We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Georgian elegance with fine wine and exquisite food”
Review of Boath House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boath House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exceptional Georgian elegance with fine wine and exquisite food”
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Snow, snow and more snow, would we ever arrive. Well we did and were very glad that we made the effort. The Boath House was the grand finally to our week away traveling around the highlands.
My wife and i received a very warm welcome from the hosts and were instantly made to feel at home. Elegant reception rooms with log burning fires.We were accompanied up to our WOW factor room via a beautiful Georgian staircase, (Room 3) .This large room with bay windows overlooking the frozen lake had an equally large bathroom with twin freestanding slipper baths.
A bottle of Champs later and we were sampling the culinary delights of the six course menu with a bottle of the most reasonably priced Burgundy quality white so far.Great timing between courses and attentive service.
The fact that other guests had been snowed off played to our advantage as we had exclusivity. A delightful breakfast inc the best tasting porridge followed a wonderful nights sleep.It was a great shame that we only had the one night but we promised ourselves that we will return.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenoakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    46
    15
    12
    6
See reviews for
42
208
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Our thanks to all those at Boath House for a most wonderful couple of days, helping us celebrate our wedding anniversary. A truly fantastic experience last year repeated again this year. Consistently attentive service, beautiful rooms and magnificent cuisine made for a very enjoyable stay. Particular thanks to Jonny for his engaging help and knowledge of all things local. We can’t recommend Boath House highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tajvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2011
Dear Guests,

As with most of our returning guests, you were very easy to look after! It was great to see you both again. We really enjoyed the photos of the house taken during your stay.

Best wishes,

Jonny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We had a lovely couple of days at the Boath House and would certainly recommend it. The staff were very helpful and welcoming: they were particularly accomodating in catering to my dietary requirements. The food alone is a reason to visit the Boath House: it was imaginative, delicious, locally sourced and of a standard you would expect to find in a Michelin starred restaurant. The bedroom (No.3) itself was lovely, with a bathroom to die for. One of the nicest hotel rooms we have stayed in, full of charm and character which was reflected throughout the rest of the common areas of the house. The only possible criticism we had was that the atmosphere of the dining room was very formal, possibly too formal. Whilst we know that the intention is to create a formal dining experience, the risk is that the atmosphere can become oppressive. However, we would still certainly go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McIntyresSE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

The Boath House came highly recommended by friends and our trip there did not disappoint. The staff were welcoming, the spa treatments were lovely, the rooms spacious and comfortable and the food was out of this world.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotGal999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I stayed at Boath House for two nights (Nov 24 & 25) with my husband as a birthday treat. My expectations were high and I was not dissapointed. The house itself is beautiful, the staff, friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed with a homely feel.

Our room (No 3) was huge. The bathroom was the ulimate in luxury - I could have went to sleep in the tub. I also have to comment on the mint tea left in the room - it was lovely, the best I have tasted.

The food was fabulous. Diner looked great and tasted superb. The six courses were served at the perfect pace to give time between plates. Breakfast was to a similar standard absolutely delicious.

I took a facial in the spa. The treatment room is interesting, set in the basement with a vaulted ceiling and the facial was relaxing and stimulating.

Nothing dissapointed, this was a wonderful break.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franticatlantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Owner at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2010
Firstly, thank you for your very favourable review.
Glad you managed to get back down the road before the snow appeared , we are now almost totally cut off in the Highlands and have had to close for a few days - could have been fun being snowed in but you may have been roped in to some snow shovelling!!

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards
Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Just got back from an amazing 3 night stay at Boath. We wanted to escape the kids and get some time for ourselves. This fitted the bill exactly. A beautiful and impressive hotel that balances excellent quality with a friendly, family feel. The food was exquisite, the service attentive but non-intrusive and the setting was about as romantic as you can get. We booked room No 3 with the side by side baths. Nothing beats a Sunday afternoon soak with a G&T. Not the cheapest granted but in life you get what you pay for. This was worth every penny and more.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkyjj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, General Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2010
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us last week. Each of the autumn leaves you may have been admiring from your bath were blown off in the wild gales we experienced last night. G&T in the bath might now take second place to a dram by the fire...

Many thanks,

Jonny Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddeford, ME
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We spent two nights at the Boath House in late October on an extended trip through Scotland. It was one of the best two nights we spent anywhere. We were in Room 7, below grade, but with a wonderful conservatory to sit/eat in. The staff, especially Johnny, were very helpful throughout with directions and recommendations. On the last day, we were the only ones in residence, and were treated like royalty at breakfast and dinner. The food quality, service, wines and presentations definitely ranked in our top three, perhaps exceeded only by Three Chimneys and Martin Wishart.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dla911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2010
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us in October. We hope that you make a return trip to Boath when perhaps you can choose from one of our other seven rooms to stay in.

Best regards,

Jonny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
2.8 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
306 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
856 reviews
13.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
325 reviews
19.5 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 34 in Inverness
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boath House Hotel

Property: Boath House Hotel
Address: On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#4 Family Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boath House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run and famous for style, quality and fine cuisine. We are on situated on the north east coast of Scotland and the Grade A listed Georgian Mansion has been restored lovingly back to it's original splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Boath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boath Hotel Nairn
Boath House Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing