We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic escape that re-charged the batteries”
Review of Boath House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boath House
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Just got back from an amazing 3 night stay at Boath. We wanted to escape the kids and get some time for ourselves. This fitted the bill exactly. A beautiful and impressive hotel that balances excellent quality with a friendly, family feel. The food was exquisite, the service attentive but non-intrusive and the setting was about as romantic as you can get. We booked room No 3 with the side by side baths. Nothing beats a Sunday afternoon soak with a G&T. Not the cheapest granted but in life you get what you pay for. This was worth every penny and more.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparkyjj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, General Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2010

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us last week. Each of the autumn leaves you may have been admiring from your bath were blown off in the wild gales we experienced last night. G&T in the bath might now take second place to a dram by the fire...

Many thanks,

Jonny Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2010

We spent two nights at the Boath House in late October on an extended trip through Scotland. It was one of the best two nights we spent anywhere. We were in Room 7, below grade, but with a wonderful conservatory to sit/eat in. The staff, especially Johnny, were very helpful throughout with directions and recommendations. On the last day, we were the only ones in residence, and were treated like royalty at breakfast and dinner. The food quality, service, wines and presentations definitely ranked in our top three, perhaps exceeded only by Three Chimneys and Martin Wishart.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dla911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2010

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us in October. We hope that you make a return trip to Boath when perhaps you can choose from one of our other seven rooms to stay in.

Best regards,

Jonny.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

My hubby and I visited the beautiful Boath House to celebrate our wedding anniversary recently. We'd long planned to eat here, and this seemed like the perfect opportunity.
I'm glad we did.
I have to say the quality of food was excellent - the Michelin Star is well deserved and the staff were very helpful and unobtrusive - especially Johnny who is very friendly and welcoming too.
The dinner we had was superb, all you would expect from a late autumn Scottish menu, except maybe that it was a little light on game (hubby's favourite, but not mine!)
The only complaint I have about Boath's food is that IMHO you should never see a single scallop on any plate!! It always seems a little mean, regardless of impressive your chef can be with a leek!
Overall tho', we thoroughly enjoyed our meal - until the bill arrived.
At no point did anyone explain that tea and coffee were charged in ADDITION to your meal AND at £9.90 for one coffee and one tea, that is more than a little cheeky, we feel. Especially given the coffee was very weak and came with milk rather than cream.
Given the set meal is £65 per head, I'd have thought they could stretch to including this.
However, at the very least they should tell you they charge a hefty £4.95 each for a cuppa.
Note to Johnny: Take a (tea) leaf out of 2 Michelin Star Andrew Fairlie at Gleneagles & don't charge! It leaves a nasty feeling of being ripped off after you go to such lengths to get so many things right.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We had a lovely stay at the Boath house. We really enjoyed the food and the service was excellent. All staff are friendly and accomodating.
Our room was very luxurious and spacious, however the bed and pillows were not comfortable and we both woke up with sore necks! Not what we would hope for, after all a one night stay cost us over £400! You would really expect to wake feeling wonderfully refreshed!
We had a lovely stay and we couldnt fault the service.... but we were not blown away and therefore would not re-visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisalashesGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The Boath House is like the home owned by your rich grandparents in a private park - if you were luck to have rich grandparents who lived in a private park. It is a small intimate home where your every need is met, from wonderful rooms, to discrete staff to fabulous meals. From arrival to departure you feel as if you living the life of luxury enjoyed a century ago by the very few who were luck enough to be very rich. The rooms are great, the food fantastic and the grounds absolutely magnificent even when it rains. It is the perfect place for a quiet getaway from the family, friends and the office.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalgaryProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I spent two nights at the Boath House with my husband earlier this month. It was a very beautiful hotel and rather decadent (aka, expensive). Our room was very large and the bathroom was beautiful. We had a bathtub with claw feet and loads of Molton Brown products, which made for a great bath! :-)

When we arrived, we were greeted by a VERY formal young lady. Everything was very hush hush, and it wasn't the most comfortable environment. When we told her that we were not eating dinner there, she seemed shocked.

While we had heard the restaurant was great, we chose not to dine there. We were sightseeing all day and didn't want a 'fancy' dinner at night. I think that the hotel is beautiful and the breakfasts were amazing....but I don't think it was the right hotel for us, given the intent of our trip. If we were relaxing and lounging around looking for fine dining, etc., then the Boath House would've been great. Sadly, I think it was overpriced for the value we got out of it. We were in Scotland for 12 days, and stayed places that were much less expensive and much more relaxing, romantic and cozy.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBug1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed here with friends for a birthday treat and weren't dissapointed, the place is a real gem and one of the best places ive ever stayed and by far the best i've stayed locally. Its not cheap but is very exclusive and has fantastic food but well worth it. The owners and staff were great and made us feel very welcome. Sure its near the main road but you hardly notice this, we spent the afternoon in the impressive grounds messing about in a boat in the loch with a glass or two of bubbly, it was so relaxing and you could really be anywhere. The owners really have done an outstanding job in making the place relaxed and stressfree just wish we could of stayed longer. Will definately be back for another treat !

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarkie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
2.8 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
920 reviews
3.0 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
609 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
342 reviews
16.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 36 in Inverness
1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boath House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boath House

Address: On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#4 Family Hotel in Nairn
Price Range: £291 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boath House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run and famous for style, quality, gardens and fine cuisine. We are situated on the north east coast of Scotland on the Moray Firth Coast and the Grade A listed Georgian Mansion has been restored lovingly back to it's original splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Boath House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boath Hotel Nairn
Boath House Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing