We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymooners Paradise!!”
Review of Boath House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boath House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymooners Paradise!!”
Reviewed 10 September 2008

Oh My Goodness where do we start....we went to Boath House for four days for our honeymoon. Our stay was pure and unadulterated heaven from beginning to end. The staff could not have been more welcoming, attentive and unpretentious. The room was immaculate, beautifully decorated and completely luxurious. The food was out of this world. We spent every day in excited anticipation of what delights lay ahead and enjoyed every single moment of dining there - it was the most amazing experience. We could not explain to anyone how fabulous Boath House is but we are over the moon that we chose it for our honeymoon. It could not have been a more wonderful experience. An amazing place to begin your new life together and we will be recommending it to everyone we know!!

  • Liked — Absolutely everything - Boath House is the perfect getaway
  • Disliked — Nothing at all!!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wirral-Lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    44
    14
    12
    6
See reviews for
41
205
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2008

We recently spent two days at Boath House and found it to be the most charmingly ecclectic hotel we have ever visited. The house itself is not too large and has been made to feel more like a very familiar family home rather than a hotel.
The food is simply outstanding, some of the best we have ever eaten, and served in a relaxed but service orientated way.
We were particularly impressed with the kitchen gardens and the obvious pride taken in serving homegrown produce.
The staff were all local and from our greeting on the doorstep to a final friendly chat on the portico were attentive and keen to ensure that we made the most of our stay in the area.
Rarely have we ever been made to feel more welcome in a hotel!!

  • Liked — relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — not long enough stay
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Oranges46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2008

We stayed at Boath House for a couple of nights having largley been seduced by the picture of the twin baths on the website.

Expecting a warm welcome, we were let in by the cleaner with no sign of anyone else around. Be prepared to be questioned if you ask for a key - " we don't do keys round here" was the reply. They did relent and gave us a key when we insisted, although it went missing the following morning at which point, we'd given up asking.

The ambience is intimate to say the least - however, intimate with everyone else in the hotel. Breakfast, if we're completely honest, is painful. The a la carte menu is stuck rigidly to with no allowances for dietary preferences. A request for porridge with water was met with a derisory smirk and a comment that it's " it's got everything in it", the inference being that you either did it Don's way or no way. The lack of music also made things awkward as you could hear every other conversation in the restaurant and were forced to talk in whispers. What with that and the clinking of spoons on the plate, we couldn't wait to get out of there in the mornings. To be fair, the food is good (although rich) and the evening meal was not as awkward (probably given fact that everyone had had a bottle of wine by half eight (that being because you could only have dinner between 8 and 8.30 (we're not joking).

We're not saying it's bad by any means but it's certainly overpriced (we paid over a grand for 3 nights) and for what we were looking for (i.e. intimate, boutiquey romantic hideaway) it just missed the mark by a long way.

  • Liked — Twin baths
  • Disliked — Lack of privacy
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scrabble33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
355 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,181 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2008

My partner and I recently returned from a 9 day trip to the UK, during which we stayed 5 nights in London and 3 nights in Scotland. We stayed at the Le Meridien Piccadilly in London and chose the Boath House for our 3 nights in Scotland. We were visiting family and friends in London and wanted to have a romantic sojourn in Scotland, while visiting whisky distilleries and some sights in the Highlands. A friend of ours in London also joined us and stayed at the Boath House. (Originally, it was supposed to be he and his boyfriend, who unfortunately couldn't join us last-minute due to his job.)

For the record, I've stayed numerous times in Scotland, including stays at the Caledonian Hilton and the Balmoral in Edinburgh. As a whisky fanatic, I have always stayed at the Craigellachie Hotel in Speyside, about 30 minutes away from the Boath House, whenever I've been in the Highlands. On this trip, however, the Craigellachie was full. So, after a length search online and a few email exchanges with some people at places like the Glemorangie House (another place I considered), I settled on the Boath House. Please understand that we usually stay in suites at luxury hotels such as the Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental, Ritz-Carleton, etc., as well as numerous boutique luxury properties around the world. We had high expectations for the Boath House despite the fact that the Scottish Highlands are not known for such luxury.

We were not disappointed! Unlike the other reviewer, we knew what we were getting and were absolutely delighted. We were looking for an intimate, charming, small boutique property in the Highlands, preferably offering a suite of some sort and also the chance for excellent dining. Please understand that the boutique luxury options in the Scottish Highlands are few and far between, and I believe the Boath House is an outstanding option. I suspect the previous reviewer has not sampled the many options in the Scottish Highlands and doesn't quite know how good the Boath House really is.

The main house is absolutely lovely--a true Georgian manor home, restored wonderfully, in our opinion. We elected to stay in the caretaker's cottage, a separate building altogether, so we could have as much privacy as possible. Our friend stayed in one of the regular rooms in the main house. His room was small but intimate, well-equipped for a rural country inn type accommodation, and he said his bed was very comfortable. Our room had a lovely living room, a separate bedroom with a similarly comfortable bed, and a large bathroom equipped with both shower and separate lounging tub. Other than a few issues with an occasional power outage, we loved our rooms.

Service was excellent. The owner, himself, came down to fix our electrical outage problem, which didi happen a few times because of recent rains. Normally, I'm annoyed at such problems at major hotels, but I find myself taking such issues in stride more when I'm in such rural surroundings. The issue was handled very quickly, which helped dispel any annoyance for me.

We had no issues with our keys, nor did our friend. We were greeted upon arrival by a staff member with our keys, and she escorted us all to our rooms. She showed us how to operate everything and how the place "worked" so to speak. We were reminded again that dinner seating occured between 8:00-8:30 pm, something I already knew from my requests for information from the property. (Perhaps the previous reviewer should be more careful to ask questions and understand the type of property this is! When staying at a property with only 8 rooms, you can't exactly expect 24 hour room service, after all!)

The restaurant is amazing. We dine at some of the best restaurants in the USA and abroad whenever we travel, and we were quite impressed with the meals. We found the 5 course dinners (included in the room rate, by the way) to be fantastic. Once, there was something that I wasn't fond of included in the pre-fixe menu, and they were gracious enough to change that to something more to my liking--unlike the previous reviewer said. We also enjoyed the breakgfasts immensely, being "breakfast people." I am a hearty eater, belying the fact that I'm thin, and I asked for 8 poached eggs for breaktast each morning. Trust me--that's an oddity in the UK (and even in the USA!). Without fail, they prepared them for me as quickly as possible, quite a feat, indeed, knowing the size of the kitchen!

We were mildly annoyed that there was a corkage fee for trying to drink one of our bottles of whisky we had purchased earlier that day in the living room prior to dinner. That was a bit dumb. But that's a small boutique property for you. We made sure to take our pre-dinner drinks first in our living room, before making our way to the living room of the main house to get a pre-dinner drink officially!

All in all, we loved our stay there at the Boath House. In the end, my partner ended up proposing to me on our last night--ironically, exactly one week prior to the California Supreme Court deciding that gay marriage should be legal in California where we live. The owner and staff discovered the engagement and were all gracious, congratulatory, and lovely--offering us complimentary champagne, as well.

The staff was also lovely when helping us to prepare for our whisky distillery visits. I already knew the areas quite well from previous trips, but the staff and even the owner tried very hard to make sure we were comfortable with our directions and plans.

We will definitely return to the Boath House. For those looking for a boutique/romantic small inn experience in the Highlands, and/or a spectacular dining experience, we highly recommend the Boath House!

Helpful?
4 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2008

I booked for valentine's day and was not disappointed. The welcome from the staff was very warm and welcoming.

The house has been restored to a amazing standard and has a great setting with nice garden and pond.

The room was first class with large fire place and bathroom with two baths and a view of the garden and pond.

The food and service was of the finest quality and the staff and owners could not do enough to make your stay a good one.

well worth the drive.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank windy1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

Boath House is a beautiful country house with wonderful grounds and situated close to Nairn's beaches, the Culloden battlefield and a noisy A road. Whilst the welcome was warm from Jonny the conceirge/butler this was not replicated by the other members of staff.
We stayed in one of the new 'Conservatory rooms' which are essentially converted basement rooms with minimal natural light. The room smelt slightly damp and came with a twin bed - although the beds were joined, this was disappointing given this is such a popular honeymoon destination.

Upon unpacking we discovered a frog in the room and although he was promptly removed we didn't get an apology - instead "It's our first of the year".

Breakfast was included but didn't do enough to make this a value-for-money stay. It should be said that although the five-course menu has had great reviews I found the vegetarian options very unimaginative and bland. Good wine list however.

  • Liked — The House itself is unique and in a great setting.
  • Disliked — Poor value for money, inconsistent service and frog in bedroom!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank withnails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2008

My wife & I stayed for a special birthday over two nights in the new cellar "suite", room No. 9. Its not really a suite and while superficially it was lovely closer inspection revealed there were obvious corners cut in its refurbishment (turned out that it was a DIY job done by the owner - not to be expected of somewhere charging £330+ a night). Individually the staff where great and friendly (Jonathan in particular) but communication between them could have been better. In my opinion all the extras were expensive (afternoon coffee, Spa treatments, lunch) and I considered them to represent poor value for money. However the Restaurant is where the Boath House almost fully redeemed itself - the food was simply outstanding and at £55 for a 5 course dinner of this standard, good value. The wine list was also good in both choice and price. Breakfast was good as well and was served in a private annex off the room - lovely concept and except for being a bit luke warm, very tasty. The Chef absolutely deserves every accolade he has won.
Overall my wife loved the place, we had a good time and that is what counted. However, we had little change from £900 for two nights DBB + a spa treatment and some extras which is a lot of cash and personally didn't think that the accommodation matched the price, although the setting and main property are stunning. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Restaurant but, because of the cost, could not recommend the Boath House as a place to stay. Find a nice local hotel or B&B (there are plenty in the area) and use the money saved to eat in the Restaurant more often!

  • Liked — The Restaurant
  • Disliked — The cost
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptBallbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
3.8 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
14.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boath House Hotel

Property: Boath House Hotel
Address: On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#4 Family Hotel in Nairn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boath House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run and famous for style, quality and fine cuisine. We are on situated on the north east coast of Scotland and the Grade A listed Georgian Mansion has been restored lovingly back to it's original splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Boath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boath Hotel Nairn
Boath House Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing