We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tali Ayer(Nairn)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hay Lodge(Nairn)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
258
50
19
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
50
19
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelin starwalled gardenroeduck eggcourse menufoie grasafternoon teacountry househalibutmolton brown toiletriespre dinner drinksset menuwine liston arrivalroll top bathdining roomdining experience
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Be very aware when booking with this hotel. Their Terms of Conditions are not easily accessible on the website, you do not get a copy until after you have booked or sent to you if you have to cancel. I cancelled by phone 21 days in advance. Spoke with an excellent receptionist, asked if there would be any charges. I was told there would be no charge. The charge is 10% of the total cost of the room. In my case it was £45:00. If you cancel 14 days or less and they cannot re-let the room, you get billed the full charge. What really gripped me, when i responded to the email for the charge and explained what happen, i was basically called a liar by Sam Matheson, someone in their department. I made a complaint which has fallen of deaf ears. All i can advise is be very aware, really drastic TofCs and appalling customer care. I highly recommend to steer clear of this hotel and organisation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
17  Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy M, Owner at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Trevor
Being a small 9 bed restaurant with rooms in the Highlands of Scotland we rely heavily on pre-booking as there is no walk- in trade given our geographic area. You will find that these T&C's are not unusual in similar establishments with the same challenges. We do display them quite clearly on our website under the stay section. We certainly would not have been so rude as to call you a liar but simply to point out that the terms and conditions are there to protect our business. The terms do suggest that you take out travel insurance should you have any doubt about having to cancel your reservation. We do find your final comment very punitive given that you never stepped over the threshold.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Location: excellent
House: elegant country house
Surroundings: the English garden at its best ( although there is a road which goes along the property and the traffic create a disturbance - only when you stay in the garden but not inside the house)
Food: well....we were expecting something more authentic.
There is nothing to complain about but nothing you can never forget neither.
Also the lack of tablecloth is quite surprising even shocking.
The room number 3 : is gorgeous overlooking the lake and the gardens.
The bathroom: is Royal! But the bathrobes were missing...!

The welcome:
Too bad....a very icy and arrogant welcome.
We are a couple well educated and we do think that we deserve more than a "less-than-warm-welcome "
Boath House is an expensive place and unfortunately the ambiance is poor, even sad.
For one night , breakfast and dinner we paid £ 500 plus the drinks (£ 100)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank depazzis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Been a few times before for afternoon tea. Prices increased dramatically yet all left hungry.
One of us had the champagne and were a bit shocked to receive half a glass. No explanation was given. Having had afternoon tea at Gleneagles, Inverlochy Castle and Cromlix House really feel that the service and afternoon tea was not value for money. Really disappointed.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
10  Thank Coco1897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Relaxing, friendly, and not at all pretentious. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and our stay here was perfect in every way. The gardens are beautifully kept and a joy to wander through or sit in with a book if the weather is fine. Our meal was deliciously cooked, with the veg coming straight from the gardens and presentation was wonderful. This lovely Georgian house is a must for a peaceful break away from it all.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GrantLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy M, Owner at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

What a fabulous review - thank you so much. All the team get a great buzz from knowing they are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
28
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Unfortunate that i emailed the hotel directly not just once but TWICE with all our dissapointments & still to this day no response which tells me alot.
Im not one for critisism and pointing things out on trip advisor...you have to make your own decisions based on your personal experience but all i'll say is its HUGELY overpriced for what you get and theres alot of attention needed in this establishment to get it to a standard of any means great. I still have the emails i sent with the dates on both and a delivery report...incase any member of staff decides to write a reply here stating it wasnt received!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy M, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Guest,

We can see from your review that you traveled in February of this year. It seems a little strange that you have turned to Trip Advisor to leave an anonymous review after all this time rather than giving us a phone call if your emails went unanswered.

We are in the habit of replying to all emails with positive or negative feedback and without knowing who you are and when you sent the emails it will be very difficult to work out why yours was overlooked. If you do indeed still have the emails, please forward them to us so we can address the issue. Our best email address is info@boath-house.com

Kind Regards,

Boath House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews