We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
270
54
20
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
54
20
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews michelin star duck egg course menu foie gras coffee and petit fours country house afternoon tea pre dinner drinks roll top bath wine list on arrival dining room dining experience porridge wet room dietary requirements sitting area
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018

During our round of Scotland and the Highlands we decided to stay were we would find a room. We found the Boat house on the internet and we were lucky to get one of the spacious bedrooms. Close to Aviemor and to ski center of Cairngorm Mountain. We had dinner in Aviemore at Cairngorm Hotel. Close to all nice destinations plus the local steam train.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Marina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We went on the recommendation of relative who had had a very memorable visit in late 2017. Excellent service and dinner, worthy of the Michelin star at the time. Our experience couldn't have been more different. With the exeption of the dining room staff who were trying, bless the kids, service was indifferent when you could find anybody. Meals were 2 star standard and the room was tired - cracked tiles, dirty grout, television didn't work. Manager/owner nowhere to be seen. A huge and expensive mistake. Not long for this world, I supect.

Room tip: Avoid the basement rooms! (Classed as 'garden rooms' I think)
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank Shuggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy M, Owner at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Four out of a family of five work in the business full time. We spent £50000 on the rooms in the spring including new drapes, oak flooring and new colour schemes . We are rated 5 star by the two main grading agencies. We have exactly the same staff (including kitchen) since your last visit. Have been here 26 years and intend to be here longer.
TV is absolutely fine, pity you didnt get someone to help you. Having relooked at your review perhaps your powers of observation are not all that they were..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and I visited for our wedding anniversary this year. We had previously had a laugh at some of the one star reviews on Trip Advisor but decided to contact the hotel ourselves. We asked for a sample vegetarian menu and found that they make everything to order so are very flexible. The staff were friendly and helpful, the public areas were lovely (the walls are used to show off the works of local artists and we bought one of the pictures) and the room (room 7) was lovely.

We had a huge shower, a comfortable bed, a private conservatory with coffee machine, table and a range of chairs. It was peaceful and just perfect to get away. Having explored the rooms we set off to walk around the gardens and they too were amazing. A pond with walks around it, a hidden path with a bridge and a burn, a hammock and a number of benches and chairs to watch the pond, sunsets/sunrises or just to toast the good luck of having chosen such an incredible hotel.

The food was spectacular with the only (minor) point being the range of cheeses on the cheeseboard; the blue cheese destroyed the far less tasty toast cheese and the Brie style cheeses. The bread was home made (I think) and delicious.

We would book again next year and the only hotel that we can compare it to is The Coul House Hotel in Contin which is equally stellar.

We took hundreds of photographs but you should visit the hotel yourselves and make your own memories.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ChrisRoscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

I must have driven past Boath House a hundred times over the last 30 years and did not know about Boath house. We celebrated our 30th anniversary and it was fabulous. Lovely bedroom and friendly efficient staff and the dinner was awesome. Fantastic atmosphere in the most gorgeous surroundings. Boath is our new favourite place and we will be back for certain

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank skippergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

A very pleasant country house hotel, but the only justification for the £450 per night DB&B price tag is the Michelin star, which they appear to have given up on. I'd happily pay £300 for the experience we had but feel somewhat cheated. Although the food was top rate, there were small issues which detracted from the whole experience. Things like: wobbly loo seat, sloppy finish on the decor, lack of bathrobes, proximity of the A93, etc, which you just don't expect at this price point.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MallorcaFanSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews