We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boath House
Nearby Hotels
Muthu Newton Hotel(Nairn)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Braeval Hotel(Nairn)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunny Brae(Nairn)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tali Ayer(Nairn)
US$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aurora Hotel(Nairn)(Great Value!)
US$113
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
255
50
19
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
50
19
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelin starwalled gardenroeduck eggcourse menuafternoon teahalibutmolton brown toiletriespre dinner drinksset menuwine liston arrivalroll top bathdining roomporridgemeringueroaring fire
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Boath House is a lovely place. At a very quiet time of the week, we spent 2 nights, one of which we had exclusive use.

I was slightly disappointed driving down to the house, as I realized it was sitting really close to the road. Rather closer than I had anticipated. It proved no big deal. You can certainly hear the road, but can’t see it. And it is not a motorway either. Reservation did not prove as seamless as any customer is used to nowadays, with no online booking ; we preferred calling instead of emailing, and no confirmation was ever sent through, by cause of misspelling the email address. But the reservation proved absolutely accurate, in the end.
The rates are high end. But it is a small hotel, rather more on the B&B scale than a hotel : 6 or 7 rooms only. Expectations should not be the same as for a luxury hotel. No evening turndown, no evening amenity, set menu for dinner ( no choice), no choice of hour for dinner, limited time slot for breakfast, no buzzing staff. Once we set our expectations at what Boath House might deliver, we had the best of times, and felt at home. Sam the owners’ sons who runs the place, makes sure that service which he mostly does by himself, is efficient and friendly. And it is !

The house is the middle of ample grounds, including out of sight car parks, a large pond, and a lovely walled garden. Plenty of blooming trees. Many seating areas within the grounds. It is very pleasant for a quiet smoke.

We stayed in room 3, admittedly the largest available accommodation. Large it is. Even vast. Plenty of natural lights through large windows, but dark at night as weak bulbs. Armchairs are scattered here and there. Books are available. Huge bathroom, with 2 bath tubs looking out to the grounds, one separate shower stall with totally inadequate water pressure (literally dripping water) and unmanageable thermostat. Nice Regular size Molton Brown toiletries.

Food is absolutely delicious. Well worthy of the one Michelin star. Tasty, and simple, yet sophisticated. Not your standard fare. And wines are reasonable priced. Even though it is small, and rather a home scale hotel, they are not stiff. I did not like one dessert, and they came up with an alternative. We wanted an early breakfast, and that was easily arranged. We were always late for dinner (French do not tend to have dinner at 7.30 pm, let alone show up at 7.00), and they never mentioned it by word or attitude.

One thing We did not like, but that might be just us is the fact that Boath House boast they are a registered art gallery. As such, pieces of … art are displayed everywhere except in the room. I will not mention likes and dislikes, as I realize this would be a purely personal statement, but we came to think that this diversity (style, size, material, …) of a changing nature was bringing an inappropriate touch in a beautiful (listed?) house, which should feature a carefully designed atmosphere.

All in all, we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PASCAL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give an account of your time at Boath House. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Many Thanks,

Boath House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We spent two nights over Easter weekend and had a fantastic time, aided by splendid spring weather. We stayed in the Superior Lake View room (#3) which is a spacious room at the back of the house with an equally spacious bathroom, featuring two soaking tubs which are however a rather tight fit for anyone over six feet tall. Our only complaint was that the water pressure in the shower was very low.
What made the weekend so enjoyable, besides the gorgeous sunny weather, was the staff and the dining. Boath House is family owned (Sam the manager is the son of the owners) and staffed by locals (with the possible exception of George), all of whom were very friendly and provided highly professional service.
Although a five-course tasting menu is available, we found the three-course dinners to be more than ample (especially as we had both cheese and dessert). We had paired wines by the glass with each course, all of which were skillfully selected by always ready to please George. Wines ranged from France to Spain to Italy and all were interesting and most suitable for each course. The verdict is still out on George's local suggestion, Fallachan ("Superior Scotch Blaand") which presumably is an acquired taste. The food was uniformly excellent and the service perfectly attentative. Although the hotel itself was not busy on the weekend, the dining room was full each evening as it is a popular venue for locals, which is always the sign of a good restaurant.
We reckoned that it couldn't get much better than the Easter Sunday afternoon we spent relaxing in the sun by the lake, with Sam and Jamie providing champagne and Black Island ale.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kauaimary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review and comments. It sounds as though you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, the staff are very appreciative when such positive feedback is received.

The fallachan certainly is an acquired taste, not for everyone but interesting none the less.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,

Boath House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A true highlight of our recent trip up north, a delicious 6 course dinner at this gorgeous country house.

Tasty, imaginative canapes and aperitif in the lovely lounge with roaring log fire (where we also retired to for coffee and petit fours) and dinner in the beautiful dining room at the bay window overlooking attractive grounds.

I had notified them of my complicated food allergies in advance - these were handled with care, compassion and indeed enthusiasm, ensuring that my menu was not only entirely appropriate but did not in any way compare poorly against alternative options (i.e. where some restaurants simply omit parts of a dish, Boath House substituted or altered dishes so I'd never have noticed!). Wonderful menu using locally sources produce - staff were warm, engaged and interested, talked about ingredient provenance and were keen to make our visit personal.

Interesting wine list offering broad range of very well priced bottles - our waiter/sommelier explained that they endeavour to provide a range of appropriately priced wines rather than invest in high cost bottles with opportunistic mark-ups; impression was that this hotel and staff work hard to provide excellent value as well as luxury.

Well worthy of their Michelin star.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. It is so gratifying to receive such appreciation of all the team's efforts and I will make sure they see this review.

Best Wishes,

Sam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just spent a weekend at the Boath House and everything was just perfect.

The food is exquisite - the rooms lovely - the setting very relaxing. But the main standout was the subtle,understated but superb customer service from George, Sam and the whole staff. You are made to feel more like house guests than hotel visitors.

I cannot recommend highly enough.

Andrew Welham

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Andrew,

It was a pleasure having you and your family as our guests last weekend. After the initial disappointment of the postponed trip at New Year it was great to welcome you to Boath House.

Wonderful to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one, I have passed your comments on to the whole team.

Many Thanks,

George Murdoch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We visited Boath House for Afternoon Tea and had a lovely time exploring the beautiful grounds before settling down for a bite to eat. I was a little disappointed with the presentation as it was not a traditional selection of finger sandwiches and sweets. You can just choose one type sandwich which is then followed by sweets. All were delicious, but just not what I expected.

It was also a shame that our sandwich arrived well before the tea (disappointedly presented in a metal tea pot) and made the experience seem rushed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews