We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food - charge for tea/coffee left a bitter taste.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boath House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boath House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely food - charge for tea/coffee left a bitter taste.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

My hubby and I visited the beautiful Boath House to celebrate our wedding anniversary recently. We'd long planned to eat here, and this seemed like the perfect opportunity.
I'm glad we did.
I have to say the quality of food was excellent - the Michelin Star is well deserved and the staff were very helpful and unobtrusive - especially Johnny who is very friendly and welcoming too.
The dinner we had was superb, all you would expect from a late autumn Scottish menu, except maybe that it was a little light on game (hubby's favourite, but not mine!)
The only complaint I have about Boath's food is that IMHO you should never see a single scallop on any plate!! It always seems a little mean, regardless of impressive your chef can be with a leek!
Overall tho', we thoroughly enjoyed our meal - until the bill arrived.
At no point did anyone explain that tea and coffee were charged in ADDITION to your meal AND at £9.90 for one coffee and one tea, that is more than a little cheeky, we feel. Especially given the coffee was very weak and came with milk rather than cream.
Given the set meal is £65 per head, I'd have thought they could stretch to including this.
However, at the very least they should tell you they charge a hefty £4.95 each for a cuppa.
Note to Johnny: Take a (tea) leaf out of 2 Michelin Star Andrew Fairlie at Gleneagles & don't charge! It leaves a nasty feeling of being ripped off after you go to such lengths to get so many things right.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    44
    14
    11
    6
See reviews for
41
202
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

We had a lovely stay at the Boath house. We really enjoyed the food and the service was excellent. All staff are friendly and accomodating.
Our room was very luxurious and spacious, however the bed and pillows were not comfortable and we both woke up with sore necks! Not what we would hope for, after all a one night stay cost us over £400! You would really expect to wake feeling wonderfully refreshed!
We had a lovely stay and we couldnt fault the service.... but we were not blown away and therefore would not re-visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisalashesGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

The Boath House is like the home owned by your rich grandparents in a private park - if you were luck to have rich grandparents who lived in a private park. It is a small intimate home where your every need is met, from wonderful rooms, to discrete staff to fabulous meals. From arrival to departure you feel as if you living the life of luxury enjoyed a century ago by the very few who were luck enough to be very rich. The rooms are great, the food fantastic and the grounds absolutely magnificent even when it rains. It is the perfect place for a quiet getaway from the family, friends and the office.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

I spent two nights at the Boath House with my husband earlier this month. It was a very beautiful hotel and rather decadent (aka, expensive). Our room was very large and the bathroom was beautiful. We had a bathtub with claw feet and loads of Molton Brown products, which made for a great bath! :-)

When we arrived, we were greeted by a VERY formal young lady. Everything was very hush hush, and it wasn't the most comfortable environment. When we told her that we were not eating dinner there, she seemed shocked.

While we had heard the restaurant was great, we chose not to dine there. We were sightseeing all day and didn't want a 'fancy' dinner at night. I think that the hotel is beautiful and the breakfasts were amazing....but I don't think it was the right hotel for us, given the intent of our trip. If we were relaxing and lounging around looking for fine dining, etc., then the Boath House would've been great. Sadly, I think it was overpriced for the value we got out of it. We were in Scotland for 12 days, and stayed places that were much less expensive and much more relaxing, romantic and cozy.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed here with friends for a birthday treat and weren't dissapointed, the place is a real gem and one of the best places ive ever stayed and by far the best i've stayed locally. Its not cheap but is very exclusive and has fantastic food but well worth it. The owners and staff were great and made us feel very welcome. Sure its near the main road but you hardly notice this, we spent the afternoon in the impressive grounds messing about in a boat in the loch with a glass or two of bubbly, it was so relaxing and you could really be anywhere. The owners really have done an outstanding job in making the place relaxed and stressfree just wish we could of stayed longer. Will definately be back for another treat !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarkie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayreuth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

In August 2010 my eight-year old daughter and I spent a three-week holiday in Scotland. We first stayed for three days in Edinburgh (at Prestonfield, q.v.), then went on to Nairn for a week (at Boath House), continued on to the Isle of Skye for another four days (at Kinloch Lodge, q.v.) and spent our final week near Fort William (at Inverlochy Castle, q.v.).
Boath House is a very special hotel: It is small (only eight rooms) and the owner-managers (Don and Wendy) live there so that it feels more like a private home than a hotel.
Don and Wendy are two dears - they are most friendly and always ready to help you or give you useful advice about what to do. They have managed to assemble a very small but very dedicated staff (all of them locals as far as I can tell) - each and every one of them is very friendly and always ready to help guests with anything (e.g., when I asked for a cloth brush to borrow and they did not have one, they went so far as to buy one for me). It would be unfair to single out any of them but if I absolutely had to, it would be Jonathan (but probably only because he was the one we dealt with most).
The grounds of the hotel are lovely - a small pond, wonderful, old trees, a walled garden - but, it has to be pointed out, due to the proximity of the A96 there is no escaping the traffic noise in the park.
The absolute highlight, to be sure, is the hotel restaurant: It certainly deserves its Michelin star. There is a set menu (four courses plus cheese and dessert) so there is not really a choice (except, of course, to omit a course!) - but everything is of the highest quality and tastes more than very good. It is true, the portions are small: When you had lunch and full English afternoon tea, you will be alright, but, when you return from a few hours of hiking with only a light snack or some fruit for lunch, you will leave the table still hungry. But neither the non-existent choice nor the small portions are really a problem - the restaurant staff is more than willing to accommodate every special wish you might have: Vegetarian food instead of meat or fish? A bowl instead of a cup of soup? Skip or modify a course (if there is something you absolutely dislike)? Larger portions? No problem at all - provided you tell them in advance ("in advance" meaning after breakfast and not half an hour before dinner). The service is on a par with the quality of the food: professional, very friendly and not formal or condescending in any way. Dinner itself is quite a formal affair: Guests gather at 7 pm in the drawing room where they may have an apéritif and are presented with (delicious!) canapés, from about 7.30 pm guests are conducted to their tables in the dining room. Inappropriately and, in my mind, sadly there is no dressing code; so you may see people in sneakers and T-shirts among all the starched linen, the silver cutlery and the crystal glasses (speaking of style, they ought to get rid of those cheap looking plastic trays!). Breakfast is served quite late (at 8.30 am during the week and at 9.00 am on Sundays) so that you are sure to get enough sleep! The breakfast menu is rather short but, once again, everything is of the highest quality. The croissants were delicious (unfortunately they are served only about every other morning); and although they cannot do pancakes, they make very fine omelettes (even though they are not on the menu).
The hotel is furnished and decorated in a very tasteful way - with many works of contemporary art blending harmoniously with old furniture and traditional panelling or wallpaper. Our room, the Superior Courtyard Suite, was, it must be said, a bit of a disappointment. "Courtyard Suite" is a misnomer in two ways: First, it is not a "courtyard" but a "cellar" suite because that is where it is located - which means you do not have a view at all, although it is not as bad as it sounds because there is enough daylight coming in from a kind of wintergarten with a glass roof that belongs to the suite and that provides access to some stairs leading directly up to the hotel garden. Second, it is really a junior suite because, in my mind at least, a (full) suite consists of separate rooms; however, besides the bathroom and the above-mentioned wintergarden (which not really counts), there was only one large room. Otherwise our room was alright: spacious and tastefully furnished (in a more modern way).
Furthermore, this being a very small hotel, there are some (mostly minor) compromises to be made: There is no valet parking, no 24-hour concierge service, no turndown service and no shoecleaning service (the last being not a minor inconvenience given the Scottish weather).
The immediate (and not so immediate) surroundings of the hotel offer a lot of attractions and there is more than enough to do for one or even two weeks. Must-sees include Urquhart Castle on Loch Ness (a 45-minute drive away) and Cawdor Castle (a ten-minute drive away). Nairn, the next town (just five minutes away) is a nice little town with a beautiful beach and beachfront area (minus a gaudy "amusement park"). Nature lovers should visit Culbin Forest (immediately east of Nairn), where you can walk (or run) a couple of miles in the forest or, alongside it, on the beach, and Glenmore Forest Park with its beautiful lochs (although this takes you an hour to get to).
So, would I return to Boath House? Absolutely!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soellner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

When we arrived at the hotel we were met by Jonny (The GM) who really set the friendly standard for the hotel and staff. The hotel and everything about it is excellent and everyone who works there makes you feel if you are staying with your best mates and they are going to give you the best time ever!

The food is inspiring and the wine choice has ensured that we are searching the internet for suppliers - just to keep the memories alive!

We stayed in the cottage about 40 metres from the hotel. Don't be put off by this since it is a fantastic place. It is very well decorated and fitted out, and the walk up for breakfast and dinner just adds to the occasion.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank villeggiatura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
3.3 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
13.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
19.4 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boath House Hotel

Property: Boath House Hotel
Address: On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#4 Family Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boath House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run and famous for style, quality and fine cuisine. We are on situated on the north east coast of Scotland and the Grade A listed Georgian Mansion has been restored lovingly back to it's original splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Boath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boath Hotel Nairn
Boath House Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing