was very good value for money - the Room plus D & B was £300 and we blew another £150 on champagne, wine and the "taster" menu - but it was well worth it.

All in all a very good night away.

It also had a very nice walled-garden which must look lovely in the summer but was a bit sparse in January. Only slight disappointment was no Spa-treatments available, and that would have been nice.

Room Tip: Room 3 - massive room with a (massive) bathroom with two slipper-baths and a nice little, candle-lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Gavin,

Thank you for the accurate review. We have been labelled as being pretentious in the past so its reassuring when intelligent guests notice that we are in fact the complete opposite.

We hope to see you again soon.

Many Thanks,

George Murdoch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

the hotel is splendid. the estate is splendid, and in particular the restaurant is impressively good. and it is good all around. not a single dish was less than excellent. it is worth a stop if you are in the area, and even a trip there if you are not in the area. i wish all michelin start restaurants were as good as this one! it deserves another star.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Maria,

Thank you for your review.

We like to think that Boath House is a unique place to visit and dine. The owners Don and Wendy have worked very hard to create an exclusive but informal and relaxing venue.

Charlie and his team in the kitchen work very hard to maintain and develop their existing high standards and they are always happy when guests enjoy the food.

We hope to welcome you back to Boath House.

Many Thanks,

George Murdoch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
3.3 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
13.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newton Hotel
Newton Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
19.4 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boath House Hotel

Property: Boath House Hotel
Address: On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#4 Family Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boath House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run and famous for style, quality and fine cuisine. We are on situated on the north east coast of Scotland and the Grade A listed Georgian Mansion has been restored lovingly back to it's original splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Boath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boath Hotel Nairn
Boath House Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing