We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boath Brilliance”
Review of Boath House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boath House
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Our thanks to all those at Boath House for a most wonderful couple of days, helping us celebrate our wedding anniversary. A truly fantastic experience last year repeated again this year. Consistently attentive service, beautiful rooms and magnificent cuisine made for a very enjoyable stay. Particular thanks to Jonny for his engaging help and knowledge of all things local. We can’t recommend Boath House highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tajvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2011

Dear Guests,

As with most of our returning guests, you were very easy to look after! It was great to see you both again. We really enjoyed the photos of the house taken during your stay.

Best wishes,

Jonny.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2010

We had a lovely couple of days at the Boath House and would certainly recommend it. The staff were very helpful and welcoming: they were particularly accomodating in catering to my dietary requirements. The food alone is a reason to visit the Boath House: it was imaginative, delicious, locally sourced and of a standard you would expect to find in a Michelin starred restaurant. The bedroom (No.3) itself was lovely, with a bathroom to die for. One of the nicest hotel rooms we have stayed in, full of charm and character which was reflected throughout the rest of the common areas of the house. The only possible criticism we had was that the atmosphere of the dining room was very formal, possibly too formal. Whilst we know that the intention is to create a formal dining experience, the risk is that the atmosphere can become oppressive. However, we would still certainly go back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McIntyresSE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

The Boath House came highly recommended by friends and our trip there did not disappoint. The staff were welcoming, the spa treatments were lovely, the rooms spacious and comfortable and the food was out of this world.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotGal999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I stayed at Boath House for two nights (Nov 24 & 25) with my husband as a birthday treat. My expectations were high and I was not dissapointed. The house itself is beautiful, the staff, friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed with a homely feel.

Our room (No 3) was huge. The bathroom was the ulimate in luxury - I could have went to sleep in the tub. I also have to comment on the mint tea left in the room - it was lovely, the best I have tasted.

The food was fabulous. Diner looked great and tasted superb. The six courses were served at the perfect pace to give time between plates. Breakfast was to a similar standard absolutely delicious.

I took a facial in the spa. The treatment room is interesting, set in the basement with a vaulted ceiling and the facial was relaxing and stimulating.

Nothing dissapointed, this was a wonderful break.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franticatlantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Owner at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2010

Firstly, thank you for your very favourable review.
Glad you managed to get back down the road before the snow appeared , we are now almost totally cut off in the Highlands and have had to close for a few days - could have been fun being snowed in but you may have been roped in to some snow shovelling!!

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards
Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Just got back from an amazing 3 night stay at Boath. We wanted to escape the kids and get some time for ourselves. This fitted the bill exactly. A beautiful and impressive hotel that balances excellent quality with a friendly, family feel. The food was exquisite, the service attentive but non-intrusive and the setting was about as romantic as you can get. We booked room No 3 with the side by side baths. Nothing beats a Sunday afternoon soak with a G&T. Not the cheapest granted but in life you get what you pay for. This was worth every penny and more.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparkyjj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, General Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2010

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us last week. Each of the autumn leaves you may have been admiring from your bath were blown off in the wild gales we experienced last night. G&T in the bath might now take second place to a dram by the fire...

Many thanks,

Jonny Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We spent two nights at the Boath House in late October on an extended trip through Scotland. It was one of the best two nights we spent anywhere. We were in Room 7, below grade, but with a wonderful conservatory to sit/eat in. The staff, especially Johnny, were very helpful throughout with directions and recommendations. On the last day, we were the only ones in residence, and were treated like royalty at breakfast and dinner. The food quality, service, wines and presentations definitely ranked in our top three, perhaps exceeded only by Three Chimneys and Martin Wishart.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dla911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2010

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us in October. We hope that you make a return trip to Boath when perhaps you can choose from one of our other seven rooms to stay in.

Best regards,

Jonny.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

My hubby and I visited the beautiful Boath House to celebrate our wedding anniversary recently. We'd long planned to eat here, and this seemed like the perfect opportunity.
I'm glad we did.
I have to say the quality of food was excellent - the Michelin Star is well deserved and the staff were very helpful and unobtrusive - especially Johnny who is very friendly and welcoming too.
The dinner we had was superb, all you would expect from a late autumn Scottish menu, except maybe that it was a little light on game (hubby's favourite, but not mine!)
The only complaint I have about Boath's food is that IMHO you should never see a single scallop on any plate!! It always seems a little mean, regardless of impressive your chef can be with a leek!
Overall tho', we thoroughly enjoyed our meal - until the bill arrived.
At no point did anyone explain that tea and coffee were charged in ADDITION to your meal AND at £9.90 for one coffee and one tea, that is more than a little cheeky, we feel. Especially given the coffee was very weak and came with milk rather than cream.
Given the set meal is £65 per head, I'd have thought they could stretch to including this.
However, at the very least they should tell you they charge a hefty £4.95 each for a cuppa.
Note to Johnny: Take a (tea) leaf out of 2 Michelin Star Andrew Fairlie at Gleneagles & don't charge! It leaves a nasty feeling of being ripped off after you go to such lengths to get so many things right.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
2.8 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
920 reviews
3.0 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
609 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
342 reviews
16.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 36 in Inverness
1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boath House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boath House

Address: On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#4 Family Hotel in Nairn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
Price Range: £291 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boath House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run and famous for style, quality, gardens and fine cuisine. We are situated on the north east coast of Scotland on the Moray Firth Coast and the Grade A listed Georgian Mansion has been restored lovingly back to it's original splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Boath House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boath Hotel Nairn
Boath House Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing