We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the small things...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“It's the small things...”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We returned here on a two night break after getting a very good offer via Hotel Connexions. The hotel is in a great location with good views across the Moray Firth to the Black Isle. We stayed in room 11, a good sized room with sea view. This could have been excellent but....

The bed was extremely soft resulting in two poor nights sleep, there was a cobweb a foot long hanging from the cornice, there were three or four cracked floor tiles in the bathroom and the wash basin was also cracked. Would anyone accept that at home? Why should a hotel feel that it was acceptable for their guests then? The hotel is an old building and the floors aren't terrible level, the main staircase is particularly rickety feeling.

The deal we booked on included the six course taster menu each evening. The food was exceptional. Service on our first night was good - on the second night it was woefully unacceptable. Breakfast was good although on our first morning the waitress was astounding - but not in a good way. My wife asked her what was on the vegetarian breakfast plate (which was specifically mentioned in those terms on the menu) and she pointed to the other items on the menu that didn't have meat in them - saying that salmon is veggie was pushing it a bit. I asked for coffee and was brought tea. One other guest asked for poached eggs and got a large plate with one tiny egg in the middle and had to ask for more. A little initiative would be good wouldn't it?

The spa is reasonable, despite being decorated since our last visit the changing rooms still feel a bit low rent. The pool is nice enough but isn't really suited to swimming lengths as it is very shallow at one end. The outdoor hot tub is a nice touch, very pleasant sitting in it despite an air temp of about 2C.

This could be a really good hotel. The quality of the food is very good for a hotel at this price point but the question is whether Crerar Hotels have the appetite to bring everything else up to that level.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mostly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I will review with my maintenance manager the points raised concerning room 11. The leisure club cubicles and showers are next on our refurbishment list and will bring the total invested in our leisure and spa to a total of £180k. I will speak to my Food and Beverage Manager regarding consistency of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    371
    138
    76
    39
See reviews for
227
604
15
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

just back from a weekend in this hotel. I agree with other comments regarding the setting and facilities which are great, and the food which was amazing, but I would like to say how great they were with my friend's food requirements. At check in, my friend asked to see the menu as she thought she would not be able to have anything from the menu. The receptionist got the operations manager out to speak to us. He arranged everything so professionally and perfectly for us. When we came down for dinner later, he had arranged it so that the staff knew what we wanted - no fuss - just great food and great service. They made completely different food for my friend to suit her requirements. We were on a cheap D B&B deal, and were so impressed with all the staff but particularly the Ops Manager.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1CrazyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View.

Thank you for all your wonderful comments and I'll certainly pass onto all staff and glad you enjoyed your stay with us over the winter

Thank you again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Really good value booking at under £80 for a definite 4+star place.

Nairn is really a link town between Elgin and Inverness but this place was excellent with a beautiful view of the sea if you take a qui wander out the back of the grounds.

Wifi was free and the room I got was huge so a great change from the normal chain hotels I stay in for business.

Comfy and satisfying

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jimbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. When you are next on business in the area you can be assured of a great repeat stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed over Friday & Saturday night here. The rooms are a good size, were clean and warm. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Family liked the leisure facilities - pool / Jacuzzi / sauna etc. which were good. They have an outdoor hot tub which is also a nice touch.

Food is very good and not too expensive. We had dinner in the Conservatory which really was excellent, but unfortunately the service was very slow which meant we gave up on desserts after waiting over 45 minutes. Breakfast also good, but again, very slow to appear.

We would definitely go back and try it again some other time. I suspect the Kitchen may just have been having an off day when we were there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabioMcFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your great feedback. We would love to see you back at the Golf View Hotel & Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Not only is Nairn very nice with great long beaches (& more than just a few dog walkers) but the hotel was great too, creaky old bedroom floors apart. We both enjoyed our 6 course taster dinners and neither of us felt then need to eat more, even when the 6th course is a sliver of cheese on an oatcake.
The leisure facilities were good too, pool is adequate and the outdoor hot tub is a treat when there are clear cold skies. Steam room & sauna were also used but despite good intentions I never made it on to the treadmills etc. Will happily return when the deal is once more available.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DJMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your excellent feedback. It is always good to hear that a guest has had a good stay.

We will be delighted to see you back at the Golf View Hotel and Spa for your next break.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Coming upto my parents 40 Wedding Anniversary they were keen to return to their original venue for an intimate meal with there family as well as the original wedding party. I was asked to contact the Golfview to arrange this and initially was worried about the service we would receive as well as the standard of food due to the negative reviews on this website.

Having spoken with a member of their events team, Hazel or Heather, my mind was put at ease that on our arrival everything would be in place and I was not wrong. From the table decorated in a warm and open manner with individual menus delicately wrapped for each diner through to the private room for toasts and cake cutting the evening was a resounding success.

The service we received was second to none with the staff being polite and friendly yet not overly intrusive. The food was nothing short of out-standing, each dish was served together and looked as good as it tasted. Our whole party commented at the end of the evening on how excellent the food had been from starter to dessert.

I would highly recommend the Golfview for any family occassion as well as for a weekend/country break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over-looking the Moray Firth
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFrasuar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your excellent feedback both here and via email. It is so nice to be appreciated for good food, service and staff. We are delighted that your parents had a fantastic time and I will speak to Helen personally to thank her. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just returned from a 2 night weekend break. The hotel itself is instantly welcoming. The deep colours, cosy warmth and friendly staff made the whole experience nothing but brilliant from the moment I stepped in. The location is second to none. One of the most beautiful tranquil places, right on your hotel doorstep.
Evening meal in the hotel restaurant was also faultless. Staff are all very friendly and helpful. You can go to the most amazing hotels, but regardless of facilities, stars, location - if you have unfriendly, miserable looking staff - your trip is downhill from day one. Golf View does not suffer from this, rest assured.
Loses a star on my rating due to one of the rooms next to ours having a very noisy flushing toilet. I think it needs a new washer in the cistern. The noise would echo through the walls. Also the bath in our room had a missing handle, which in itself is not a big deal in the grander scheme of things. However, a hotel of this caliber should be all about the presentation and not want to lose points on minor details such as these.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerMoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your great review. I have passed on your comments to the team at the Golf View.

I will have a look at the bath handle concerned with my maintenance manager and the next door toilet. Thank you for letting us know.

We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
20.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.7 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
647 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel & Spa

Property: Golf View Hotel & Spa
Address: 63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#3 Family Hotel in Nairn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf View Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning AA 4 star seaside hotel overlooking the Moray Firth and close to Inverness. The Golf View Hotel and Spa enjoys views over the Moray Firth to the Black Isle and has gardens leading down to the seashore which is just a few steps away. Many of the 42 bedrooms are sea-facing with traditional interiors that provide guests with an exceptionally comfortable and relaxing place in which to stay. With a variety of leisure facilities including heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a Sonas Spa and beauty salon on-site, there's plenty available to ensure all guests make the most of their visit to the Golf View Hotel and Spa, Nairn. The hotel restaurant serves up fine dining and has just been awarded AA 1 Rosette status, which is presented by passionate chefs in a selection of the finest dishes. Furthermore, the Conservatory Restaurant enjoys beautiful vistas of the golden sands and Moray Firth coastline beyond. Golf View Hotel and Spa is also perfectly located for exploration of Inverness, capital of the Highlands, and the wider Highland region with the world famous Nairn golf courses sitting on the hotel doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golf View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Nairn
Hotel View
Golf View Hotel & Spa Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing