We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel - Fantastic family break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“First class hotel - Fantastic family break”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and can't wait to return. We stayed for 3 nights 16th - 19th April with our 4 year old daughter. We were allocated a large comfortable family room with a great sea view. Our daughter was so pleased to have her own room with bunk beds!!

We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast basis and we found the food to be of very high quality. There is no childrens menu, but the hotel states they can make anything your child wants. Our daughter enjoyed the meals she had.

The staff are very friendly and incredibly hard working, the only thing I would say is that when the hotel is busy extra staff is needed. We did have an unpleasant incident on our first evening. The waiting staff in the restaurant seemed to forget about us and we were left for almost an hour between our starters and main course, this would not normally have bothered us but there were other people who had come in after us were getting their meals before us!! Our daughter was very tired at that point when a group of 4 people were seated at the table next to us. You could see the looks on their faces when they saw our daughter!! One of the females kept throwing us disapproving looks!! What I would say is if you don't want children to be at a hotel then don't go to a family hotel!!! The restaurant manager was very apologetic and had our deserts delivered to our room which was very much appreciated and a very nice touch.

The spa facilities are excellent and we made use of the pool and gym. The hotel is ideally situated and a stroll along the beach is very pleasant and their is a childrens play park nearby.

I would definately recommend this hotel and we will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. I have shared your feedback with the team at the Golf View. We do cater for all groups and this most definitely includes families as we can create bespoke menus, accommodate early dining and have recently purchased new board games and offer baby changing facilities. We look forward to seeing your family again at the Golf View Hotel and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    377
    139
    78
    41
See reviews for
229
609
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lochearnhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

my husband and i spent 5days in this lovely hotel it is one of our favourites and visit at least once a year the staff are most helpful and do everything they can to make sure your stay is enjoyable the food is suberb we last visited in march and we had a great room looking over the moray firth. 4 poster bed large room our dog is always most welcomed and has been for the last 8years cant wait for our next visit.hot tub in garden not to be missed view to die for looking over moray firth to black isle

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimloraine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Thank you very much for your excellent review and great comments regarding the Golf View Hotel & Spa and team. Delighted that you had a wonderful time and we look forward to your next visit in your ninth year of staying at the Golf View Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Brilliant service from the staff and food was amazing we have book our wedding here in September looking forward to going back and manager has been very helpful. The Hotel is in a brilliant location and the views from the hotel are amazing it's right next to the beach and 5 min walk from town centre. :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thank for your excellent review which I have shared with the team. We very much look forward to September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

the golf View in Nairn has a great beachside situation.Our room faced the beach and was large and very comfortable.I am allergic to dairy food and thought that the 6 course taster menu would be very difficult for me as it would be inflexible. The chefs were marvellous at adapting dishes to accommodate my allergies,with no fuss.I found the food to be exceptionally suitable and often first class.Breakfast menu was also very good with lots of variety.Again,my dairy allergy did not present a problem to the chef. Food was freshly cooked to order.
Staff were all very friendly and welcoming and I look forward to a return visit

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are preferable but there may be a supplement for some of the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidi070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review and we hope that you comeback soon. Our kitchen will always strive to help any guest with any special or dietary requests. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Lovely hotel in great location but. Is totally let down by the service in the restaurant. They serve a very average 6 course taster menu for dinner. Some of the courses were inedible and the soup in toy cup was laughable. The worst thing however was the service taking 2 1/2 hours to serve this, the first course being in edible concoctions on a spoon from a Chinese restaurant and the last course being a piece of cheese on an oatcake the size of a Ritz cracker. Definitely put us of returning to this hotel

Room Tip: Had a lovely sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal. We do promote the 6 course meal as a taster menu. Moreover for a fixed price of £32.95 it is good value. I will discuss the service time with my Food and Beverage Manager. Thank you for making me aware.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed here Easter weekend 2013. Room was pleasant and comfortable. Made use of the pool and the gym, all good. Location is great, really lovely walk from hotel gardens along waterfront. What put us off though was the set-up in the restaurant. If you have booked a DBB deal you are served a strange 6 course 'taster' menu, which really is not worth the bother, and not worth the long wait between courses. On the first night it took 2 and a half hours from start to finish, and that was skipping the 6th 'course', as we had almost lost the will to live! When we complained about the service, we were told that the chef had got caught up in serving a large group, and also that our order had been lost (then found again!?). We did feel that we were being basically ignored. There seemed to be a lack of any kind of system for getting people served, rather than a lack of staff. I can only assume that this comes from the top and that the hotel management needs to take a look at this. The food itself was not great - in particular, the risotto that I ordered on the first night was completely tasteless, with absolutely no cheese or seasoning . No effort had been made to serve one acceptable vegetarian meal. They would do better to serve a regular 3 course dinner, and maybe they would manage to get the food out to people a bit faster. We waited 45 minutes before getting a glass of wine brought to the table, and it really was not busy! In fact, there was hardly anyone in the restaurant. It was all very strange, and doesn't make us want to rush back, although we liked Nairn. Breakfast was the same - we had to wait for ages for the toast and coffee to be brought, think the waitress had forgotten us (had to ask again). They don't make you feel that they value your custom. It's also noteworthy that the decor in the restaurant is very dark and oppressive, as mentioned by another reviewer. 'The Classroom' in Nairn was nice for lunches. Have to rate as 'Poor' because of the restaurant experience, even though other aspects of the stay were fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback from a busy Easter weekend. Whilst I note that other aspects of your stay were good, I note the points raised regarding service. I have discussed these points with the team here. The restaurant staff should be serving in stations, that is responsible for a number of tables and responsible for the guests on them. We will reinstigate this as this is part of standard operating procedures. Thank you for making me aware.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

First visit, booked for 2 nights for a break for husband's birthday. On arrival reception staff very friendly and we asked for an upgrade and were given a sea view double room. Unfortunately our stay went downhill from the minute we entered the room. The beautiful view was ruined by the fact the curtains were frayed and actually in holes where years of direct sunlight had weakened the material which practically disintegrated every time they were pulled. There had been a mirror removed from the wall and the marks where still there. The room felt tatty and tired thank goodness we hadn't paid the full rate. No bath robes or slippers. The bathroom was clean and bright and good sized bath but the water pressure was poor so took ages to run a bath. The bed was huge and very comfortable. We had drinks in the bar where the service was slow, and you had to play hunt the bar staff as they seemed to disappear just when you wanted a drink. On our first night we ate in the conservatory, our wine we ordered for our meal came before the drinks we ordered. Service slow and staff not trained to a level i would expect from a 4 star hotel. There appeared to be no one in charge or senior to make sure all was running smoothly there where about 4 tables to serve. Our starter of mussels we had to send back as they were tasteless, no shallots, garlic, tasted like watery milk. The waiter then blamed the new chef and said the manager agreed and said we wouldn't be charged !!! The manager did not have the decency to apologise themselves our to offer a free drink, the poor inexperienced waiter was left to squirm. The fish in batter we ordered for mains was delicious and so was the cheeseboard we had. We ate in the restaurant on the 2nd night and had the taster menu was excellent. Unfortunately spoiled by being kept waiting at the door whilst we were ignored by the waiter. Not enough well trained staff on duty. Breakfast was the same on both mornings kept waiting before being shown to table. On one morning there were no clean tables and had to wait whilst one was cleaned.The window sill next to our table was filthy with dust and the curtain valance were missing from the rails very shabby. Breakfast offered a good choice but too inconsistent, one morning french toast was lovely the next inedible because cooked on one side and burnt on other. Would not return to this hotel as it is not the 4 star experience we expected. The manager needs to employ more experienced staff or train them better and have some senior staff more visible.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelagh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I note your points regarding the curtains in your room and have arranged for these to be changed as part of our continual refurbishment process. Our waiting staff have been recently trained by an external trainning provider as we have a relatively new team at the Golf View Hotel and Spa and we will continue to develop their skill set. I have also discussed your comments with our chef and food and beverage manager to learn from your experience. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
20.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
24.0 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
568 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel & Spa

Property: Golf View Hotel & Spa
Address: 63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#3 Family Hotel in Nairn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf View Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning AA 4 star seaside hotel overlooking the Moray Firth and close to Inverness. The Golf View Hotel and Spa enjoys views over the Moray Firth to the Black Isle and has gardens leading down to the seashore which is just a few steps away. Many of the 42 bedrooms are sea-facing with traditional interiors that provide guests with an exceptionally comfortable and relaxing place in which to stay. With a variety of leisure facilities including heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a Sonas Spa and beauty salon on-site, there's plenty available to ensure all guests make the most of their visit to the Golf View Hotel and Spa, Nairn. The hotel restaurant serves up fine dining and has just been awarded AA 1 Rosette status, which is presented by passionate chefs in a selection of the finest dishes. Furthermore, the Conservatory Restaurant enjoys beautiful vistas of the golden sands and Moray Firth coastline beyond. Golf View Hotel and Spa is also perfectly located for exploration of Inverness, capital of the Highlands, and the wider Highland region with the world famous Nairn golf courses sitting on the hotel doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Golf View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Nairn
Hotel View
Golf View Hotel & Spa Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing